$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
325 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (325)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    325 out of 325
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    mrsdmj
    Business
    Cincinnati, OH, USA
    Sep 11, 2011

    Great Getaway just the two of us!

    We arrived at the Best Western@ Grant Park and it looked exactly like the picture on Orbitz! The staff was Excellent! The room was just the right size for my husband and I. The King bed was very comfy:) the Location of the hotel was Great! Close to pretty much everything. We walked everywhere for the most part! So bring your walking shoes!!! We were on a budget and let me tell you, you can not beat the value of The Best Western@ Grant Park..If you are looking to stay Downtown Chicago(and you are pinching pennies) stay here!!! P.S You do have to pay for parking (not included in the price) but it was like $24/day still cheaper than the other hotels downtown!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    mies
    Business
    New York, NY, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    as best western as all Best Westerns are. ok, a bit run-down, so not overwhelming, but sufficient..

    our experience of this hotel was ok. we think in general Best Western is always slightly over-priced for what it is.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    go on the architecture tours by the architecture foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    August26
    Business
    Appleton, WI, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    Girls Getaway

    We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    DrKay05
    Business
    Cincinnati, OH
    Sep 7, 2011

    THe beds were comfy!

    I must say, this was our first time staying at this site. The beds/bedding were very comfortable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    You are right at Grant Park.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    tamina
    Business
    Lima, Perú
    Sep 7, 2011

    Perfect location, very clean

    Perfecto location on Michigan ave, close to parks, and main attractions. Close tu bus and metro station, good value

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Yolk

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Angie DG
    Business
    St. Louis
    Sep 7, 2011

    Best Western Grant Park

    Great location! Walkable to Millenium Park, less than a mile.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Chicago Rocks
    Business
    Missouri
    Sep 6, 2011

    Nice Weekend Getaway!!

    I brought my daughter to Chicago for her 14th birthday. The location of the hotel was great!! If we didn't want to walk we could take the bus or train they were all very close to the hotel. We walked to Shedd's, the Planetarium and Field Museum then took the bus down to the Magnificent Mile for shopping and the Water Taxi to Navy Pier. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, they gave us directions upon check-in and offered assistance with anything we needed. The hotel was clean and the beds were comfy. We were disappointed with the pool, one evening we came back early to swim but the pool was loosing water and the filter wasn't working. The last morning of our stay we had no hot water - good thing we were headed to the airport. For the price paid we had a clean/comfortable place to sleep in a good location. Overall I was satisfied.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Charcharbinks
    Business
    Detroit, MI, USA
    Aug 30, 2011

    First trip to Chitown

    It was what I expected for the price. The wi-fi was average but the hotel computers were slow but its free so I can't really complain. The rooms were decent and housekeeping was very thorough. I didn't like their channel selection on the tv and the hotel staff was very slow at check in but it was crowded and they mistakenly double booked my room but they fixed it immediately. I would stay again tho.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    If you like real breakfast like eggs, pancakes, etc. eat at the hotel's resturant Mei's Kitchen. My boyfriend and I had a hard time finding nearby places that served anything other than breakfast sandwiches. One thing I didn't like about Mei's Kitchen is that it cost 2 dollars plus tax for a very small cup of anything other than water and you can't get refills.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    NEW IN CHI
    Business
    SPRINGFIELD OHIO
    Aug 25, 2011

    NEAR IT ALL

    CLOSE TO JUST ABOUT EVERY THING ,PLENTY OF CABS TO MAKE SURE. CLEAN ROOMS WITH GOOD BEDS AND NO NO NO BUGS. YOU CAN HEAR THE TRAINS EVERY FIFTEEN MINUTES BUT THE NOISE WAS NOT TOO BAD. HIGH PRICES ON FOOD IN HOTEL RESTURANT BUT THE FRIED RICE DISHES WERE WORTH IT. VERY FRIENDLY AND VERY NICE, WE REALY ENJOYED OUR STAY THERE.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    TAKE A CAB TOUR OURS WAS VERY CHEAP $20 AND WE HAD TO SAY ENOUGH, WE SAW A LOT,SOUTH, NORTH, EAST AND WEST. PLENTY OF CABS CABS AND MORE CABS.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    NEW IN CHI
    Business
    SPRINGFIELD OHIO
    Aug 25, 2011

    IT'S NEAR HERE

    GREYHOUND BUS STATION WITH TAXI CABS THE CITY WAS OURS CHEAP. WE GOT A GRAND TOUR BY CAB FOR $20.WE HAD TO SAY ENOUGH. FOOD IN THE HOTEL WAS GREAT BEST FISH FRIED RICE DISH. GOOD BED CLEAN ROOM AND NO NO NO BUGS. WE LOVED IT. HAD FREE UPGRADE.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    STAY THERE USE CABS HAVE FUN.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top