$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Nov 8, 2012

Older hotel, no problems

I was attending a nearby conference and mainly needed a place to read and sleep. The hotel was perfect for these needs. It's an older hotel that looks like it has not had a recent face-lift, but it was clean, pleasant, relatively inexpensive, and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Art Institute of Chicago is a few blocks away, and is a place I could lose myself for hours in wonder at its splendid collection.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny sunny sunny
Couples
pittsburg, kansas
Oct 31, 2012

not bad

good location, short walk to attractions, nice cleaning and nice staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tahoetrish
Single
Lake Tahoe Nevada
Oct 27, 2012

Chicago Grant Park Best Western

The first two days did not have a phone that worked in the room , so family could not get ahold of me, Walls are paper thin, a couple with small infant next to my room and it cryed all night. Bathroom ceiling was all stained and mold from water leaks...other wise the room was clean and the Big Plus it is in a great location close to shopping and tourist attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hop on and off bus tour two blocks away and worth the money...get to see everything!!!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
firemedic29
Couples
colorado springs, colorado
Oct 23, 2012

was very dissapointed

we arrived at 1 pm and were told the room wasn't ready so we went off to a museum for a few hours and and came back at 5 pm to be told our still wasn't ready. so we waited in the lobby for about 25 until a some one from the service desk came over to us and said our room was ready. i thought check in time was 3 pm not 5:30 pm. we were also given some coupons for a "free american breakfast" in the cafe next door which probley equaled a danish or a donut only for the time we spent waiting. the first night was okay bed was large and comfy which was nice. the soundproofing for the room not as nice. we could hear pretty much every thing going on in the hall and even hear the EL train a 2 blocks away with the windows closed. the fitness center was dissapointing with only 1 out of 6 machines working. i got a better work out from walking all around the loop and mag mile. not the we went for it but the pool was a disaster too and looking like it needed a full remodel if not a full replacement. during the second day after the cleaning staff had finished cleaning our room we still had to ask for towels and wash cloths which they didn't leave at all. that and we hand no view of the lake what so ever until we went out side and walked across the street to the park over all it was a good location but was way below what i would have expected for a best western hotel. i'd say spend a bit more money and get a hotel closer to the mag mile or the loop. this was doable for 2 nights any more then 3 nights and i think we would have had to go find some where better. very eager to come back to chicago but not to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the orange line EL train station is a short 3 block walk from the hotel. with 3 different lines running though this station you can get to any where in the city in a short time. midway to the station about 32 minutes

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheJVAS
Couples
St Augustine
Oct 22, 2012

Not worth the money!

Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly's mom 2
Couples
Washington
Oct 18, 2012

worked for the visit

Since we primarily slept here and were otherwise out enjoying Chicago it was adequate. I would not suggest it for a long stay. The room was relatively small and the temperature control was fairly noisy. I would rank it as average but we will pay the extra and stay elsewhere next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums obviously. Wear comfy walking shoes and plan on more time than you think you will need.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo girl
Single
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

great last minute find

I was comfortable the entire time. Three staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk up Michigan or Wabash

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minnesota mom Julie
Business
caldwell, New Jersey
Oct 7, 2012

minnesota mom Julie

the place is clean and in a good location. dated and furnishings are not top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RKPT
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 18, 2012

Filthy and Smelled

Stay away. Looked and smelled like giant truck stop. Smokey, dirty, old decor. From the minute I stepped into the building I wanted to leave. Stained carpet, curtains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen the Frugal
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 17, 2012

Great Place to Stay

My wife and I chose this hotel because of the location, which was wonderfully located close to many of the Museums (Shed Aquarium, Art Institute, Field Museum, and more). It was also close to Buckingham Fountain and 'The Silver Bean'. What I was plesantly surprised was its close proximity to the El (Red Line is 2 blocks away). Everything else was accessible via the El and the Busses. As for the hotel itself ~ Average. If you are looking for a place to sleep while you spend a weekend in Chicago, this is a great place to stay. If you intend to stay at the hotel all day, I can see where this hotel would be lacking (dark and narrow hallways, plaster coming off the ceiling in the bathroom, slight slope to the floors), but for the price and location, no better place to base your weekend of sightseeing out of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks West to State Street and take the bus (route 29) to Navy Pier. Any other route will require you to transfer or walk a significant distance. You can also get to the John Hancock Center by taking the 3 bus by stepping across Michigan Avenue. Get off the bus at Chicago (when the bus turns to the East) and then walk 2 blocks North...you'll see it!

Back to menu Return to top