$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
322 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (322)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    322 out of 322
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    EXOEXO
    Chicago, Il
    Sep 26, 2013

    A hotel with good location and park view

    Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Milesonend
    Omaha
    Jul 30, 2012

    Great Location, Good Price, Good Stay

    great price for the area. very clean. parking a hidden fee at $30... but even that is cheaper than everyone else too.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Family with a baby
    Iowa
    Jul 28, 2012

    Good location, good price, old facility

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and facilities are old, which are OK given its location and price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    rdub44
    Detroit, Michigan
    Jul 21, 2012

    an average room

    The hotel decor is very outdated, but the room was clean, we had plenty of towels and hot water, and the staff was friendly and helpful, so it was a good stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    We chose this hotel because of its location. Its close to the train, which we took from the airport, and its close to Shedd Aquarium, Buckingham Fountain, Navy Pier, and Willis Tower.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    tusa grandma
    tulsa,Ok.
    Jul 20, 2012

    chicago getaway

    I was dissatified with the hotel..the rooms were too small,especially the bathroom w/it's musty smell.The halls were narrow w/old smelly carpet.The walls were so bad,I could hear people in the other rooms. The staff on the other hand were friendly and helpful. Bottom line...not worth the money.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    RnR Lover
    Fargo, ND
    Jul 15, 2012

    Disappointing stay

    Given our positive experience with other Best Western hotels, we proceeded with booking a reservation here. The location is really good (walking distance from the museum campus), but everything else is not. The staff are not particularly helpful. We had requested a crib. The front desk staff said they would get back to us about that, but never did. The room quality is poor, fit for a motel, not a hotel. The paint needed upkeep (water damaged bathroom ceiling) and cleanliness was sorely missing (even in the lobby). The housekeeping staff did a fair job (sometimes missed conditioner or a towel). If all you care about is some shelter for the night this hotel would fit the bill, however look elsewhere for a pleasant stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Singer2
    Hartford, Wisconsin
    Jul 1, 2012

    Friendly staff and close to the Museum Campus.

    When we arrived at the hotel we found out that their valet parking was full. The staff was apologetic and told us where we could park right in the same block for less! They were friendly, helpful and accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable and within walking distance of the Field Museum & Shed Aquarium. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    natalies
    Addison, IL
    Jun 18, 2012

    Spring Awakening

    Fairly close to soldier field, where I was and needed to be this weekend.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    dinodad
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Jun 11, 2012

    Our big weekend!

    Our second trip to this hotel! The first was back in the winter, but it was in the 50s and 60s and walking to were we needed to go was not a problem. A great location if you are bringing kids! We dropped off our extra bags at the hotel before check in and went right to the Field museum! You are barely a half mile away from the Museum Campus (Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium (another destination of ours) and the Adler Planetarium). There is only one busy street to cross to get to the Museum Campus - the rest is all parkway with wide open paths and plenty of shade for those hot summer days - watch out for the cyclists! I also think that the in hotel restaurant - Mei's Kitchen - is underated! The food is good, the staff is very friendly, and they are very accomidating of young children - plus because it's not some trendy place to go - seating is quick which is good with young children. I think the one big drawback is that if you are a light sleeper, the hotel is right on Michigan Ave and there is plenty of traffic even at night. Other than that, the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the room was what we needed, and the location is hard to beat!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    cross the street right in front of the hotel and you have no other busy streets to cross to get to the lakefront and all of the excitement that the Museum Campus has to offer for lots of family fun time!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    sffor1
    Business
    mount pleasant Iowa
    May 29, 2012

    Loved the room

    I had a corner room. I Ioved it!! I will be staying there again

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Super12345
    Iowa
    May 21, 2012

    Ok Stay

    It's a good price for Chicago, and the location is good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search