$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ale37gq
Couples
Heredia, Costa Rica
Jun 30, 2013

Nice family getaway

We actually had a great time at the hotel in Chicago downtown. The only discomforting experience was our delayed flight of three ours from Atlanta to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with a baby
Family
Iowa
Jul 28, 2012

Good location, good price, old facility

The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and facilities are old, which are OK given its location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tusa grandma
Family
tulsa,Ok.
Jul 20, 2012

chicago getaway

I was dissatified with the hotel..the rooms were too small,especially the bathroom w/it's musty smell.The halls were narrow w/old smelly carpet.The walls were so bad,I could hear people in the other rooms. The staff on the other hand were friendly and helpful. Bottom line...not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RnR Lover
Family
Fargo, ND
Jul 15, 2012

Disappointing stay

Given our positive experience with other Best Western hotels, we proceeded with booking a reservation here. The location is really good (walking distance from the museum campus), but everything else is not. The staff are not particularly helpful. We had requested a crib. The front desk staff said they would get back to us about that, but never did. The room quality is poor, fit for a motel, not a hotel. The paint needed upkeep (water damaged bathroom ceiling) and cleanliness was sorely missing (even in the lobby). The housekeeping staff did a fair job (sometimes missed conditioner or a towel). If all you care about is some shelter for the night this hotel would fit the bill, however look elsewhere for a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singer2
Couples
Hartford, Wisconsin
Jul 1, 2012

Friendly staff and close to the Museum Campus.

When we arrived at the hotel we found out that their valet parking was full. The staff was apologetic and told us where we could park right in the same block for less! They were friendly, helpful and accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable and within walking distance of the Field Museum & Shed Aquarium. We really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
natalies
Family
Addison, IL
Jun 18, 2012

Spring Awakening

Fairly close to soldier field, where I was and needed to be this weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dinodad
Family
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jun 11, 2012

Our big weekend!

Our second trip to this hotel! The first was back in the winter, but it was in the 50s and 60s and walking to were we needed to go was not a problem. A great location if you are bringing kids! We dropped off our extra bags at the hotel before check in and went right to the Field museum! You are barely a half mile away from the Museum Campus (Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium (another destination of ours) and the Adler Planetarium). There is only one busy street to cross to get to the Museum Campus - the rest is all parkway with wide open paths and plenty of shade for those hot summer days - watch out for the cyclists! I also think that the in hotel restaurant - Mei's Kitchen - is underated! The food is good, the staff is very friendly, and they are very accomidating of young children - plus because it's not some trendy place to go - seating is quick which is good with young children. I think the one big drawback is that if you are a light sleeper, the hotel is right on Michigan Ave and there is plenty of traffic even at night. Other than that, the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the room was what we needed, and the location is hard to beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

cross the street right in front of the hotel and you have no other busy streets to cross to get to the lakefront and all of the excitement that the Museum Campus has to offer for lots of family fun time!

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sffor1
Business
mount pleasant Iowa
May 29, 2012

Loved the room

I had a corner room. I Ioved it!! I will be staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super12345
Family
Iowa
May 21, 2012

Ok Stay

It's a good price for Chicago, and the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
s.traveller
Business
dearborn, Michigan
May 14, 2012

not good

Horrible. The WIFI is bad. Spiders at the roof. Electricity went off. Toilet flusher was broke and it took a day to fix it. It was not quite. The only thing good is the location and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul writes a review
Business
Chicago, IL
May 14, 2012

It's a hotel

More like a dorm than a hotel actually. If I were a student at Columbia College next door, I would be VERY enthusiastic about having free wifi that is spotty at best, cable on an old TV, a pool, and maids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast at Yolk next door. Definitely one of the best breakfast spots in the city

Back to menu Return to top