$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

3 stars
View map of 125 W Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654-7168

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lineman
Business
milan il
May 11, 2010

enjoyable stay

Great hotel.Very clean.Freshly painted.Free parking was great too.I will stay here again. Front desk staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A guy in Cleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 15, 2010

Good Value Nice Location

Second stay at this hotel, it's a great value and offers some features that other hotels in chicago don't, such as free parking and a restaurant. It is a few blocks off of Michigan ave so it is cheaper but is still within walking distance of the loop and river north attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't drive you can take the Blue Line from O'hare to Clark station which is 4-5 blocks south of the hotel. Get a 3 or 7 day CTA pass at the terminal in O'hare, 7 day costs $23 and works on all trains and buses in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 12, 2010

Great location!

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it is in a great location for downtown Chicago. It is in walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Millenium Park and theatres. The room cost also includes parking which is a rare find downtown and the parking is on site, not at a lot across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake's GD
Business
Columbus, Indiana
Mar 20, 2010

Outstanding!

Loved the location! Easy walk to great restaurants. Free parking. My wife, daughter, grandson and I visited Chinatown, the Hancock Building, Museum of Science and Industry and the Natural History Museum. Also visited the Aquarium and Planetarium. A great Spring Break for us. This was our 57th Anniversary and it couldn't have been been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit Portellos. The McDonalds is well worth a visit also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of oldtimers
Business
S. Bend, IN
Mar 16, 2010

Good for the Price

We were taking an overnight vacation, wanted something downtown so we could see the attractions, but not expensive. This hotel fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cubmistress
Business
Mishawaka, IN
Mar 14, 2010

Great location, great price!

Stayed at the hotel overnight because of late night concert at the House of Blues. Hotel was in walking distance (maybe 6-8 blocks) from House of Blues. In a block distance is a McDonald's, Walgreen's, Hard Rock Cafe, Rain Forest Cafe, Rosatti's Pizza, and the Ohio House restaurant (great breakfast value!). Hotel was clean and quiet and easy to access in the wee hours of the morning. Great Price for downtown Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roscoe, IL
Nov 2, 2009

Unbeatable price for the locations

I love the fact that parking is free. The last time we went to dinner in Chicago we paid $49.00 to park! We walked to the Magnificent Mile, Division St., and Old Town area for dinner and back--no cabs. The rooms are in good shape--the halls are a little shabby but all is clean. The parking attendants were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salpicon is a little known Mexican Restaurant with unique offerings like Rick Bayless's places but easier to get in to. 1215 N. Wells (.93 of a mile from the hotel). It was a nice walk especially after dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad visiting
Business
Salt Point, New York
Oct 23, 2009

One less worry on a trip to a new city

On a first visit to any city there is a bit of trepidation. However, the accomodations for my trip to Chicago were never an issue. The location was easily found as well as located nearby all the areas I needed and wanted to see in the three days I was there. With only one exception the staff was ready to offer explanations and advice with a smile that was genuine. Someone has coveyed to them that guests should be treated and spoken to as if they were a favorite uncle. A pat on the back for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

To find your bearings it was easy once I had a "grid' established of Grant Park, Water Tower , LaSalle and Ohio ( where the hotel is found) Union Station and the River Walkway. From that core area distances could be estimated and 'other'locations gotten to with a bit of help from a previewed map. ( not wishing to be touristy and carry one out in site as you walk around).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cosyne traveller
Business
baltimore md
Oct 22, 2009

Good!

Just what I expected. A good, clean room. Nothing fancy but I was a happy customer. Much appreciated was the free WiFi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob and Jan
Business
Topeka, Kansas
Oct 11, 2009

Great weekend getaway

Location is perfect for a walk to the pier, millinium park, willis tower and the miracle mile. The staff very pleasant, parking attendant was a pro, it's a comfortable feeling that your vehicle is in a safe and looked after location. Room was very comfortable, roomy, easy to get to, was steet side and it was quiet. Beds were comfortable. When we schedule a trip we will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe just across the steet, good food. Many more to choose from. I consider two miles a short walk so google it and esimate if too far for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top