$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas
May 8, 2009

bw grant park may 09

Friendly staff helped us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to the museums, farther than other hotels from the river and bulk of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Urol
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 8, 2009

Unpleasant surprise

I went for a Conference at the Mcormick Center. Hotel location is very good, close to the Millenium Park and with easy access to the subway. Close to the Art museum, aquarium, field museum, navy pier. Bathrooms are clean and place is quiet although in Michigan Ave. However, I had a very unpleasant surprise to be informed that the room I had requested with 2 double beds was not available when I got there, and they oferred me a room with 1 king size bed only. Had I been with my wife it would be OK, but I was traveling with a friend and it put us in a very uncomfortable situation (one of us slept on the floor for 2 nights until they could make another room available). The explanation that was given was that when you book your room through Orbitz there is no guarantee you are gonna get what you asked for since you are paying for cheaper rates. I was outraged since there is no such information in Orbitz website. Be aware!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the John Hancock lounge close to downtown. Great drinks with a great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
May 4, 2009

Great location, little pricey...

The price was much lower than other hotels in the area. The location is excellent if you want to be within walking distance of the Shedd Aquarium, the Field Museum, etc. The downside to this hotel was that the food was so-so. The restaurant was closed for renovations, so the only food option in the hotel for lunch/dinner was the coffee stand. Foodwise, the coffee stand only offered pastries and sandwiches. In addition, the room was full of broken items! The sink drain pull came off in my hand when I tried to run water into the bathroom sink. When I tried to hang up my bath towel, the rack fell off the wall. There was only one working lamp in the room. It was an adventure to see what would happen to me next! On the upside, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location, the price, and the staff made up for the small inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to visit the Field Museum, home of Sue the Tyrannosaurus Rex! I left 2.5 hours for the museum and it was not enough. If you are a museum fan, leave yourself at least 4 hours to see the whole thing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Fresno, CA
Jan 5, 2009

Friendly

The Best Western was comfortable and the staff is great. I like that the room was very spacious, the bathroom was like unique, i had always stay at a place where the bethroom was just one single room but not here, here it was separate. Also very close to public transportation or any other means of transportaton and just also dwontown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is with in walking or a short drive distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okemos
Jan 3, 2009

Great Location, Good Hotel

The Best Western Grant Park was comfortable but a little outdated. The heater/AC kept going on and off changing temperatures which was very inconvenient. The location is great, very close to the Museum Campus. A big problem with the hotel as most of the downtown hotels is that there is no parking for guests. There is a paid ramp you can use a block away. The value for the price was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium, Planetarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Dec 2, 2008

Great business amenities

I enjoyed my stay and is vbery close to lake, although I recommend better visit the ity in summer time :-)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The caf? next door has the best seafood with pasta combination I ever ate... also recommedn the angus burger...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evansville
Aug 29, 2008

Old Hotel

The Best Western at Grant Park is a great location to visit the South end of Michigan Ave. were many tourists attrications are. It is very close to the CTA bus line and the L trains. The Restruant that is attached to the hotel is very overpriced for the quality of food and service. There is a great Cafe just around the corner of the so called parking garage that the hotel said is under repair called Cafe 11, food and price was super. This is a very old building and the maintance staff has their hands full. We were staying on the 6th floor just down from the housekeeping office and for some reason we would leave at 0900 or earlier during our stay and it was after 1500 when our room was made up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 27, 2008

Great Value

Although this hotel may seem like it's far away from things, it still is only blocks from the L so it is still convenient to everything. It's clean, comfortable, quiet and the best value ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jul 29, 2008

Great stay

This hotel was so conveniently located for my purpose with a helpful staff for my needs. Room was very good and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores of all sorts are close to this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsboro, MO
Jul 27, 2008

Great Staff

Our stay in Chicago was made much more enjoyable by the Grant Park Best Western. The individuals we had the opportunity to interact with were very helpful and extremely professional. They were knowledgeable and always willing to assist each time we asked. The room was clean and well furnished. We did not have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant, but did look at the menu and there was a wide selection and the prices were very reasonable. Upon a return trip to Chicago we would certainly consider staying at the Best Western at Grant Park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum park was within a reasonable walking distance. Public transportation was easily obtained within a very short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top