$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St Louis
Aug 11, 2010

Excellent location

My granddaughter and I travelled to Chicago for her 10th birthday and visited the Field Museum. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 5, 2010

Adequate Hotel

This hotel is in a perfect location for going on Columbia College tours. We also walked to Chinatown (about 10 minutes) walked to the museum campus and along the waterfront. We also walked to the Art Institute and to Navy Pier. Easy bus and train access as well. The hotel was comfortable and clean but definitely needs some love and care. The staff was very willing to help us with extra towels and parking issues. The outdoor pool is not heated and pretty run-down. It is reasonably priced and we would probably stay again for convenience and value. We had a big yummy breakfast next door at Yolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fun dinner at Buddy Guys legends barbecue and blues,we were with our teenagers (both musicians) but kids not of age can not stay to watch the live performances even with adult chaperones. We were disappointed.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ankeny, Iowa
Aug 2, 2010

Great Location...WAY CONVENIENT!!!

In town for Bon Jovi at Soldier Field and this is the closest hotel to that venue. Perfect spot to launch for ANY activity in and around Michigan Avenue. Steps away from Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Soldier Field with easy access to other methods of travel to Navy Pier and further North locales. Perfect eating spots right around the corner. Try 11 City Diner, located at 1112 South Wabash Avenue...AWESOME or try Yolk, literally right around the corner at 1120 South Michigan Avenue...THE BEST BREAKFAST EVER!!! The hotel room was small, but adequate with great views from our 9th floor spot. The pool area was disappointing, very small, but given the nature of our trip, it wasn't high on our list to have that access anyway. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The cleaning staff does not speak much English, but accomodated every request very well. Valet service was excellent. We will definitely be staying there again for our next trip to see a concert or Bears game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

11 City Diner, Yolk, and Ma&i (Thai and oriental flair)...ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KATHY BEE
Family
COVINA, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Best Western Grant park

I LIKE THE LOCATION THAT'S IT. VERY OLD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Michigan
Aug 2, 2010

NOT GOOD

Noisy train line behind hotel. Can't recline in bed to watch tv because you only get two flat small pillows and there are pictures on wall above headboard you hit with your head. Ice machine on my floor did not work the 4 days I stayed. Had to go up two floors daily for ice and up one floor for the snack food vending machines. Thin walls!! You can hear the water running and toilets flushing from rooms next to you. Whenever you asked the night or early morning desk clerks something you would get a blank stare before answering and they acted like you were bothering them. Location is not bad for walking to Grant park or Soldier Field events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Central Indiana
Aug 1, 2010

One Day Trip to Chicago

Went to Friday's (July 30th) Bon Jovi concert. The hotel didn't really impress us. It was just a place to stay after the concert. 2 other hotel chains have left us with better impressions. The hotel staff was great, the hotel itself was just lacking. Really cannot pinpoint... just an overall feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
new york,ny
Jul 31, 2010

Great location and price

Great location,nice pool and fitness center and all for a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2010

Perfect location, nice rooms & friendly

Was evacuated from home after flooding, so needed reasonably priced place to stay which was convenient to home and public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
izablsmmy030609
Couples
Detroit, MI
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent for the Tourist on the Go!!

I really enjoyed this hotel. I got there a little early (like 3 hours too soon) and the receptionist was greatly helpful. She allowed us to park our car ($24 Valet which really isn't that bad) and then helped us find a little scenic tour to kill time since we still couldn't check in yet. She did, too, upgrade our room since we had to wait, full complimentary! Beautiful view. The only bad thing I would say is that the rooms are very tiny. If you are traveling with a large group or many children I wouldn't recommend it. I think it would be too cramped for the children. But other than that, it was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the Red Line to 35/Sox and go to the White Sox game!! It's an awesome experience!! Go White Sox!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Southfield, MI
Jul 21, 2010

Good experience

We chose the Best Western because of its proximity to Shedd Aquarium and the price was very reasonable compared to other nearby hotels. We thought it was a good hotel for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be to put mini fridges in the rooms. Other than that, the room was clean and quiet. We have no complaints and will stay there again when next in Chicago. The attached restaurant is ok, not great, but there's plenty of other places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a bus pass for however long you're staying, the buses are efficient and less $ than cabs.

Back to menu Return to top