$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
329 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (329)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    329 out of 329
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    hadrian
    new york
    Mar 10, 2013

    great experience

    great location and helpful staff. The rooms are remarkably comfortable and clean as is the entire hotel. I always make it a point to stay here when in town. Never disappoints.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    cle
    Mar 19, 2010

    nice trip

    best location,very close to museums

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    galesburg il
    Mar 14, 2010

    R and R

    The rooms were very small for 4 people but the lacaton was nice.Especially if you plan to visit the aquarium and museums.It would be a good place to stay and watch da bears.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    You can see soldier field,museums,and shedd aquarium from your window.Grant Park is a short walk

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Michigan
    Mar 7, 2010

    Great Price for a Perfect location

    The Hotel was much better than I had expected. I thought for the rate I got the room it was going to be dirty and bad location. The only things about the room that disapointed me were: the small bathroom, the dirty windows, the Ice machine was out of order on our floor, and the bed was a little uncomfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect for what we were in chicago to do. We were literally 5 minutes walking distance from Museum campus. Also the hotel provided vallet parking for the same rates as parking at a parking garage further away. I plan to travel to chicago again this summer and I most likely will be staying at this hotel! The price the location! It was perfect for two broke college kids! lol. I would recommend this hotel to almost anyone but for a family I would recommend maybe getting two rooms being so small.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    depending on where you want to shop the road right behind the hotel has some great stores on it. Also the hotel is approximently 30 minute walk from the magnificent mile.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    precmomen
    Business
    MI
    Mar 4, 2010

    Good location

    good location, near subway station, thus very convenient to get to museums

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mother Thornapple
    Business
    Vermontville Michigan
    Mar 2, 2010

    Unbeatable price 4 location.

    We were in town for a 4 day dog show at the McCormick Lakeside. The hotel attached to our dog show is $800 for 4 days. The Best Western Grant Park is a fraction of the the Hyatt price prepaid on [...]. The #3 bus stops a few steps away from the hotel door & takes us to the door of McCormick Place which was our dog show site approximately 2.5 miles away. In the afternoon, we ride the #3 back towards our hotel for dinner. There are many excellent restuarant choices close by. After dinner, we ride the #3 bus back to the dog show to care for our dogs then back to our hotel for the evening. This hotel is very clean & comfortable & close to our dog show for a prepaid price of a Red Roof Inn! Best part -- COMFY beds & FOX NEWS on cable!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Lots of good restuarants just a short walk away. Just around the corner is the Yolk which is THE breakfast place in Chicago! We LOVE our Irish Pub 3 blocks away! We enjoyed Mexican near our hotel as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    detroit, mi
    Feb 24, 2010

    Disappointing

    During check-in a transient walked in the lobby, which resulted in a verbal confrontation with the hotel staff --- police were called. The decor looked old and shoddy. The heater was not functioning in our room (it was extremely cold), and we had to insist to be moved into a new room. The elevators were noisy and one shaky. Overall, just not a very nice hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    mariome
    Business
    Woodbridge VA
    Feb 23, 2010

    Good location right where you want to be

    This hotel is in a great location, easy access to some of Chicago best offerings.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Manny's Coffee Shop & Deli 1141 South Jefferson Street Chicago, IL 60607 [...]

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI
    Feb 21, 2010

    Met our basic needs

    We basically needed a clean bed to sleep in convenient to Roosevelt University and near our daughter's apartment. This hotel met our basic needs. I thought the pillows were lumpy , the towels were scratchy (plus there were no washcloths!), and the elevator was scary (weird noises and jerky). Not bad, but not great either!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Jean of Jeans Beans
    Business
    Detroit, MI
    Feb 13, 2010

    excellent location for the price

    It was too cold to do anything. The amenities were cheap. The front desk staff could have been friendlier and suggested places near the hotel, to do, see, or places to eat. The cab service was fast and friendly, excellent. We ate breakfast at the hotel restuarant, the food was good and the staff was great. The something missing was more wash cloths, there was only one for me and my child to use. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Queretaro, Mexico
    Jan 3, 2010

    Comfortable and with great location

    Very good location but when booking additional nights, the rate went up outrageously high. We had to stay at a higher price and then booked a much better hotel at a lower price in a better location. Had to be done through internet.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Auditorium Theater was within a walking distance and we got tickets to see the ballet which was fabulous.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top