$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EXOEXO
Chicago, Il
Sep 18, 2013

Great Lake View room

It's so nice to have a lake view room. The hotel has a great location and we see the fireworks at night and sunrise in the morning!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ILND
Business
Illinois
Jun 19, 2014

Room was Ok, Hotel was not

The hotel itself is very dated, the lobby and hallways were dark, dreary and depressing. There is considerable deferred maintenance here. The staff was fine, I don't fault them for anything here, but the owners certainly care little at this point. The room was somewhat clean, and not quite as dated as the hotel. However the feel of the hotel just overall gave me the creeps and I didn't really want to touch anything. The room lacked in amenities, the air conditioning unit kicked on and off and the room would either be too warm or too cold. I slept fairly poorly due in large part to the A/C unit kicking on and off every few minutes. The location is off the beaten path on South Michigan, its a hike from everything. I cannot recommend this hotel but then again, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KristaD
Business
South Bend, In
Jun 18, 2014

Weekend Concert

First, I requested two double beds and received one king bed. We were unable to change rooms from one night because the hotel was booked solid. However, our experience with Claudia was exceptional. She was able to move our room for the next time and gave us free valet on our two cars for one night. As well as a room discount for the smell and lack of air conditioning in the first room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

about 20 minutes thru the park

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chrissy81
Business
NWI
Jun 9, 2014

unhappy with the staff.

Staff members were rude. Janitor was awesome his name was rich,he was helpful and polite. Valet guy was creepy kept starring at us the whole time. When we got their I asked for 2 beds queen. They had me in for one king bed with only 2people. We had 4 in our party. The lady at the desk was rude and told me that's all they had. As she is swiping my debit card. Urgh stop cause if u can't help me ill have to go somewhere else cause you guys made a mistake. They claimed they had a pool, noone said anything at the desk that the pool is being reconstruction. O great that's wonderful the janitor told us when we finally figured out where it was. Watch out for the elevators they didn't have a sensor in the door if someone was standing there. Crushed my friend body and my daughter arm. In our room toilet leaked and the curtains looked dirty and old. No fitted sheets on the bed just a mattress pad and a sheet. Air conditioned didn't work. We were moved to another room. A little better, but I will never stay there again. Looks ran down outside. Lobby elevator,and the rooms. It might be cheaper, but I would Of spent the extra 40.00 to stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katekat
Business
Madison, WI
May 30, 2014

Great deal for the location

I booked this room last minute for an unexpected one-night stay in Chicago. My main considerations were finding something cheap in the downtown area and this fit the bill perfectly. They were offering a special price of $75/night when I booked. I probably wouldn't pay more than that, but it was by far the least expensive option that close to the city center. The hotel and rooms were clean but outdated. While my room was a decent size, the bathroom was tiny. The bed was comfortable and the AC was working quite well. Valet parking is $38/night and includes in an out privileges. The staff also recommended a couple of nearby lots that were a bit cheaper if you didn't need access to your car. The number 3 bus right outside goes straight down Michigan Avenue to the heart of the Miracle Mile. Overall a good place to stay if you get a deal and don't need anything fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eva lll
Business
miami
May 17, 2014

just soso

3 stars are fair since the price is not so high the staffs are just too old and not so comfortble

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bibiofiler
Business
Washington DC
May 11, 2014

Disappointed

I booked this hotel based on the info provided on the website and it definitely was not as nice as I was led to believe. The location is great. Aside from that, there's not much that I was happy with. I overheard someone asking about the rates and they were being offered $40/night less than what I paid. The building is old, everything in the room is old and could use an upgrade. The pool was drained and closed. The exercise room was filled with old and broken equipment. I almost got stuck on the elevator twice. The front desk staff ranged from annoyed to satisfactory to helpful but by and large most of the people I encountered seemed like they really didn't want to be there. If you're looking for something close to Grant Park it's probably not a bad choice, otherwise I'd look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fahd
Business
Yemen
May 2, 2014

Great location

The Hotel location is Great , near to most attractive locations and museums , universities . The cleaning was good but the floor corridor is narrow . you would like to stay there , i like it and i will return to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago . thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
last man standing
Business
chicago
May 1, 2014

Getaway

Fair, good location, assesible to my needs at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiquita hanouty
Business
Detroit
Apr 30, 2014

Average

Ordinary smelled a little parking too expensive beds too small pillows were awful a little disorganized

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWGBR
Business
St. Louis
Apr 14, 2014

Nice Place

The hotel was very comfortable for my business stay. The Staff was helpful at all times, and for the price it was a great stay! I would recommend for business or pleasure for your sext stay in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eataly - 2.2 miles away and is a must!

Back to menu Return to top