$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

3 stars
View map of 125 W Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654-7168

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
95 reviews
Best Friend Birthday Weekend

Excellent location and perfect hotel services. Will definitely visit again. See full review

  • Try New Things
  • May 21, 2015
Awesome Family Trip

This hotel more than met our expectations. I had never been to Chicago before and had no idea where... See full review

  • Vicki F.
  • Apr 7, 2015
Experience the Windy City from a convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Willis Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago Best Western is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. Business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel. The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed, contemporary rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO®, high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. Find out why we have been awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence when you book your stay at the BEST WESTERN River North Hotel! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN River North Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN River North Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,WORK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2ND2DB,LIVSFB,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,WORK
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PREMRM,HISPD,SOFBED,REFRIG
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,PREMRM,HISPD,SOFBED,REFRIG
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,DLXRM,SOFBED,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBACC,BATHTB,PREMRM,SOFBED,NSMK
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,DLXRM,SOFBED,REFRIG,HISPD
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,1BDRM,SEPSOF,REFRIG,HISPD

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Porters
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi

Dining

Ed Debevics' 50's style diner
.01 mile(s) from Ed Debevics' 50's style diner, a Chicago tradition you just can't miss
Hard Rock Cafe
Across the street from Hard Rock Cafe, You won't have to walk far to check out the great rock and roll memorabilia.
House of Blues
0.20 mile(s) from House of Blues, now opened in Chicago. This great Blues Club owned by Belushi and Ackroyd
The Cheesecake Factory
0.10 mile(s) from The Cheesecake Factory, Water Tower Place and Maggiano's are 1 block from the BEST WESTERN PLUS River North Hotel and offer excellent family oriented dining with cuisine that can't be beat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Sep 16, 2009

Best Western River North Hotel

The room was in poor condition. There was an ash tray and matches in the room which was supposed to be non-smoking. The room was dirty and we would not recommend it to anyone. To sum it up, it was a dump. The only thing about it that was positive was the parking on premises. You should take this one off of your list or rate it with a half star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrey Shcherbinin
Business
Wichita, KS
Jun 2, 2009

Best Western River North Hotel Chicago

I opened the room that was smoke free and it smelled like a smokers paradise. I had a freezing shower in the morning. I waited 5 minutes with water running and it still was freezing. So it was terrible. If you can do something to reimburse me at least some of it i would appreciate it. The main dissapointment was freezing shower in the morning since i had to take a long flight right after and i didnt get to shower since it was so freezing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MtB Arch
Business
Ohio
Dec 31, 2013

Horrible Experience

We arrived at the hotel around 11PM and since the hotel offers free parking, we asked the parking attendant if we have to park our car or he has to. He was eating something and he didn't even bother leaving his seat and stop eating. He just showed us the lobby in a way that he didn't want us there, he was showing the lobby and he was like "go.... there.....". The guy at the lobby was nice however I asked him about the parking situation as well, since the hotel is located in downtown, the parking spots are like a maze. So I asked the guy questions like "Where do I park?", etc. And he said that the parking attendant would help us and answer our questions. I am guessing he didn't know the way parking attendant "helps" the customers. So after dealing with the parking attendant's one-word answers and smelly food, he took our keys and parked the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to save time on checking in and parking, just leave your car in front of the parking attendant's booth, go inside, check in and then come back. If you try to ask the attendant what to do, you'll waste at least 15 minutes of your time.

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mappo
Business
Minnesota
May 6, 2014

Decent quality for the price

The staff was friendly. There was a nice heated pool up on the top floor with a deck overlooking the city. We really enjoyed the deck. I called down to the front desk to see if we could get a roll away bed and they said it was going to cost $20 total for 2 nights. I thought that was absurd being that roll aways are usually free but I wasnt about to argue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If driving into Chicago I suggest this hotel because of the free parking aspect.

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sorry to leave Chicago
Business
Hartford, CT
Jul 28, 2011

Close but no cigar...

Close to everything in the city! HOWEVER, bring your ear plugs. We were awake most of the night listening to conversations in other rooms, people walking on the floor above, the ice machine and vending machines being used, and the air conditioner turning off and on. The good news is the air conditioner, while on, masked most of the other noise. Be careful while choosing a temp for the shower - anyone flushing a toilet in the hotel will zap your water pressure and scald you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati's is a short walk and has the best deep dish Chicago pizza in the city. We tried several others but loved this one.

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 2, 2010

Good enough

I was attending a conference in Chicago when I stayed at the Best Western. The room and bathroom were really small, but I guess good enough for just me. There was a strange smell in the hotel and I could hear people walking around in the rooms above me. I also think it was overpriced for what I was getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a walgreens a very short distance from me so when I forgot a bunch of things it was helpful for me.

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
abg
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 13, 2009

good location

booked room with 2 double beds to accomodate 4 people, arrived at hotel and that type room was not available, we were given a suite with 1 king bed, 1 pull out bed and 1 cot. the pull out bed and cot were very uncomfortable and on the last day the pull out bed broke. we requested a cot be brought to our room but none arrived therefore leaving one person to sleep on a broken pull out bed. not impressed. the hotel website also advertised continental breakfast which consisted only of coffee and a granola bar, again not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 29, 2010

the good and the bad

The hotel was just o.k. For $159.00 I expected a nicer place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be prepared to do alot of walking

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, il
Jun 17, 2010

Great Location and Free Parking!

Great location for business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Detroit Funk
Business
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Jul 12, 2014

Self-Serve Hotel Only Do Not Expect Assistance!

The staff at this hotel was not helpful. Our interactions with the staff confused us and made us uncomfortable. The parking lot attendant would not tell us where to put our car while we checked in- he basically shrugged his shoulders. My husband who has undergone back surgery carried our bags up to the third floor because no one from the front desk bothered assist him even after he asked. This hotel is absolutely NOT handicap excessable!!! No ramps, elevader is up the stairs and too small to accommodate a wheelchair. It was very difficult for my husband and I to get my child's stroller in and out of the building. I asked the front desk/ consierge about transportation to Navy Pier. They directed me to a Free Trolley, but didn't bother to explain that it did not run until 10 which was a good hour and a half later. Location of the hotel was good, but for the price I paid for this room I would not expect luxary, but at least a professional and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top