$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
311 reviews
Convenient Stay

The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING! This hotel is very clean. This hotel seems committed to... See full review

  • Weary Traveler Family
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel

Great location. Great staff. Decor of the hotel is extremely unique. Great free wine hour! See full review

  • WTraveler2
  • Jul 19, 2014
The belle of Chicago's theater district
When Broadway shows comes to town, the Hotel Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first place that comes to mind for lodging. The Cadillac Palace Theater sparkles as brilliantly as its marquee with tasteful rooms in the heart of the Loop. Theatrical drama comes to life in every corner, including the lobby’s three-story staircase where a baby grand piano sits against a bright palette of reds, oranges and greens. Business travelers find its location equally attractive -- it’s just a few blocks from the Board of Trade and Mercantile Exchange.
Highlights
  • In the heart of the Loop near State Street, financial district and Magnificent Mile
  • Broadway shows on site at the Cadillac Palace Theater
  • Evening wine hours hosted in hotel’s living room
  • In-room spa services and Aveda bath products
  • Pet-friendly hotel
Rooms
Rooms at the Hotel Allegro Chicago are both glamorous and futuristic. Royal blue headboards pop against stark white linens and complement bursts of yellow color in the forms of lamp shades and bolsters. Rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and Aveda bath products.
Features
The Hotel Allegro Chicago may have been built in 1932, but its policies have evolved with modern times. Today, its green practices mean no plastic or Styrofoam cups are used, all meeting documents are printed on recycled paper and cleaning products are all eco-friendly.

Pet lovers, rejoice: This pet-friendly hotel has dedicated premier king guest rooms just for you and your four-legged friends. Pets are also welcomed with a treat plus food and water bowls to use during their stay.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.4 mi/24.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (Washington/Wells) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cadillac Palace Theater (next door)
  • Chicago Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wacker Drive (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • State Street (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms covering 14,000 square feet
  • On site 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Comprehensive multimedia and audio/visual support

Hotel Map

41.8845 -87.6332
Area served
CHI-Chicago
Nearby airports
ORD-O`Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, NW, Mile; MDW-Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, S, Mile
Area description
City, Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite
King Suite
King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.
Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 311
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekender520
nwi
Jun 19, 2014

bluesfest weekend trip

Small room. Staff was perfect. Amenities great. Short distance from millennium station. Couldn't ask for anything better for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Cadillac palace theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSPTJM
Lansing, Michigan
May 18, 2014

Noisy neighbors

Both the nights we stayed, the rooms next to ours were very noisy. Complaints were made and the way it was handled was not right. After speaking with hotel management off and on the following week, we were provided 2 nights free in our choice of a deluxe room. The manager was very apologetic and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very tired Jo
Michigan
Apr 28, 2014

Sleepless

The room was VERY small, but clean. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean. As for the noise level, well lets just say I went there with my husband and friends for a fun relaxing weekend and I got NO sleep at all. I had to call the front desk at least 4 times, because the people in the hallway and in the room next to us were up partying until 5am, yes I said 5am. When I went down Sunday morning to check out all the MANAGER said was that he was sorry, but he could do NOTHING for me because it was paid by third party, unless I wanted some food, oh and next time I stay there he will up grade my room. Well I was so tired I couldn't think of eating and I was there on vacation which I don't get very offend so chances of me staying there again and him working there at the same time are ZERO. So I guess they made out just fine and I had a sleepless expensive "vacation". I book a lot of room for staff and clients where I work and Allergo will definitely be taken OFF the list of possible hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless and grumpy
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Thin walls & noisy neighbors

There were a couple rooms on my floor that were very loud all night both nights of our stay. Despite complaining to the front desk both nights we got very little sleep. The walls are very thin and you can hear it all from your neighbors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie song
chicago
Apr 3, 2014

small bathroom

bathroom is a little bit small, its clean, but a little hard to turn around in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aces68
Chicago Illinois
Feb 17, 2014

Outstanding

I am from Chicago and had friends in for the theater and thought it would be easier to stay downtown. This hotel is perfect for a quick stay. Clean rooms, quiet and the staff are great. Located in the theater district and everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lross
Chicago
Jan 20, 2014

Birthday weekend getaway

I have not traveled in a very long time. I joined a group of friends for a celebration weekend in Chicago. One of our group researched hotels and found the best deal for the weekend we traveled. While the weather was definitely not, the hotel staff was extremely warm. The decor was very inviting, stylish and very comfortable. When I visit again... And I will quaint again... I will definitely look into this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dim Sum in Chinatown is a wonderfully culture-immersing experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lola super woman
Illinois
Dec 30, 2013

girls getaway

Fantastic girls getaway with shopping and rest and relaxation. Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ISU friends
Crystal Lake, IL
Dec 9, 2013

Great Hotel

It was a great room. The lobby is gorgeous. The location was great. The free hot chocolate in the morning was really poor, but otherwise it was fantastic. I would definitely go back/recommend it to friends - just make sure you go out for breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thrifty weekend traveler
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2013

Girls weekend

My mom, sister and I stayed at Hotel Allegro for a girls weekend and were very happy with our choice. It was a convenient location (but off from the main drag) and the hotel staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the "wine hour", free bike rental, and coffee/tea in the morning. We even took advantage of the complimentary toiletries that the Allegro offers in the event that you forget something - a makeup mirror was brought right up to us when needed :). The only thing I would have loved to have had in the room was a full length mirror. With 3 girls getting ready, that was needed. We have and definitely will recommend this hotel to others traveling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search