$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
318 reviews
Great/ Clean

The hotel was clean and very warming. The decorations and various sitting areas made it fun to... See full review

  • AmyMae
  • Nov 24, 2014
A very attractive small hotel

Nicely located, exceptionally good service and friendly, welcoming staff. Our new favorite hotel in... See full review

  • Union Jack
  • Oct 7, 2014
This historic hotel was built in the 1920's with an art deco interior design, With the celebrity red-carpet treatment from the headset-wearing doormen to the chic "Living Room" lobby, the Allegro inspires guests to Be A Star. The "Living Room" plush velvet and velour furniture set the stage for the Hosted Evening Wine Reception and the morning's coffee bar, which serves Italian roast coffee, espresso and delicious baked goodies. Other amenities include valet laundry, complimentary overnight shoeshine, 24-hour business and fitness center, room service, valet parking, and a full-service concierge. The pet-friendly hotel welcomes pets with a treat plus food and water dishes to use during their stay. Walking services are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room
King Suite
King Suite

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood
312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very tired Jo
Business
Michigan
Apr 28, 2014

Sleepless

The room was VERY small, but clean. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean. As for the noise level, well lets just say I went there with my husband and friends for a fun relaxing weekend and I got NO sleep at all. I had to call the front desk at least 4 times, because the people in the hallway and in the room next to us were up partying until 5am, yes I said 5am. When I went down Sunday morning to check out all the MANAGER said was that he was sorry, but he could do NOTHING for me because it was paid by third party, unless I wanted some food, oh and next time I stay there he will up grade my room. Well I was so tired I couldn't think of eating and I was there on vacation which I don't get very offend so chances of me staying there again and him working there at the same time are ZERO. So I guess they made out just fine and I had a sleepless expensive "vacation". I book a lot of room for staff and clients where I work and Allergo will definitely be taken OFF the list of possible hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 5, 2009

The Bad and the really ugly

The restaurant food was very expensive and not very good. The room were exceptionally small. there were no dressers in the room. No coffee pot or teas. The TV only had numbers you had to call the desk to find out where cbs and abc was. The clock radio you had to call the engineer to show you how to work it. I travel a lot and this and the holiday inn are my least favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 15, 2011

Hotel Allegro disaster

[...]The room was small--no 220 sq ft. There was no ice on our floor. Worst of all after our return at 11 pm there was a wild headbanging party at the end of the hall. After 2 1/2 hrs of dealing with his and obviously no hotel intervention I went to the desk and complained. They said they had gotten many complaints---well why didn't they do anything. Security finally went up and they still did not quiet down. We had to move at 1:30 am--then the room next door woke up at 7 am and talked and laughed so loudly we couldn't stand it. When we checked out I told the staff person who could not issue any credit because of prepaying. What a disasterous Valentine's Day celebration. This hotel does not have enough insulation or space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stuff all over Make early reservations for Petterinos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, In
Nov 21, 2009

Dirty Cheap

Doorman did not realize we arrived... Valet was slow to take the car... Chekon gave me a room on a low floor when I asked for a high floor. Lobby looked cool in pictures but was cheap. Room and bathroom was filthy. Bad location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sundi
Business
Davenport, IA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

not what I expected

Other than the decent rate and very helpful staff, there were few redeeming things about this hotel. Parking was $45 a day(in and out), the room was the size of a large closet, and the room decor was migraine inducing. Great example of good in theory, but terrible in reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller xxx
Business
Charlottesville
Apr 16, 2013

Not recommended

A tired hotel, barley inside the "Loop". A 90 years old building (hotel?) with a lousy attempt of an out of date not recent modern renovation. Small rooms with very small bathrooms. Standard amenities such as coffee maker, shower cap.. are not provided in the room, you have to call the front desk to supply! Expensive parking off the premises ($51 per night). Except for the nice spacious lobby, this hotel should not be rates 4 Stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Welltraveled teacher
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2014

No closet? No dresser? Lost personal items=no thanks!

Beautiful lobby area and great location.Upon check-in, a bellman lost a personal item. No one seemed to know if I was to fill out a form, talk to a manager, or what. Also, room key didn't work and had to go down to front desk and wait in line to get it redone. Finally towards end of stay, a manager came to our room with a form I had to fill out. Upon check out, there was no note of the incident on my bill, and a 54$ dining charge which I didn't incur. I wasn't even in the hotel the date of the charge! They took the dining charge off, but really? Good and bad-, my King sized bed was in a tiny room, so small it didn't even have a dresser or a closet to store my clothes. (I had booked the room for a week- lots of clothes.) I asked if I could have a room with one, and luckily, one was found for me at no additional charge. No offer was made to move my bags to the new room, although I'm not sure I would have trusted them with anyone at that point. While this is all well and good, Why give me such an embarrassment of a room to begin with? I've stayed at everything from the red roof to the ritz, and for the price/experience/location, the room size was ridiculous. The second room still didn't have a dresser, but was doable. Hotels in older buildings typically have rooms on the small side, and Kimpton makes up for this often with other amenities, such as happy hour, and high end soaps, but my first room should be called an efficiency at best. Still waiting for the check on the personal item. I'll update my review at that time. But regardless, I won't be staying at a Kimpton hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Jun 9, 2009

Mil from Mich

Location was lovely. Easy to get to from O'Hare. Jump on the "L" there and back for $4.00. Clark/Lake Street exit, up the stairs, left one block and another left, one block. Room and bathroom very small, but clean and comfortable. No coffee in the room and buying coffee in the lobby, after a night in the city....not pleasant. Also the temperature in the room resets in the morning to 68 F. So be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 15, 2011

Good value

Great staff that accommodated a late night room change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cormac
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Just Okay

When pulling up to the Allegro I was shocked that the parking rate per day for a car was $50.00 a day! We normally do not have a car with us, so this was a HUGE shock! We just had come from South Bend/Notre Dame where the parking was $5.00 for the entire weekend! We have stayed at the Palarmo, another Kimpton property and LOVED it. Besides the free wine at 5:00 there wasn't anywhere in the hotel to get a cocktail earlier than 5. I would probably look elsewhere when booking another trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a great burger at the Stocks and Blondes right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top