$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
318 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (318)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    318 out of 318
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    TX
    Oct 23, 2011

    Great!

    the staff were very helpful and friendly.. helped us on our schedule! and it's very clean, the bed were big! enough for 2 people.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Traverse City, MI
    Jan 2, 2010

    Sketchy

    We went to Chicago to see a show and stay one night. The hotel couldn't take my debit card as a credit charge. I ended up having to hold the room on a rarely used credit card. The parking was an additional $24. [...] I am now having trouble with my bank account having NSF charges. It may be unrelated, but the staff looked like they just got out of jail.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Boston MA
    Oct 15, 2009

    Convenient but you get what you pay for.

    Went out for the Chicago Marathon, and booked this hotel since it was right across from the starting line in Grant park. [...] It took them HOURS to get us checked in (along with several other guests). We kept leaving and coming back. You can hear the trains all night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Aug 25, 2009

    Nice price; bit of a hike to the loop

    I love Grant Park for an early morning jog or the evening stroll, and this hotel is just off the park. It is also about a block to the "L" (I did not hear any noise), so easily makes up for being a bit of a hike into the loop. Great price; amenities that match the price; friendly staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Use the "L" and subway system. Much cheaper than a cab and will put you within a block or two of nearly everything you want to do. Besides, you don't get stuck in traffic.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Stevareeno
    Cleveland, OH
    Aug 3, 2009

    Best Western Grant Park Review

    My only complaint is short staffing at reception desk, causing above average wait time. Otherwise, hotel and staff were very accommodating of all needs, including advice on local restaurants. Fitness room and outdoor pool are excellent for this size facility. Location is perfect for those who want to visit any of the city's great museums. Grant Park is across the street.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Chuch74
    Mexico D.F.
    Jul 27, 2009

    Is a good option

    We went to chicago for the gold cup semifinal and the hotel is very neear to de Soldier Field, so I think this hotel was a very good option, isn't expensive and they have a good rooms

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Sports at Soldier Fiel and Museums

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Memphis, TN
    Jul 23, 2009

    Friendly Staff

    We were in town to visit museums and go to the Taste of Chicago and this hotel was perfect for our needs. It's not the nicest place in town, but it's a clean bed and a clean shower and the staff was very helpful (even when our Orbitz reservation was lost). Overall, it was a great value. Especially if you're going to treat the room as "base camp" while exploring the museums and the city. But, if you're going to Chicago to shop, you may want to stay further north.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Lifter Mom
    central Illinois
    Jul 19, 2009

    Nice hotel for a decent price

    Great location to walk to Shedd, Field and Adler. A bit further to the Sears Tower. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean; bathroom is rather dated (old, dark wallpaper), and no exhaust fan so you have to open the door to clear the mirror after a shower. Beds were very comfy.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Walk to museum campus through Grant Park; only have to cross 1 busy street (Michigan Avenue).

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Friendly Librarian
    Business
    Taunton, Ma.
    Jul 16, 2009

    Not too far, not to close...just right.

    I have to be honest and say that I was a little worried at first when booking this hotel. I thought that their standards would be slightly sub par since it the exterior photo shots of the building from the website looked more like a motel instead of a hotel. But I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the lobby and of course my room. My room was furnished with a VERY comfortable king size bed with all of the hotel amenities one could ask for--except for a refrigerator or microwave. That was ok though. What made up for it was the locality of great eateries within a 2 mile radius that I could get to. BUDDY GUY'S BLUES RESTAURANT a street or two over, a FABULOUS breakfast place--YOLK right next door to the hotel and a great Indian restaurant--INDIAN HOUSE a quick 4 minute cab ride away. I wanted to try Best Western's restaurant MEI's KITCHEN but none of their egg rolls excluded beef. Oh well, perhaps they'll have some vegetarian ones next year when I visit. In fact, I think I'll make it a point to rebook the hotel again. It was close enough to the McCormick Place for business trip but far enough away to have some down time--and you can't be the fact that Millennium Park is literally across the street. And if you are really adventurous, I was informed that one could catch either Bus Nos. 3 or 4 to get up to N. Michigan Ave. for shopping. Didn't have time to do so but I will next time upon my visit just to see the city on a budget.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    You have to try the nearby breakfast diner YOLK's Orange Bread French Toast. The entree is out of this world! I would book Best Western Hotel just to be close to this fabulous diner to try all of the other entrees. Hmmmmmm...delish!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    LibTrav
    Business
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Jul 15, 2009

    Great location for an acceptable price

    The wireless connection never worked, despite several calls to the desk. When we explained we would be parking a car for only one night despite staying longer, they did not explain that the car would have to be picked up by noon, or else they would charge us for another night's worth of parking. It was a great location, though.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    If coming or going from Union Station, there is a bus that picks up a block away from the hotel (at Michigan and Roosevelt) and goes directly to the station.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Salt Lake City
    Jul 15, 2009

    Review of Best Wester Grant Park

    Not the greatest place. It's clean, staff nice, but far removed from convention center and restaurants. No breakfast included, didn't need parking, but probably was an extra cost. I won't go there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Most dining spots were a long walk, then very limited menu choices, high prices, and food not great. Bennigans over a mile walk, but food was good and reasonable.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search