$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
476 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (476)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    476 out of 476
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.7

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ale37gq
    Heredia, Costa Rica
    Jun 30, 2013

    Nice family getaway

    We actually had a great time at the hotel in Chicago downtown. The only discomforting experience was our delayed flight of three ours from Atlanta to Chicago.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Super12345
    Iowa
    May 21, 2012

    Ok Stay

    It's a good price for Chicago, and the location is good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Brian The World Traveler
    Philadelphia, PA
    May 14, 2012

    Average and Awesome

    The hotel is Average to below average in its quality of cleanliness. I did feel a few times that the hotel could be MUCH nicer than it was and could really do with some serious refurbishing to make it more worth the price. However this does not in anyway mean I do not recommend this hotel. After arriving we were placed in a room we did not choose, we selected a non-smoking room with a king bed and what we received was smoking room with 2 double beds. The staff, particularly the manager (night) on duty was super helpful and went above and beyond. He upgraded us to a non-smoking lake view room with a king bed, microwave, and mini fridge. He was full of tons of helpful advice to maximize our trip to chi-town. One late night he even walked a delivery menu to our room! The staff was amazing, on a level I haven't even seen at 5 Star Resorts! The location is amazing, if your doing the museums then this is the location for you (and i recommend picking up the city pass) as for everything else you can cab it to most major attractions for a low cost or take the water taxi near the aquarium to Navy Pier. Its access to Grant Park is awesome, literally across the street. We also found several restaurants in the area that were amazing. Overall I would gladly stay here again, if they decided to refurbish this hotel it would be a amazing.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Around the corner is a Jewish deli/restaurant, their food is amazing and the owner was a trip. It is my favorite place to grab lunch in all of Chicago now. Also a short walk down Michigan Ave is a Marble Slab Creamery which has amazing Ice cream.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Paul writes a review
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    May 14, 2012

    It's a hotel

    More like a dorm than a hotel actually. If I were a student at Columbia College next door, I would be VERY enthusiastic about having free wifi that is spotty at best, cable on an old TV, a pool, and maids.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Get breakfast at Yolk next door. Definitely one of the best breakfast spots in the city

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    s.traveller
    Business
    dearborn, Michigan
    May 14, 2012

    not good

    Horrible. The WIFI is bad. Spiders at the roof. Electricity went off. Toilet flusher was broke and it took a day to fix it. It was not quite. The only thing good is the location and the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JavoAD
    Philly, PA
    May 13, 2012

    Great place to stay

    It is close to great places, public transportation available in front of the hotel. Very clean and good restaurant.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Willis' Sky Deck

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    KUMAR 65
    Business
    United Arab Emirates
    Apr 28, 2012

    GOOD PLACE TO STAY FOR CONFERENCE AT MC.CORMIK CENTRE

    VERY SATISFACTORY. VERY CLEAN, COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL STAFF

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Lydia66
    Micigan
    Apr 23, 2012

    Happy anniversary

    The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. For the price it was good stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    John Haspelmath
    Boston, MA
    Apr 11, 2012

    saving is not always a good idea

    this was the cheapest option, and with its location we chose it, however, the rooms are too old. The heat did not worked well, and despite their attempts to fix it, it didn't work. we were componsated but the experience was not good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    KdnSac
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Apr 5, 2012

    Would not return

    Our trip to Chicago was not enhanced in anyway by staying at this hotel other than the location. When my daughter and I tried to use our hair dryers at the same time we blew the circuit which required a call to the front desk since the room was now totally dark. Had to wait for at least 10 minutes for it to be fixed...smelled like the repair person must have been out smoking. Wall paper peeling off the walls: bathroom door in the gym area won't lock; Sunday morning cleaning staff having a loud discussion in the hall at 8:00 a.m....hey, this is my vacation!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Pedrito2008
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Mar 28, 2012

    Great location

    Great location, poor internet acces..... Next to Yolk the best place to eat breakfast....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Yolk!!

    Back to menu Return to top