$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
322 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (322)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    322 out of 322
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    psl5897
    Dorr, MI, USA
    Oct 20, 2011

    Couple getaway

    The hotel was in the perfect location for visiting the planatarium and the Shedd Aquarium and perfect for walking to and from the Amtrak Station. We thought for the price they could have been a bit classier but overall we were very pleased with our stay and the courteousness of the staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    the restuarant in the hotel has a very nice breakfast.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Another Rob
    Cary, NC, USA
    Oct 16, 2011

    Good value

    We stayed 4 nights and were very satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent. Would've been nice to have a fridge in the room, or a working ice-maker on our floor; but all-in-all this was a good value for the money.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Buy a 3 or 7 day CTA pass to take unlimited bus & train rides. If you don't mind walking an extra block now & then, you'll save by not taking so many taxis.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Bidwell
    Business
    New York
    Oct 13, 2011

    Great Value

    This hotel is a great value. I got a recently renovated room, new carpeting, furnishings and bed. Room was immaculately clean.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jrballet
    Rocklin, CA, USA
    Oct 12, 2011

    What a location!

    The location was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived, I was impressed by the service and professionalism at the Best Western. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was standard, but clean and quiet and I felt safe and comfortable. I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Superb access to The Field Museum, The Shedd Aquarium and The Adler Planetarium. Lovely, safe walk across the street and through the park.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    AdvisorBob
    Beaverton, OR, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    Clean, Older Facility, Good Location

    Very Clean but the hotel could use some updating. Good location right on Michigan Ave across from Grant park. Within walking distance of Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field. Michigan is the main thorough fare in Chicago so if you don't want to take Cabs, the Bus will take you anywhere you need to go.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    signwork2
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    It's a convient place to stay, but WiFi is useless

    This hotel may be the best value on the Magnificent Mile. Just step right out and catch the bus. Or a cab will get you to everything down in a few short minutes. The location makes up for the somewhat claustrophobic and dated feel of the building interior. Yet the rooms are fine and the staff is always helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant on the ground floor is good and has a bar. Don't forget the full buffet breakfast, which is not complementary. I visited few places to eat within walking distance to mix things up. This would be my go-to hotel for every Chicago trip if the WiFi connection was any good. They have a few connection points throughout the building and I'm not sure any of them work well. It can be a struggle to just check your email.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    kindel
    Business
    Austin, TX, USA
    Sep 29, 2011

    It was nice.

    It was nice. Great location and friendly staff. Overall A+!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    PackerFan
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Sep 16, 2011

    Not great for allergies

    I was in town for a conference and the city was at a very high occupancy. This was a last minute choice and I had limited options. I may be a bit of a hotel snob, but I have not stayed at a hotel that allows smoking for some time. When I checked in I was told it was a smoking room and I had no option to move. If you have allergies, buyer beware. The rooms have seen there better days and need a major update. The 2nd day of my stay I recieved an upgrade to a room which had been updated and it was much nicer (3 Star). The location is good an easy cab ride to my conference an all Mag Mile shopping.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    I had breakfast at Yolk and Dinner at 11 Chicago Deli. Both offered great food in a nice atmosphere at a good value. Check them out!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    mrsdmj
    Cincinnati, OH, USA
    Sep 11, 2011

    Great Getaway just the two of us!

    We arrived at the Best Western@ Grant Park and it looked exactly like the picture on Orbitz! The staff was Excellent! The room was just the right size for my husband and I. The King bed was very comfy:) the Location of the hotel was Great! Close to pretty much everything. We walked everywhere for the most part! So bring your walking shoes!!! We were on a budget and let me tell you, you can not beat the value of The Best Western@ Grant Park..If you are looking to stay Downtown Chicago(and you are pinching pennies) stay here!!! P.S You do have to pay for parking (not included in the price) but it was like $24/day still cheaper than the other hotels downtown!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    August26
    Appleton, WI, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    Girls Getaway

    We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search