$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uncle Felix Grand
Business
Holland, Michigan
Aug 10, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

The location was great. Convenient to the Loop, Shedd Aquarium, etc. We were surprised that the in-house restaurant only served dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several eateries within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gma's
Business
Chicago
Aug 8, 2014

Gma's Trip

Overall the hotel was run down and below standard even for a three star. The bathroom smelled of mold, the shower leaked and we were given only two towels for a reservation for four. The housekeeping staff did keep things clean. The hotel did have a pool as advertised but it was dirty as was the entire pool ares. Overall, this was a disappointment and I will likely not stay at any hotel with this name again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trogan
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 28, 2014

Best Western Grant Park Chicago IL

All staff members were friendly, efficient and courteous. Hotel needs a good cleaning and many updates. Hotel location is too far from the Loop and with nothing around it after business close. Room had 2 double beds, good for family. Price too high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChemistryRules
Business
Notre Dame, Indiana
Jul 17, 2014

great location, average hotel

The best thing about this hotel is that it's walking distance to the Art Institute and the museum campus. The room was reasonably clean but rather worn, and the bed was sagging. The extra $38/night for parking is not out of line for downtown Chicago, but would be more palatable if it didn't require a 15+ minute wait every time you request your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basketball trip and shop
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Jul 13, 2014

Very nice downtown trip

We were very happy with our stay in Chicago. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Guest Services people helped us get our taxi plans to the Mccormick Place, hooked us up with a great recommendation for a local restaurant, The Scout, and some of the best shopping ideas. The hotel could probably use some updated paint, wallpaper and carpet but all in all it was an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mega Mary
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2014

Shabby update

Room was clean but small. Pool area very disappointing. Pool was dirty and shabby. Hotel needs a face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alpha nurse
Business
Windsor,CT
Jul 8, 2014

Best Western Hotel: perfect location

Grant Park is in the perfect location to enjoy all the activities of Chicago. The price was right, the room was just what I wanted during my trip, and they have public computers to use so you don't need to bring a laptop in order to deal with the daily checks of emails, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ILND
Business
Illinois
Jun 19, 2014

Room was Ok, Hotel was not

The hotel itself is very dated, the lobby and hallways were dark, dreary and depressing. There is considerable deferred maintenance here. The staff was fine, I don't fault them for anything here, but the owners certainly care little at this point. The room was somewhat clean, and not quite as dated as the hotel. However the feel of the hotel just overall gave me the creeps and I didn't really want to touch anything. The room lacked in amenities, the air conditioning unit kicked on and off and the room would either be too warm or too cold. I slept fairly poorly due in large part to the A/C unit kicking on and off every few minutes. The location is off the beaten path on South Michigan, its a hike from everything. I cannot recommend this hotel but then again, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KristaD
Business
South Bend, In
Jun 18, 2014

Weekend Concert

First, I requested two double beds and received one king bed. We were unable to change rooms from one night because the hotel was booked solid. However, our experience with Claudia was exceptional. She was able to move our room for the next time and gave us free valet on our two cars for one night. As well as a room discount for the smell and lack of air conditioning in the first room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

about 20 minutes thru the park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chrissy81
Business
NWI
Jun 9, 2014

unhappy with the staff.

Staff members were rude. Janitor was awesome his name was rich,he was helpful and polite. Valet guy was creepy kept starring at us the whole time. When we got their I asked for 2 beds queen. They had me in for one king bed with only 2people. We had 4 in our party. The lady at the desk was rude and told me that's all they had. As she is swiping my debit card. Urgh stop cause if u can't help me ill have to go somewhere else cause you guys made a mistake. They claimed they had a pool, noone said anything at the desk that the pool is being reconstruction. O great that's wonderful the janitor told us when we finally figured out where it was. Watch out for the elevators they didn't have a sensor in the door if someone was standing there. Crushed my friend body and my daughter arm. In our room toilet leaked and the curtains looked dirty and old. No fitted sheets on the bed just a mattress pad and a sheet. Air conditioned didn't work. We were moved to another room. A little better, but I will never stay there again. Looks ran down outside. Lobby elevator,and the rooms. It might be cheaper, but I would Of spent the extra 40.00 to stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top