$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 30, 2010

Good Times

service was great & location was good. Had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking for me was not bad because I walk at a slow pace, for someone else they may not like the long walk. Short walk around the corner to the YOLK for breakfast, GOOD FOOD.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Good location, not so good service

We went to Chicago for the night, just to spend an exciting night away from Bloomington. The location of the hotel was exceptional. We were able to find great places to eat such as, Oysy and Yolk. We were moderately close to the "L". And we found great shopping centers close by as well. The actual hotel was missing one thing in particular, which matters a great deal to me, which is customer service. When we arrived, the front desk had us pre-register because we had arrived before the check-in time... garage pass was not offered at this time. We came back over two hours after check-in time, our room was not ready... by this time the garage was full and we couldn't park at the hotel. The man checking us in was not helpful and we were very frustrated at this point. Our room was still missing amenities when we got up to it. The thing that may redeem this place, in my eyes, is the most comfortable bed I've slept in for a long time! I got great sleep! Overall, this hotel was a good location, great bed, bad customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, KS
Sep 27, 2010

Don't Judge it By it's Cover

When approaching the hotel I wasn't sure what it would be like. But once we were inside and in our room I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the room had a great view. The location on Michigan Ave. is ideal and the hotel's proximity to the subway stations was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Grant Park across the street and there are lots of cool places to eat and see along Michigan Ave.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dj yass
Business
Oklahoma city Ok
Aug 29, 2010

not so good

The hotel itself wasn't that bad but the staff was not very friendly the rooms where to small it wasn't filthy but it definitely didn't feel clean and not enough towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

navy pier and down town fine dining shopping and just a great city.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lifter71
Business
minneapolis
Aug 24, 2010

Location great, everything else, not

Would not go back! Room smelled terrible, shower never drained, even after "fixed". Noisy and very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
revjen
Business
Indianapolis
Aug 24, 2010

Room with a view

I booked this room last minute and got a great price. We were located right across from Millenium Park. Very cool. The staff was very helpful and served to pleased. They even opened the fitness room up an hour early so I could work out on my schedule. That impressed me. Loved the location. We were able to walk to the Aquarium and enjoy the park. Navy Pier was within walking distance or we could have taken the water taxi. There were bikes to rent and the Bean to enjoy. The room was nice; beds compfy; even had view of the lake. Just an all round great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great resteruants nearby, but the best was the Dunkin donuts/Basking Robbins shop just around the corner. Made for a great late night snack and an early morning breakfast.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign, IL
Aug 21, 2010

It is fine

It is in a pretty good location which you can go to the Grand Park and the lake shore in a pretty easy way. However, the noisy equipment makes me sad and it leaded to the breaking up between my girlfriend and me in some extent, since we fight up with that in the beginning. but honestly , it is a good place to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Aug 14, 2010

Close to everything we needed

Very nice hotel. Room was a tad on the small side, but very clean. The pool was outside and not very warm (in the shade a lot), would have preferred an indoor pool. Very close to the attractions that we came to see, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, and Navy Pier, all were well within walking distance. Very good stay, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnatti's Pizza is only about 4 blocks away and is the best pizza you will ever have.

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
Aug 11, 2010

Excellent location

My granddaughter and I travelled to Chicago for her 10th birthday and visited the Field Museum. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 5, 2010

Adequate Hotel

This hotel is in a perfect location for going on Columbia College tours. We also walked to Chinatown (about 10 minutes) walked to the museum campus and along the waterfront. We also walked to the Art Institute and to Navy Pier. Easy bus and train access as well. The hotel was comfortable and clean but definitely needs some love and care. The staff was very willing to help us with extra towels and parking issues. The outdoor pool is not heated and pretty run-down. It is reasonably priced and we would probably stay again for convenience and value. We had a big yummy breakfast next door at Yolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fun dinner at Buddy Guys legends barbecue and blues,we were with our teenagers (both musicians) but kids not of age can not stay to watch the live performances even with adult chaperones. We were disappointed.

Back to menu Return to top