$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
318 reviews
Great/ Clean

The hotel was clean and very warming. The decorations and various sitting areas made it fun to... See full review

  • AmyMae
  • Nov 24, 2014
A very attractive small hotel

Nicely located, exceptionally good service and friendly, welcoming staff. Our new favorite hotel in... See full review

  • Union Jack
  • Oct 7, 2014
This historic hotel was built in the 1920's with an art deco interior design, With the celebrity red-carpet treatment from the headset-wearing doormen to the chic "Living Room" lobby, the Allegro inspires guests to Be A Star. The "Living Room" plush velvet and velour furniture set the stage for the Hosted Evening Wine Reception and the morning's coffee bar, which serves Italian roast coffee, espresso and delicious baked goodies. Other amenities include valet laundry, complimentary overnight shoeshine, 24-hour business and fitness center, room service, valet parking, and a full-service concierge. The pet-friendly hotel welcomes pets with a treat plus food and water dishes to use during their stay. Walking services are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room
King Suite
King Suite

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood
312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 318
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan Jill Erin
Business
Clive, Iowa
Nov 23, 2014

Business trip with theater fun

The hotel is located in the Chicago Theater District - next door to the Cadillac Theater. There are several good restaurants in the area and easy access to shopping at the Michigan Avenue stores. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Randolph Tavern BBQ

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
convention traveler
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2014

Cool Hotel, Small Rooms

Hotel is very Modern and Hip. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was SUPER friendly and the hotel is in a great location. Easy to get to a lot of places. The rooms appear much bigger online than in person. The bathrooms are big enough to almost fit 1 person in them at a time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Drinks 5-6pm in Lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Union Jack
Business
New York, NY
Oct 7, 2014

A very attractive small hotel

Nicely located, exceptionally good service and friendly, welcoming staff. Our new favorite hotel in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WTraveler2
Business
Fargo ND
Jul 19, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Great staff. Decor of the hotel is extremely unique. Great free wine hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenbmc
Business
La, ca
Jul 11, 2014

Great stay in Chicago!

I have stayed here twice and I have really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladylux
Business
Chicago suburbs, IL
Jul 9, 2014

Lovely happy hour

Happy hour was a happening place with wine, sangria and craft beer. The lobby quickly converted to a full-blown cocktail party. Hotel was conveniently located to theater events. Room was pleasant and comfortable at reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jusstacia
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Some basic issues, but not terrible

- No coffee maker in rooms, but there is free coffee in the lobby from 6am to 10am. Heck, even Hampton Inn has free coffee 24 hours a day. - Elevators during "rush hours" are incredibly slow. We once waited 8 minutes in the morning. Going down is worse than going up. - We could hear every word from our neighbors from our bathroom. The train was noticeable, but not too loud. Our room was near the elevator but couldn't hear it. That's one good thing. - Our room keys stopped working while we were out on our second day. So, after a long day out and a long elevator wait, we couldn't get in our room. Very frustrating. - Mini fridge is unlocked but full of stuff with no prices listed. I'm assuming none of it was free. - Free wine hour is nice, but not like other semi-luxury hotel wine hours. It's Woodbridge. - The hotel bar and a few others nearby were closed at 11pm on a Thursday. Had to walk to Monk's Pub. 7-11 on the same block has beer and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Pub is the only bar open (on a weeknight) within about 5 blocks for late night drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
latica
Business
missouri
Jun 30, 2014

sailer

the room pillows were not confortable, room is real small, bathroom is too small, the only good thing is the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnatis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosey D
Business
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Jun 23, 2014

Chicago trip

The Allegro was a nice hotel, decor was different, but nice. Our only two complaints - the bathroom was very tiny - never saw a hotel bathroom that tiny. The cost was high considering the amenities, however the location of the hotel was very good. Just down from the shows we were in town to see. Overall - we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walks to a lot of shopping, restaurants and shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Theater Goers
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Great Place in the Theater District!

The room was small but the most comfortable bed ever -- conveniently located in the heart of the Theater District, we could walk about everywhere we needed to get to including the Oriental Theater to see Motown the Musical -- the Encore Bar at the hotel was a lot of fun-- the hotel staff was very friendly and courteous -- a really good value -- we will go out of our way to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top