$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Oct 15, 2009

Convenient but you get what you pay for.

Went out for the Chicago Marathon, and booked this hotel since it was right across from the starting line in Grant park. [...] It took them HOURS to get us checked in (along with several other guests). We kept leaving and coming back. You can hear the trains all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 9, 2010

Two Star Downtown Chicago

Location is nice, but only valet parking. General upkeep like flower boxes were unfilled, machine broken in very small fitness center, room cramped, but hey, I found a hotel for under $200 during a busy conference time and was closer than my colleagues to the McCormik center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little sushi/Thai place only a couple of blocks away with window that open to the street!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joder
Business
Phila, PA
May 15, 2011

Worst western

old, dirty, but cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Jul 15, 2009

Review of Best Wester Grant Park

Not the greatest place. It's clean, staff nice, but far removed from convention center and restaurants. No breakfast included, didn't need parking, but probably was an extra cost. I won't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most dining spots were a long walk, then very limited menu choices, high prices, and food not great. Bennigans over a mile walk, but food was good and reasonable.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WindyCityVisitor
Business
Tampa, FL
May 19, 2010

Cheaper Price is Worth It!

I was in Chicago apartment hunting so I wanted to be near transportation. The red line is a short walk and you can transfer easily to other lines. The light in the bathroom didn't work even though when we got to the room someone was "fixing" it. Not a big deal since there was a heat light, just make sure you turn it far enough when you take a shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Lou Malnati's at State St./8th. The pizza is fantastically delicious!!!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
August26
Business
Appleton, WI, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Girls Getaway

We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adam the unibinder
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Jul 22, 2011

Not recommeded

Where should I start. The hotel is old and run down. It's in a nice part of town, which is the only reason I didn't just walk right out as soon as I saw the "lobby". The hallways smelled funny and you were lucky to find an English speaking employee. When I booked the room, I chose non-smoking room but when I arrived, they let me know that 3rd party bookings could result in getting a smoking room (for some reason they couldn't explain). The room smelled horrible and wasn't as clean as I thought. To top it all off, the first morning, when I woke up, I didn't have any hot water. None. When I asked the front desk, they told me, in broken English, that a lot of people were showering at the same time. Well no kidding. You mean people don't normally shower at 7:30am in your hotel? Ridiculous. Then I requested a late checkout because my business was running late. They said no. Then I mentioned the cold shower again and they finally gave in and let me check out an hour late. Their attitudes were less than to be desired. This place reminded me of The Shining, except in Mexico. I had to wash all of my clothes when I got home to get rid of the horrible smell. Just spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier is a great place to visit. There is a lot to do and see and the prices are relatively reasonable. Pretty much anything outside the hotel was great. Chicago is a wonderful city :)

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 5, 2010

Adequate Hotel

This hotel is in a perfect location for going on Columbia College tours. We also walked to Chinatown (about 10 minutes) walked to the museum campus and along the waterfront. We also walked to the Art Institute and to Navy Pier. Easy bus and train access as well. The hotel was comfortable and clean but definitely needs some love and care. The staff was very willing to help us with extra towels and parking issues. The outdoor pool is not heated and pretty run-down. It is reasonably priced and we would probably stay again for convenience and value. We had a big yummy breakfast next door at Yolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fun dinner at Buddy Guys legends barbecue and blues,we were with our teenagers (both musicians) but kids not of age can not stay to watch the live performances even with adult chaperones. We were disappointed.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
omaha Ne.
Mar 20, 2010

old

its old spots on the batroom ceiling black the shower head water sring any were and its diferent a others best western tell about at the owner tks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

nathing

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bibiofiler
Business
Washington DC
May 11, 2014

Disappointed

I booked this hotel based on the info provided on the website and it definitely was not as nice as I was led to believe. The location is great. Aside from that, there's not much that I was happy with. I overheard someone asking about the rates and they were being offered $40/night less than what I paid. The building is old, everything in the room is old and could use an upgrade. The pool was drained and closed. The exercise room was filled with old and broken equipment. I almost got stuck on the elevator twice. The front desk staff ranged from annoyed to satisfactory to helpful but by and large most of the people I encountered seemed like they really didn't want to be there. If you're looking for something close to Grant Park it's probably not a bad choice, otherwise I'd look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top