$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
331 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (331)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    331 out of 331
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago
    Jun 1, 2009

    check out 2 days back. But no money back

    I have check out the hotel 2 days back but i never get the cash back for the other 2 days!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Damien TD
    Business
    New York City
    Jun 1, 2009

    Friendly staff, easily accessible

    The hotel staff and front desk people were indeed very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a short walk from the subway and the elevated trains, which was a plus for me. The immediate area is not overly lively, in my opinion, but public transit can get you to lively areas very easily. I used the valet parking service offered by the hotel. I parked my car for two nights and didn't need to worry about it or use it at all.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Park your car at the hotel, then jump on the subway or elevated train to get around, so you don't need to worry about finding parking when you go out.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dank5190
    Business
    Indiana
    Jun 1, 2009

    good cheap park area hotel almost dwntwn

    We went with the plan to walk all over chicago and do whatever we came across as we took the amtrak into town. I think this is a great location to do just that starting from the south side. You are within walking distance (2miles)radius of the most significant parks, museums, shopping (state, michigan, and oak), union station, and then navy pier. The hotel was the cheapest with the best location of any hotel I found in the two weeks I researched for the trip. The next closest one was the chinatown hotel, but it looked kind of shady FYI. Everything at the hotel was as expected, they will hold your bags for you until you can check in. They let us check in about 30 minutes early (they said the hotel was full so we couldn't get in earlier). The AC worked. The room was small, but what do you need a big hotel room for? You should only use it for sleeping anyway. why would you go to a tourist destination to hang out in your room. geeze. The view from the room was pretty good. it's only 9 stories tall though so don't expect to see indiana. The Yolk restaurant next door was great. you should probably go early or drop by to put your name in 25 minutes before you want to eat since it seemed like there is always a wait (because it's that good). The staff always said hello and the front desk guy did very well under the pressure i saw him working under. I would stay here again, considering the hotel next to it is twice the price. The first day we did on foot, the second day we did from the double decker bus tour. Which at first I thought would be a ripoff but it turns out it is really a good deal since you can hop on and off all day and go places you can't walk to that would cost 20+ in a taxi.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    the hop on hop off double decker bus tour/trolley cars. they will save you time and point out interesting things to do all over town. well worth the ticket price

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Missouri
    May 29, 2009

    The title is true.

    The employees were friendly & helpful. The location is perfect for tourists, close to museums, & the beautiful Lake Michigan. We stayed at this hotel twice before, & it has improved greatly. The only thing missing in the room is a mirror on the dresser. It was difficult to share one mirror, when the only one is in the bathroom. Other than that, we will look forward to our next visit. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The walk to visit the museums was wonderful. It gave us a chance to take some great pictures of Grant Park, Lake Michigan, and the fantastic Chicago "sky line".

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Fullerton, CA
    May 12, 2009

    Unbeatable location for the price

    staff is helpful, room is clean, location is unbeatable...thats all bout it...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    dallas
    May 8, 2009

    bw grant park may 09

    Friendly staff helped us out.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    It's close to the museums, farther than other hotels from the river and bulk of downtown.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Urol
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    May 8, 2009

    Unpleasant surprise

    I went for a Conference at the Mcormick Center. Hotel location is very good, close to the Millenium Park and with easy access to the subway. Close to the Art museum, aquarium, field museum, navy pier. Bathrooms are clean and place is quiet although in Michigan Ave. However, I had a very unpleasant surprise to be informed that the room I had requested with 2 double beds was not available when I got there, and they oferred me a room with 1 king size bed only. Had I been with my wife it would be OK, but I was traveling with a friend and it put us in a very uncomfortable situation (one of us slept on the floor for 2 nights until they could make another room available). The explanation that was given was that when you book your room through Orbitz there is no guarantee you are gonna get what you asked for since you are paying for cheaper rates. I was outraged since there is no such information in Orbitz website. Be aware!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Don't miss the John Hancock lounge close to downtown. Great drinks with a great view.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Honolulu
    May 4, 2009

    Great location, little pricey...

    The price was much lower than other hotels in the area. The location is excellent if you want to be within walking distance of the Shedd Aquarium, the Field Museum, etc. The downside to this hotel was that the food was so-so. The restaurant was closed for renovations, so the only food option in the hotel for lunch/dinner was the coffee stand. Foodwise, the coffee stand only offered pastries and sandwiches. In addition, the room was full of broken items! The sink drain pull came off in my hand when I tried to run water into the bathroom sink. When I tried to hang up my bath towel, the rack fell off the wall. There was only one working lamp in the room. It was an adventure to see what would happen to me next! On the upside, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location, the price, and the staff made up for the small inconveniences.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Make time to visit the Field Museum, home of Sue the Tyrannosaurus Rex! I left 2.5 hours for the museum and it was not enough. If you are a museum fan, leave yourself at least 4 hours to see the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    black barbie
    Business
    Fresno, CA
    Jan 5, 2009

    Friendly

    The Best Western was comfortable and the staff is great. I like that the room was very spacious, the bathroom was like unique, i had always stay at a place where the bethroom was just one single room but not here, here it was separate. Also very close to public transportation or any other means of transportaton and just also dwontown.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    everything is with in walking or a short drive distance.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Okemos
    Jan 3, 2009

    Great Location, Good Hotel

    The Best Western Grant Park was comfortable but a little outdated. The heater/AC kept going on and off changing temperatures which was very inconvenient. The location is great, very close to the Museum Campus. A big problem with the hotel as most of the downtown hotels is that there is no parking for guests. There is a paid ramp you can use a block away. The value for the price was excellent.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Aquarium, Planetarium.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top