$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
474 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (474)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    474 out of 474
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.7

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    EXOEXO
    Chicago, Il
    Sep 18, 2013

    Great Lake View room

    It's so nice to have a lake view room. The hotel has a great location and we see the fireworks at night and sunrise in the morning!!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Man Traveller
    Connecticut, USA
    Jan 24, 2012

    Worst Best Western I've stayed in.

    Only thing going for this hotel is its location, although the room was clean and had a great view. On arrival, the room was cold. I turned up the heat on the a/c heating unit and left. I arrived back around 22h00, the room was slightly warmer but still cold. I slept poorly and complained to the clerk at the desk in the morning when I left. She said they would have it attended to. I arrived back late in the evening exhausted and the room was still cold. I should have asked for another room but I stuck it out because of the great view. Third day I arrived back at the room just before midnight just to find there was no electricity in the room. Went down stairs and the front desk got hold of maintenance who came and reset the circuit breaker. Next day I came back early in the evening and found all the face cloths had been removed. On my way out I told the front desk who had house keeping drop off "literally dumped 3 on the sink". I brought with me my own coffee, milk & sweeteners but had to break open the hotel supplied packs for the stirrers. Never were they replaced. Hotel does not offer meals of any sort, but do have vending machines on alternate floors that were always mostly empty but did have real junk stuff - candies. Perhaps the real food was gone by my late returns. I did find some cookies in one machine. This hotel does not do justice to the Best Western Franchise organization, sorry.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mexie
    Business
    Rochester Hills, MI, USA
    Jan 18, 2012

    Good location

    The staff was way beyond what was expected. We had a great time. i will return again next time we go to Chicago. Well recommanded.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Uno's Best Pizza in the world!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Kiss
    Indiana
    Jan 4, 2012

    Everything is good except the wifi..

    lots of wifi names and they cannot connected at all! front desk people are not nice. the cleanning staff are very generous!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Derr
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Dec 28, 2011

    Not bad for the price and location.

    The location at this hotel was ideal for downtown Chicago and the price wasn't bad either. We were central to everything in the city, my only complaint was that there was a bit of black mold in the shower ceiling, nothing substantial but it should definitely be looked at. The staff was friendly and made a solid effort to accommodate us.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    JMM2008
    CA
    Dec 22, 2011

    Great getaway!

    The location was perfect!! The staff was extremely accommodating. Noise level in the hall woke us up both mornings we stayed. Upgrades to the bathrooms would be nice. Continental breakfast would be nice. Or even just some free coffee and fruit for those in an early morning rush.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ambar
    Boston, MA, USA
    Dec 13, 2011

    Excellent Location and pretty cheap

    Excellent Location and pretty cheap. I would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    bobbirn
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Dec 11, 2011

    Nothing special

    the accomodations here were adequate. It was not too far from bus lines (but that's a different story), but there was no shuttle fr om the airport at 8pm, and the cab ride was $45. However, once there, they were quick to respond to needs. There was no continental breakfast served, but there was a restaurant that served good food, though not cheap, next to it, and there was a coffee pot in the room. Overall, an average, but no better, stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Joe and Sara
    PA
    Dec 11, 2011

    Awesome Location

    Went to a Bears game and could not have had a better location. Short walk to Soldier Field. Staff very friendly!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Texas guy
    Business
    Dallas, TX
    Dec 9, 2011

    Decent place for the price

    Small tiny gym not really good for any kind of serious workout if that's what you're looking for. Pool was closed for season when I got there so can't tell on that. The biggest issue was the ANNOYINGLY SLOW INTERNET. It was free but terribly terribly slow and would go in and out. Also, no continental breakfast if that's what you are expecting. Otherwise, room was fine and clean. Pretty normal.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    jimnj
    princeton, new jersey
    Dec 6, 2011

    ok place to stay

    good staff older rooms but at least they're clean enough. not worth staying unless there's a good deal basicly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Back to menu Return to top