$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riverview mom
minneapolis mn
May 6, 2013

Decent value for the money

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 2 years. It is very convenient for shopping, sightseeing and or visiting someone at one of the downtown colleges or universities. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. Being able to store your luggage/packages for the day, after you have checked out was a big plus. It allowed us to sightsee and shop without having to cart our luggage all over the city. Having a microwave and a fridge as a standard feature in each room would have changed my amenities rating of two stars to 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must have at least one breakfast at Yolks. It is just around the corner from the hotel. It is worth the rather long wait in line and if the weather is nice, you can sit outside and people watch til your table is ready.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curlygirl55
Business
California
Apr 6, 2014

Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken care of here. I was in town for a conference at McCormick Place. I walked to and fro every day, 1.4 miles each way. Very safe. Trader Joe's is a block away. On day 1 I asked for a fridge and they had already put the request in! Ver sweet staff, very caring with great suggestions. Also right across the street from the Aquarium!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AORN
Business
Cape Coral, Fl.
Apr 5, 2014

The Best Western in not the Best

This Hotel is in needs of maintenance. The work out room is dirty, the cable cord was not even attached to the TV. The air conditioner/heat vents were filthy with dust, part of the bathroom fixture was falling off or lopsided, the door to the entrance of the room had a 2 inch gap from the floor to the door on one side. When I asked for 2 pillows with no feathers, I had to call twice, and they never brought them. I then called again the next day, and twice they brought the same pillows with feathers, the third day they found the correct pillows, which was the day before I left. They advertised a safe in the room for laptops and my room did not have one, so I had to change my room. The "new furniture" in the old room, was tacky and outdated. Pay the extra money and go down the street one block!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julie heavy Traveler
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location

This hotel was fine if its a quick stay over in downtown Chicago. No amenities or anything special, but good value for staying close to shopping venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob From Midwest
Business
Midwest
Mar 29, 2014

Spring Break Getaway

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Had 2 rooms-- Room with 2 queens was a pleasant surprise--beds in a separate area + space with sofa, table and chairs, micro and refrig. Was perfect for family with 2 toddlers to have a play area. Location was perfect..walking to restaurants and taxi very reasonable to Shedd and Museums. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxis were reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
playjak
Business
Michigan
Mar 18, 2014

Overall good

It was a nice stay overall. The ladies at the desk were very friendly, the room was clean, and its right near downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi Town newbie
Business
Indiana
Mar 17, 2014

Thin walls

The hotel was pretty average and the walls are very thin. The staff was very friendly and helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Try to stay more downtown, we always had to take a bus to downtown where everything was

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Slice
Business
Sterling, IL
Dec 14, 2013

Monday Night Football

If you plan on staying here for a Monday night football game, the parking could be a problem1 They do not hold parking spaces for guests, but rent them out 'first come, first served'. It would have been nice to know that in advance, since I had to park a block away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimJosh
Business
Southern Maryland
Dec 11, 2013

Next to soldier field! Perfect for the $

Came to chicago for a bears game. The hotel was perfect location, couldn't get any closer. Cheaper on the price scale, even though you get what you pay for, it had everything we needed. Friendly, and accommodating staff. Fairly clean, just older. But hut it is chicago! I'd would definitely stay there again if we're not looking to spend tons of money for a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Soldier field was super close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NSz123
Business
Lincoln, Nebraksa
Oct 30, 2013

Sightseeing in Chicago

I spent 4 days in Chicago to see the city, and booked at this hotel because of the location. The room was very nice, clean, it had a double bed and a small desk in the corner - not very spacy, but perfect for a few nights, and the location is, indeed, pretty good. One downside was the heating system - it is very loud, and the room gets cold pretty quick without it, so I couldn't turn it off even at night. The other downside was the wifi - it was not high speed,as advertised, I could not have a video conversation on skype, and it kept throwing me off every once a while. Also, the printer in the lobby wasn't working. I can only recommend this hotel if there is a deal going on that makes it cheaper than normal, though, that is how I booked it, together with my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawn Lamb
Business
Sheboygan, WI
Sep 27, 2013

Worst Experience

I would not recommend this hotel due to issues with the billing system, reservation system, and overall attitude displayed by the staff. We were forcibly ejected from our stay due to a mix up on the hotel's end. We had reserved a room for 5 nights as confirmed by customer care after the stay. The hotel only had us booked for 4 nights. My wife was told to get out of the room with a 10 minute warning. She had to scramble to get everything out of the room along with our two small children. The reservation system stated the rooms were paid for, but when I arrived to check in, the amount in full was due. The card that was supposed to be charged was not charged until the next day and only after several faxes. The billing issues continued when I was charged later for a $269.98 fee for something that I did not authorize while staying at the hotel. After contacting the hotel, they stated that charge "should" come have come off within 24 hours of posting and it was for a night already paid for by the credit card. Why they decided to charge my cards twice, I do not know. It has been 48 hours and still nothing. Due to the mix up in the reservation, my wife, my kids and I were not able to finish attending a large conference or do any sightseeing we had planned for that evening and the next morning. After being told to leave the room, the staff was extremely hostile and refused to believe anything that we said and were more than willing to charge a different room at an astronomical rate in order to keep us there. After asking for corporate information did the staff start to show any form of pleasantness. I will no longer be staying at any Best Western branded hotels on my numerous business trips because of this situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top