$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXOEXO
Chicago, Il
Sep 18, 2013

Great Lake View room

It's so nice to have a lake view room. The hotel has a great location and we see the fireworks at night and sunrise in the morning!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo girl
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

great last minute find

I was comfortable the entire time. Three staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk up Michigan or Wabash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minnesota mom Julie
Business
caldwell, New Jersey
Oct 7, 2012

minnesota mom Julie

the place is clean and in a good location. dated and furnishings are not top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RKPT
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 18, 2012

Filthy and Smelled

Stay away. Looked and smelled like giant truck stop. Smokey, dirty, old decor. From the minute I stepped into the building I wanted to leave. Stained carpet, curtains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen the Frugal
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 17, 2012

Great Place to Stay

My wife and I chose this hotel because of the location, which was wonderfully located close to many of the Museums (Shed Aquarium, Art Institute, Field Museum, and more). It was also close to Buckingham Fountain and 'The Silver Bean'. What I was plesantly surprised was its close proximity to the El (Red Line is 2 blocks away). Everything else was accessible via the El and the Busses. As for the hotel itself ~ Average. If you are looking for a place to sleep while you spend a weekend in Chicago, this is a great place to stay. If you intend to stay at the hotel all day, I can see where this hotel would be lacking (dark and narrow hallways, plaster coming off the ceiling in the bathroom, slight slope to the floors), but for the price and location, no better place to base your weekend of sightseeing out of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks West to State Street and take the bus (route 29) to Navy Pier. Any other route will require you to transfer or walk a significant distance. You can also get to the John Hancock Center by taking the 3 bus by stepping across Michigan Avenue. Get off the bus at Chicago (when the bus turns to the East) and then walk 2 blocks North...you'll see it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon Locke
Business
Essex
Sep 17, 2012

Smokey Hotel

The entire hotel was infused with stench of stale cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim enjoy the journey
Business
La Jolla, Ca
Sep 11, 2012

Roon stings, but good location

I got Non-smoking room smells smoke. you also need to reserve a parking space ahead of time. But the hotel location is walking distance to the Art museum and Chicago Millenium park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dherry
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 10, 2012

Good

Im staying in this hotel for two night, and it was good experience.. the location is really close to chicago attractions, room is preety clean and the price is very afordable. Also there is parking lot around the corner which was really cheep, i paid $12 for 12 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldogmom5
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
Sep 1, 2012

Chicago Fun

We did not spend to much time in the hotel, we were out having fun in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler Chris
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2012

Just OK

Postives: Great location; awesome views of the lake/city; adequate accomodations. Negatives: Room was somewhat small and "bare bones" (i.e., shampoo and conditioner, and that's it); no restaurant/room service; had to call front desk 3 times before getting someone on the phone for a question; older model tv and pretty run-down extras; small room, small bathroom, and LOUD A/C unit. Overall: The entire experience was just ok. If you're just looking for someplace to stay and want to get our of your room, this hotel was fine. But if you are having a romantic weekend in Chicago, I'd look elsewhere and pony up the extra $50 or so for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alskfnrigh
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 29, 2012

Spend your money on a cab instead.

I paid a small fortune for a room that looked like it came out of a Rob Zombie movie. The sheets, shower curtain, bedskirt, floors, and even the pillow cases were stained with some unidentifiable substance. I'm assuming it wasn't spilled cleaning products:/. The bathroom was the size of a stand up shower stall and, needless to say, was a moldy mess. I have stayed in some cheap and less-than-ideal motels/hotels while traveling, but for $350/night this place was by far the worst. Save your money for a cab ride and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top