$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiss
Indiana
Jan 4, 2012

Everything is good except the wifi..

lots of wifi names and they cannot connected at all! front desk people are not nice. the cleanning staff are very generous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessi Jiang
Business
Lansing,MI
Nov 25, 2012

It's good for a short vacation

The stuffs are all nice and it's near many sight-seeing points and the CBD of Chicago. The view of this hotel is also great. The cafe in it is very taste and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot in Chicago
Business
California
Nov 24, 2012

Worked OK

Really off the beaten path. Staff was invisible, somewhat not interested in your presence, but courteous when approached. Mold around the tub and didn't seem that clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al Bee
Business
Riverview, FL
Nov 18, 2012

Good enough

My experience was fine. Nothing to brag about, nothing really to complain about. I had everything I needed EXCEPT FOR A REFRIGERATOR. I had to throw out a lot of leftovers :-( Besides that, it was fine. Oh! Another issue I had was with the housekeeping yelling at each other from room to room at 8am. They also didn't close my door entirely after cleaning the room. Nothing was stolen, though. Luckily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just some lady
Business
Mpls, MN
Nov 9, 2012

Never again

The 1st room they gave us was horrible!! The lights didn't work, wall paper was peeling off the wall, there was visible mold in the bathroom, art obviously missing from the walls, the lamp shade was busted and falling apart. When we told them the condition of the room they gave us a new room that was 10 times better! There was still some obvious mold in the bathroom however. Why did they think it was ok to give us that nasty room in the 1st place when there was a perfectly fine room that was available?! Staff was helpful but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Nov 8, 2012

Older hotel, no problems

I was attending a nearby conference and mainly needed a place to read and sleep. The hotel was perfect for these needs. It's an older hotel that looks like it has not had a recent face-lift, but it was clean, pleasant, relatively inexpensive, and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Art Institute of Chicago is a few blocks away, and is a place I could lose myself for hours in wonder at its splendid collection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny sunny sunny
Business
pittsburg, kansas
Oct 31, 2012

not bad

good location, short walk to attractions, nice cleaning and nice staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tahoetrish
Business
Lake Tahoe Nevada
Oct 27, 2012

Chicago Grant Park Best Western

The first two days did not have a phone that worked in the room , so family could not get ahold of me, Walls are paper thin, a couple with small infant next to my room and it cryed all night. Bathroom ceiling was all stained and mold from water leaks...other wise the room was clean and the Big Plus it is in a great location close to shopping and tourist attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hop on and off bus tour two blocks away and worth the money...get to see everything!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
firemedic29
Business
colorado springs, colorado
Oct 23, 2012

was very dissapointed

we arrived at 1 pm and were told the room wasn't ready so we went off to a museum for a few hours and and came back at 5 pm to be told our still wasn't ready. so we waited in the lobby for about 25 until a some one from the service desk came over to us and said our room was ready. i thought check in time was 3 pm not 5:30 pm. we were also given some coupons for a "free american breakfast" in the cafe next door which probley equaled a danish or a donut only for the time we spent waiting. the first night was okay bed was large and comfy which was nice. the soundproofing for the room not as nice. we could hear pretty much every thing going on in the hall and even hear the EL train a 2 blocks away with the windows closed. the fitness center was dissapointing with only 1 out of 6 machines working. i got a better work out from walking all around the loop and mag mile. not the we went for it but the pool was a disaster too and looking like it needed a full remodel if not a full replacement. during the second day after the cleaning staff had finished cleaning our room we still had to ask for towels and wash cloths which they didn't leave at all. that and we hand no view of the lake what so ever until we went out side and walked across the street to the park over all it was a good location but was way below what i would have expected for a best western hotel. i'd say spend a bit more money and get a hotel closer to the mag mile or the loop. this was doable for 2 nights any more then 3 nights and i think we would have had to go find some where better. very eager to come back to chicago but not to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the orange line EL train station is a short 3 block walk from the hotel. with 3 different lines running though this station you can get to any where in the city in a short time. midway to the station about 32 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheJVAS
Business
St Augustine
Oct 22, 2012

Not worth the money!

Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly's mom 2
Business
Washington
Oct 18, 2012

worked for the visit

Since we primarily slept here and were otherwise out enjoying Chicago it was adequate. I would not suggest it for a long stay. The room was relatively small and the temperature control was fairly noisy. I would rank it as average but we will pay the extra and stay elsewhere next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums obviously. Wear comfy walking shoes and plan on more time than you think you will need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top