$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheJVAS
Business
St Augustine
Oct 22, 2012

Not worth the money!

Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly's mom 2
Business
Washington
Oct 18, 2012

worked for the visit

Since we primarily slept here and were otherwise out enjoying Chicago it was adequate. I would not suggest it for a long stay. The room was relatively small and the temperature control was fairly noisy. I would rank it as average but we will pay the extra and stay elsewhere next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums obviously. Wear comfy walking shoes and plan on more time than you think you will need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo girl
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

great last minute find

I was comfortable the entire time. Three staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk up Michigan or Wabash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minnesota mom Julie
Business
caldwell, New Jersey
Oct 7, 2012

minnesota mom Julie

the place is clean and in a good location. dated and furnishings are not top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RKPT
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 18, 2012

Filthy and Smelled

Stay away. Looked and smelled like giant truck stop. Smokey, dirty, old decor. From the minute I stepped into the building I wanted to leave. Stained carpet, curtains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen the Frugal
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 17, 2012

Great Place to Stay

My wife and I chose this hotel because of the location, which was wonderfully located close to many of the Museums (Shed Aquarium, Art Institute, Field Museum, and more). It was also close to Buckingham Fountain and 'The Silver Bean'. What I was plesantly surprised was its close proximity to the El (Red Line is 2 blocks away). Everything else was accessible via the El and the Busses. As for the hotel itself ~ Average. If you are looking for a place to sleep while you spend a weekend in Chicago, this is a great place to stay. If you intend to stay at the hotel all day, I can see where this hotel would be lacking (dark and narrow hallways, plaster coming off the ceiling in the bathroom, slight slope to the floors), but for the price and location, no better place to base your weekend of sightseeing out of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks West to State Street and take the bus (route 29) to Navy Pier. Any other route will require you to transfer or walk a significant distance. You can also get to the John Hancock Center by taking the 3 bus by stepping across Michigan Avenue. Get off the bus at Chicago (when the bus turns to the East) and then walk 2 blocks North...you'll see it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon Locke
Business
Essex
Sep 17, 2012

Smokey Hotel

The entire hotel was infused with stench of stale cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim enjoy the journey
Business
La Jolla, Ca
Sep 11, 2012

Roon stings, but good location

I got Non-smoking room smells smoke. you also need to reserve a parking space ahead of time. But the hotel location is walking distance to the Art museum and Chicago Millenium park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dherry
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 10, 2012

Good

Im staying in this hotel for two night, and it was good experience.. the location is really close to chicago attractions, room is preety clean and the price is very afordable. Also there is parking lot around the corner which was really cheep, i paid $12 for 12 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldogmom5
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
Sep 1, 2012

Chicago Fun

We did not spend to much time in the hotel, we were out having fun in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top