$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
325 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (325)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    325 out of 325
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Bruce Shyu
    Wooster, Ohio
    Jun 1, 2013

    Quite comfortable, some minor wifi problems

    I have stayed in a side-room of 8th floor. The light and cleanliness is perfect. They also provided free and good coffee for about 8 cups a day. The only thing that I would complain is about the wifi. Sometimes the wifi signal will disappear and I have to log in again. Also, I can't upload some photos in Wechat. I'm sure that's not my fault because I can upload photos when I came back campus two days later.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Five guys burger is nearby. Their cheeseburger is fabulous and worthy about 7 USD each.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Hot in Chicago
    Business
    California
    Nov 24, 2012

    Worked OK

    Really off the beaten path. Staff was invisible, somewhat not interested in your presence, but courteous when approached. Mold around the tub and didn't seem that clean.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Al Bee
    Business
    Riverview, FL
    Nov 18, 2012

    Good enough

    My experience was fine. Nothing to brag about, nothing really to complain about. I had everything I needed EXCEPT FOR A REFRIGERATOR. I had to throw out a lot of leftovers :-( Besides that, it was fine. Oh! Another issue I had was with the housekeeping yelling at each other from room to room at 8am. They also didn't close my door entirely after cleaning the room. Nothing was stolen, though. Luckily.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    just some lady
    Business
    Mpls, MN
    Nov 9, 2012

    Never again

    The 1st room they gave us was horrible!! The lights didn't work, wall paper was peeling off the wall, there was visible mold in the bathroom, art obviously missing from the walls, the lamp shade was busted and falling apart. When we told them the condition of the room they gave us a new room that was 10 times better! There was still some obvious mold in the bathroom however. Why did they think it was ok to give us that nasty room in the 1st place when there was a perfectly fine room that was available?! Staff was helpful but I would never stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    PeteS
    Business
    Boston
    Nov 8, 2012

    Older hotel, no problems

    I was attending a nearby conference and mainly needed a place to read and sleep. The hotel was perfect for these needs. It's an older hotel that looks like it has not had a recent face-lift, but it was clean, pleasant, relatively inexpensive, and very convenient.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Art Institute of Chicago is a few blocks away, and is a place I could lose myself for hours in wonder at its splendid collection.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    sunny sunny sunny
    Business
    pittsburg, kansas
    Oct 31, 2012

    not bad

    good location, short walk to attractions, nice cleaning and nice staffs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    tahoetrish
    Business
    Lake Tahoe Nevada
    Oct 27, 2012

    Chicago Grant Park Best Western

    The first two days did not have a phone that worked in the room , so family could not get ahold of me, Walls are paper thin, a couple with small infant next to my room and it cryed all night. Bathroom ceiling was all stained and mold from water leaks...other wise the room was clean and the Big Plus it is in a great location close to shopping and tourist attractions

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    hop on and off bus tour two blocks away and worth the money...get to see everything!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    firemedic29
    Business
    colorado springs, colorado
    Oct 23, 2012

    was very dissapointed

    we arrived at 1 pm and were told the room wasn't ready so we went off to a museum for a few hours and and came back at 5 pm to be told our still wasn't ready. so we waited in the lobby for about 25 until a some one from the service desk came over to us and said our room was ready. i thought check in time was 3 pm not 5:30 pm. we were also given some coupons for a "free american breakfast" in the cafe next door which probley equaled a danish or a donut only for the time we spent waiting. the first night was okay bed was large and comfy which was nice. the soundproofing for the room not as nice. we could hear pretty much every thing going on in the hall and even hear the EL train a 2 blocks away with the windows closed. the fitness center was dissapointing with only 1 out of 6 machines working. i got a better work out from walking all around the loop and mag mile. not the we went for it but the pool was a disaster too and looking like it needed a full remodel if not a full replacement. during the second day after the cleaning staff had finished cleaning our room we still had to ask for towels and wash cloths which they didn't leave at all. that and we hand no view of the lake what so ever until we went out side and walked across the street to the park over all it was a good location but was way below what i would have expected for a best western hotel. i'd say spend a bit more money and get a hotel closer to the mag mile or the loop. this was doable for 2 nights any more then 3 nights and i think we would have had to go find some where better. very eager to come back to chicago but not to this hotel

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    the orange line EL train station is a short 3 block walk from the hotel. with 3 different lines running though this station you can get to any where in the city in a short time. midway to the station about 32 minutes

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    TheJVAS
    Business
    St Augustine
    Oct 22, 2012

    Not worth the money!

    Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Molly's mom 2
    Business
    Washington
    Oct 18, 2012

    worked for the visit

    Since we primarily slept here and were otherwise out enjoying Chicago it was adequate. I would not suggest it for a long stay. The room was relatively small and the temperature control was fairly noisy. I would rank it as average but we will pay the extra and stay elsewhere next time we are in Chicago.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The museums obviously. Wear comfy walking shoes and plan on more time than you think you will need.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Solo girl
    Business
    Chicago
    Oct 16, 2012

    great last minute find

    I was comfortable the entire time. Three staff was helpful and friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Just walk up Michigan or Wabash

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top