$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
472 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (472)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    472 out of 472
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.7

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    KUMAR 65
    Business
    United Arab Emirates
    Apr 28, 2012

    GOOD PLACE TO STAY FOR CONFERENCE AT MC.CORMIK CENTRE

    VERY SATISFACTORY. VERY CLEAN, COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL STAFF

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Lydia66
    Micigan
    Apr 23, 2012

    Happy anniversary

    The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. For the price it was good stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    John Haspelmath
    Boston, MA
    Apr 11, 2012

    saving is not always a good idea

    this was the cheapest option, and with its location we chose it, however, the rooms are too old. The heat did not worked well, and despite their attempts to fix it, it didn't work. we were componsated but the experience was not good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    KdnSac
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Apr 5, 2012

    Would not return

    Our trip to Chicago was not enhanced in anyway by staying at this hotel other than the location. When my daughter and I tried to use our hair dryers at the same time we blew the circuit which required a call to the front desk since the room was now totally dark. Had to wait for at least 10 minutes for it to be fixed...smelled like the repair person must have been out smoking. Wall paper peeling off the walls: bathroom door in the gym area won't lock; Sunday morning cleaning staff having a loud discussion in the hall at 8:00 a.m....hey, this is my vacation!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Pedrito2008
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Mar 28, 2012

    Great location

    Great location, poor internet acces..... Next to Yolk the best place to eat breakfast....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Yolk!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Cycl0n3
    Iowa
    Mar 19, 2012

    Good value

    We stayed at the hotel over St. Patricks Day weekend. Attended the parade and visited the near by museums. The location was perfect for us. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the age of the hotel was evident in that the curtains had some holes and the bathroom door knob didn't work at all.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Buddy Guy's Blues restaurant is a short walk. Live music everyday over lunch and at night. Food was good and reasonable (around $14 for meal and pop).

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    budgetTraveler2012
    Cologne, MN
    Mar 15, 2012

    Great location!

    I took my twin 9 year olds to Chicago for Spring Break. This hotel offered an excellent price and a fantastic location. I could not have asked for a better combination. The rooms were fine; as my son said, "Its pretty nice for an old place, mom". The hotel staff were helpful and exceptionally polite. Yet the place is older so without some of the amenties that some travelers will prefer. For days of visiting museums it was perfect location...an easy walk across Grant Park. Highly recommend for the budget traveler.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dinodad
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Feb 4, 2012

    Right where I need to be

    The Best Western Grant Park is just about perfect for a family getaway in Chicago. Located on Michigan Avenue and just a short walk from the Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium, and the Field Museum. Plus, the restaurant located in the hotel was just what I needed for getting something to eat quick (the Salmon was great) with a young child who was very hungry and did not want to leave the building.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    You only have to cross Michigan Avenue and you are in Grant Park and easy access to the Museum Campus - an easy walk with young children or even if you have to take a stroller.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Man Traveller
    Connecticut, USA
    Jan 24, 2012

    Worst Best Western I've stayed in.

    Only thing going for this hotel is its location, although the room was clean and had a great view. On arrival, the room was cold. I turned up the heat on the a/c heating unit and left. I arrived back around 22h00, the room was slightly warmer but still cold. I slept poorly and complained to the clerk at the desk in the morning when I left. She said they would have it attended to. I arrived back late in the evening exhausted and the room was still cold. I should have asked for another room but I stuck it out because of the great view. Third day I arrived back at the room just before midnight just to find there was no electricity in the room. Went down stairs and the front desk got hold of maintenance who came and reset the circuit breaker. Next day I came back early in the evening and found all the face cloths had been removed. On my way out I told the front desk who had house keeping drop off "literally dumped 3 on the sink". I brought with me my own coffee, milk & sweeteners but had to break open the hotel supplied packs for the stirrers. Never were they replaced. Hotel does not offer meals of any sort, but do have vending machines on alternate floors that were always mostly empty but did have real junk stuff - candies. Perhaps the real food was gone by my late returns. I did find some cookies in one machine. This hotel does not do justice to the Best Western Franchise organization, sorry.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mexie
    Business
    Rochester Hills, MI, USA
    Jan 18, 2012

    Good location

    The staff was way beyond what was expected. We had a great time. i will return again next time we go to Chicago. Well recommanded.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Uno's Best Pizza in the world!

    Back to menu Return to top