$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce Shyu
Wooster, Ohio
Jun 1, 2013

Quite comfortable, some minor wifi problems

I have stayed in a side-room of 8th floor. The light and cleanliness is perfect. They also provided free and good coffee for about 8 cups a day. The only thing that I would complain is about the wifi. Sometimes the wifi signal will disappear and I have to log in again. Also, I can't upload some photos in Wechat. I'm sure that's not my fault because I can upload photos when I came back campus two days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five guys burger is nearby. Their cheeseburger is fabulous and worthy about 7 USD each.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
walrusgumboot
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 11, 2014

just the basics

Great value if you aren't keen on amenities. Nothing in the fitness center works. WiFi was spotty and did not support streaming. Front desk insisted that it did...but it didn't. Very good location downtown. Parking is on a valet basis and will cost you around $35/day. Keep that in mind when calculating your budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great quick breakfast. Dinner was okay...not spectacular, but very well priced.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curlygirl55
Business
California
Apr 6, 2014

Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken care of here. I was in town for a conference at McCormick Place. I walked to and fro every day, 1.4 miles each way. Very safe. Trader Joe's is a block away. On day 1 I asked for a fridge and they had already put the request in! Ver sweet staff, very caring with great suggestions. Also right across the street from the Aquarium!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AORN
Business
Cape Coral, Fl.
Apr 5, 2014

The Best Western in not the Best

This Hotel is in needs of maintenance. The work out room is dirty, the cable cord was not even attached to the TV. The air conditioner/heat vents were filthy with dust, part of the bathroom fixture was falling off or lopsided, the door to the entrance of the room had a 2 inch gap from the floor to the door on one side. When I asked for 2 pillows with no feathers, I had to call twice, and they never brought them. I then called again the next day, and twice they brought the same pillows with feathers, the third day they found the correct pillows, which was the day before I left. They advertised a safe in the room for laptops and my room did not have one, so I had to change my room. The "new furniture" in the old room, was tacky and outdated. Pay the extra money and go down the street one block!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julie heavy Traveler
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location

This hotel was fine if its a quick stay over in downtown Chicago. No amenities or anything special, but good value for staying close to shopping venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob From Midwest
Business
Midwest
Mar 29, 2014

Spring Break Getaway

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Had 2 rooms-- Room with 2 queens was a pleasant surprise--beds in a separate area + space with sofa, table and chairs, micro and refrig. Was perfect for family with 2 toddlers to have a play area. Location was perfect..walking to restaurants and taxi very reasonable to Shedd and Museums. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxis were reasonable

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
playjak
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2014

Overall good

It was a nice stay overall. The ladies at the desk were very friendly, the room was clean, and its right near downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi Town newbie
Business
Indiana
Mar 17, 2014

Thin walls

The hotel was pretty average and the walls are very thin. The staff was very friendly and helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Try to stay more downtown, we always had to take a bus to downtown where everything was

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Slice
Business
Sterling, IL
Dec 14, 2013

Monday Night Football

If you plan on staying here for a Monday night football game, the parking could be a problem1 They do not hold parking spaces for guests, but rent them out 'first come, first served'. It would have been nice to know that in advance, since I had to park a block away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimJosh
Business
Southern Maryland
Dec 11, 2013

Next to soldier field! Perfect for the $

Came to chicago for a bears game. The hotel was perfect location, couldn't get any closer. Cheaper on the price scale, even though you get what you pay for, it had everything we needed. Friendly, and accommodating staff. Fairly clean, just older. But hut it is chicago! I'd would definitely stay there again if we're not looking to spend tons of money for a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Soldier field was super close.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NSz123
Business
Lincoln, Nebraksa
Oct 30, 2013

Sightseeing in Chicago

I spent 4 days in Chicago to see the city, and booked at this hotel because of the location. The room was very nice, clean, it had a double bed and a small desk in the corner - not very spacy, but perfect for a few nights, and the location is, indeed, pretty good. One downside was the heating system - it is very loud, and the room gets cold pretty quick without it, so I couldn't turn it off even at night. The other downside was the wifi - it was not high speed,as advertised, I could not have a video conversation on skype, and it kept throwing me off every once a while. Also, the printer in the lobby wasn't working. I can only recommend this hotel if there is a deal going on that makes it cheaper than normal, though, that is how I booked it, together with my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top