$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbthink
Business
NYC
Jul 17, 2010

Best Western Grant Park: Chicago Trip

Great location, good price, easy to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking breakfast, Yolks next door can't be beat. If you art looking for deli, Eleven around the corner is tasty. If you are looking for a delicious burger, with a great beer from great selection, then check out Hackney's on So,. Dearborn.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The phone keeps ringing
Couples
Kansas
Jul 17, 2010

Don't bother calling

Check in lines long and slow. Staff stuck to the 3PM room availability with no information update. For the first three days I called the front desk for Maintenance issues or information. They absolutely refused to answer the phone. 'We are busy.' That sums up their attitude.Very poor service, very poor risk management in case of ignored emergency. Location is great! 2.5 blocks from Orange line Roosevelt station. Clean (small) rooms. Housekeeping gets 5 stars. Maintenance also very responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millennium Park is directly across Michigan Avenue.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scroff02
Friends
Grand Blanc, Mi
Jul 13, 2010

Not bad?

When we arrived it was about check out time because we were driving in from Michigan and always try to get into the loop area before rush hour, so when we try to get our baggage checked and car valeted the line is long, customers are yelling at staff and one guys was talking about calling the police, it was craziness. However the staff did handle themselves very professional. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Champaign IL
Jul 12, 2010

The good and the bad

We went to a consert. The hotel is in a great location down town. The staff was very nice and helpful. I wish they would have told us up front about the parking however. Though it is great to have a valet service it was a little more expensive than I thought it would be. Overall it was a good experiance. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a good 30 min to get somewhere take a cab. Though there are a lot of attractions near by they are between 1 - 2 miles away.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Charles, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Matthew's B'Day Trip

Great location and most everything in walking distance. "Yolk" for breakfast right next door is great. Clean and very friendly staff. Parking reasonable for downtown Chicago $24/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great location to Shedd, museums etc. Water taxi short walk.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
68galaxie500
Family
danville il
Jul 2, 2010

Clean older hotel. Friendly staff

The hotel is a clean older building. The staff is very helpful. A quick walk across Grant Park gets you to the Field Museum,Shedd Aquarium,Adler Planetarium, and Soldier Field.There is a nice restaurant in the 1st floor. Next door is a great place to have breakfast or lunch. It is called Yolk. Around the corner, you can catch the loop out to Midway airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indiana
Jun 22, 2010

Sleepless in Chicago

I booked this room to be with in walking distance to Soldier Field and I was satisfied with the location. We were on 3rd floor two doors down from service door so we heard the door slamming open and shut all night long. We also heard all the sounds from the street. I also requested double beds and the person at the desk said if you book with 3rd party they can not guarantee your request. Pillows were flat so I asked for extra pillow and they could not acomodate that request either. Only two elevators which were very slow so long lines and wait to use those. I booked this hotel again in July but now after this experience I wish I was staying someplace else near Soldier field unfortunatley can not get another hotel at this late date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yolk restaurant next door has excellent breakfast. I highly recommend eating there.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 21, 2010

Review of BW Grant Park

The hotel was in a good location for what we were doing. The room was clean. Staff was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restaurants less than a block from hotel. Yolk and Eleven Diner.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Older, but great location

It was great to be able to go outside the front door and be right at the park, which seems to be the hub of Chicago summer life. Ideally we'd be another half mile north, but for the price it was well worth the short walk or the extra 50c for the cab ride. Strangely, our maid service was the worst I've ever had; every day we were missing more items. First it was the (bland) hotel coffee, then the towels, then the soaps, and on our last night, we had no shower curtain. I'm not sure if we upset the maid or what, but we didn't require anything outside of the normal linens to be cleaned, so I think it was just forgetfulness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park - 'nuff said.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee,WI
Jun 15, 2010

Very dirty and Noisy

The hotel looks outdated.The bathroom was cramped,dark and dirty.[...]very noisy and unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top