$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXOEXO
Chicago, Il
Sep 18, 2013

Great Lake View room

It's so nice to have a lake view room. The hotel has a great location and we see the fireworks at night and sunrise in the morning!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawn Lamb
Business
Sheboygan, WI
Sep 27, 2013

Worst Experience

I would not recommend this hotel due to issues with the billing system, reservation system, and overall attitude displayed by the staff. We were forcibly ejected from our stay due to a mix up on the hotel's end. We had reserved a room for 5 nights as confirmed by customer care after the stay. The hotel only had us booked for 4 nights. My wife was told to get out of the room with a 10 minute warning. She had to scramble to get everything out of the room along with our two small children. The reservation system stated the rooms were paid for, but when I arrived to check in, the amount in full was due. The card that was supposed to be charged was not charged until the next day and only after several faxes. The billing issues continued when I was charged later for a $269.98 fee for something that I did not authorize while staying at the hotel. After contacting the hotel, they stated that charge "should" come have come off within 24 hours of posting and it was for a night already paid for by the credit card. Why they decided to charge my cards twice, I do not know. It has been 48 hours and still nothing. Due to the mix up in the reservation, my wife, my kids and I were not able to finish attending a large conference or do any sightseeing we had planned for that evening and the next morning. After being told to leave the room, the staff was extremely hostile and refused to believe anything that we said and were more than willing to charge a different room at an astronomical rate in order to keep us there. After asking for corporate information did the staff start to show any form of pleasantness. I will no longer be staying at any Best Western branded hotels on my numerous business trips because of this situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXOEXO
Business
Chicago, Il
Sep 26, 2013

A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visit to the university
Business
West Palm Beach
Sep 7, 2013

University interview

Very close to the university of Illinois at chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constable Jim
Business
Wichita Falls, Tx
Sep 4, 2013

Best Western Grant Park

Close to everything downtown. Could have vacuumed more often in the elevators and halls. Good food within easy walking distance. Room was clean but needed an upgrade. I had trouble getting on line in the room. For the location the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are every kind of food you could want within easy walking distance.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JETM
Business
St. Louis
Jul 31, 2013

Great location but needs a huge refresher!

Floors were gross. Hair all over bath tub. Great location if your looking to walk to museums at soldier field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny One
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2013

Family Chicago Visit

Poor Wi-Fi connection Drawyer were dirty Customer Printer was not working our entire 4 night stay Exterior is run down Windows were dirty Curtain was broken Double beds too small for two people No complementary breakfast which is a standard at Best Western Employees were friendly and helpful-that was a positive Good location across from Grant Park and walking distance to Museum and Soldier Field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny Miller
Business
St Paul, MN
Jul 14, 2013

Good value

The staff welcomed me warmly as I arrived frazzled with 4 children in tow--two more than I had counted on having when I made the rez. They immediately offered to upgrade me so that we had three beds and could rest comfortably during our short stay. Was a $10 cab fare between here and Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ale37gq
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Jun 30, 2013

Nice family getaway

We actually had a great time at the hotel in Chicago downtown. The only discomforting experience was our delayed flight of three ours from Atlanta to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Commuter from East Coast
Business
Virginia
Jun 28, 2013

great view of park

Had a great view of Grant Park and Lake Michigan. Room nice. Internet/Wi-Fi okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Area seemed to be rundown. close to CTA station a plus

Back to menu Return to top