$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce Shyu
Wooster, Ohio
Jun 1, 2013

Quite comfortable, some minor wifi problems

I have stayed in a side-room of 8th floor. The light and cleanliness is perfect. They also provided free and good coffee for about 8 cups a day. The only thing that I would complain is about the wifi. Sometimes the wifi signal will disappear and I have to log in again. Also, I can't upload some photos in Wechat. I'm sure that's not my fault because I can upload photos when I came back campus two days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five guys burger is nearby. Their cheeseburger is fabulous and worthy about 7 USD each.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 9, 2010

Two Star Downtown Chicago

Location is nice, but only valet parking. General upkeep like flower boxes were unfilled, machine broken in very small fitness center, room cramped, but hey, I found a hotel for under $200 during a busy conference time and was closer than my colleagues to the McCormik center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little sushi/Thai place only a couple of blocks away with window that open to the street!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 7, 2010

Best Affordable Hotel in Chicago

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel when we visited Chicago. The location was perfect especially for us first time visitors. Almost all the sightseeings, restaurants, lounges/clubs and movies are close by. The room and bed were big enough, the room and bathroom were super clean. One thing that I liked the most was the fact that the front desk can push a button when you tell them you need a cab and a cab will be outside waiting for you or maybe arrive few minutes later. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and will definitely be staying here next time we visit Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Staying here will save you some cab fare because you can walk to some of the movies, restaurants and sightseeing locations.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carla super sis
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 7, 2010

great location for the price

this was a sisters trip celebrating a 40th birthday. We had a blast. The hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. Lobby is very shabby, as is the pool area,and vending machine area in hallways.Towels are super thin.Pillows are made up of lumps stuck together to create a semblance of a pillow. Rooms are average size with very comfortable beds. They are made up everyday and are very clean, carpets clean. The location is great. right on Michigan Ave. Around the corner is probably one of the best breakfast places in town.Yolk is the name.3 blocks away you get tickets for and board the sightseeing bus and trolley. across the street is the park and the local bus runs up michigan ave. You're far enough away from the center of town so it's not in a noisy area. The museums are close by as well. we did the architecture boat tour, bought a 3 day ticket for the sightseeing bus. Saw the whole town first, then went on the side trip to science and industry museum area, hyde park etc. great. shopped, went to super restaurants. walked, generally loved this city. wonderful way to spend a long weekend. will definately come back here. People are delightful. everyone at the hotel was lovely.We had a wonderful sister celebration and this was right up there with other vacations we've been on. We really had no choice of hotels in the city as it was the largest Oncology convention the same weekend. We were lucky to have found this hotel since everything was sold out.Cabs are plentiful and right outside of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations well in advance of arrival to be sure you get the time and day you want without waiting hours. Also breakfast at Yolk is a must if you want a great brunch type breakfast. This is not just a short order place. but they are reasonable.They are also a few short steps from the hotel. There's also a restaurant called Opera a few blocks from the hotel thats a wonderful pan asian restaurant with a great looking decor. It was a former opera house with some private curtained booths that you can also dine in. The food is terrific and that too is a few blocks away within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 6, 2010

Worked well for us

We came to Chicago for a convention. Easy walking to McCormick Center, the waterfront, Navy Pier and Downtown (20-25 minutes). Price was good, the amenities clean and comfortable. This is now our Chicago destination of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Long Beach, ca
Jun 4, 2010

Great location, bad rooms

Friendly staff, my room's night light was not working, neither the air conditioner and in the bathroom, the hooks of the shower were unlocked. Additionally when I asked for a room with a view to the park, they said there was an extra charge, which I understand because of the view, still, since the hotel was hardly booked that day they could of offer me the room and tell me that it was a special for me... you know, good service so I come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

between long an mid length walks you get to: Millenium Park, Art conservatory, The park with the Buckingham Fountain, the Adler Planetarium, Buckingham Fountain and the Shedd Aquarium.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Long Beach, ca
Jun 4, 2010

Great location, bad rooms

Friendly staff, my room's night light was not working, neither the air conditioner and in the bathroom, the hooks of the shower were unlocked. Additionally when I asked for a room with a view to the park, they said there was an extra charge, which I understand because of the view, still, since the hotel was hardly booked that day they could of offer me the room and tell me that it was a special for me... you know, good service so I come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

between long an mid length walks you get to: Millenium Park, Art conservatory, The park with the Buckingham Fountain, the Adler Planetarium, Buckingham Fountain and the Shedd Aquarium.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, MI
Jun 2, 2010

Really nice place to stay

GREAT trip. A last minute get-a-way that was very fun! Hotel close to all of Chicago's finest attractions; within 2 to 3 miles of everything! The Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier were absolutely wonderful. Great family fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely go see the Licoln Park Zoo..you'll love it...have to drive, but only a few min. away from this hotel. 2 miles away..you can walk..is the Navy Pier...wonderful family fun!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cowley traveller
Business
Cowley, AB
May 29, 2010

Great place to stay

Great location, great views, nice clean and large rooms. Great value. Excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
May 25, 2010

Get what you pay for

The lobby and elevators were so dirty, I expected the rooms to be worse...but the room was actually clean and comfortable/quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica
May 24, 2010

great value

Great value for the price. The room was adequate with a good breakfast. The location was good within close proximity to the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top