$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
323 reviews
Business trip

this was a wonderful place right in the heart of the city, so can walk to tons of great restaurants... See full review

  • Alaina N.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great Location and Friendly Staff

The hotel is very close to subway station, and it is very convenient to hang out :) Also the staff... See full review

  • pheeebs1357
  • Jan 14, 2015
The belle of Chicago's theater district
When Broadway shows comes to town, the Hotel Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first place that comes to mind for lodging. The Cadillac Palace Theater sparkles as brilliantly as its marquee with tasteful rooms in the heart of the Loop. Theatrical drama comes to life in every corner, including the lobby’s three-story staircase where a baby grand piano sits against a bright palette of reds, oranges and greens. Business travelers find its location equally attractive -- it’s just a few blocks from the Board of Trade and Mercantile Exchange.
Highlights
  • In the heart of the Loop near State Street, financial district and Magnificent Mile
  • Broadway shows on site at the Cadillac Palace Theater
  • Evening wine hours hosted in hotel’s living room
  • In-room spa services and Aveda bath products
  • Pet-friendly hotel
Rooms
Rooms at the Hotel Allegro Chicago are both glamorous and futuristic. Royal blue headboards pop against stark white linens and complement bursts of yellow color in the forms of lamp shades and bolsters. Rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and Aveda bath products.
Features
The Hotel Allegro Chicago may have been built in 1932, but its policies have evolved with modern times. Today, its green practices mean no plastic or Styrofoam cups are used, all meeting documents are printed on recycled paper and cleaning products are all eco-friendly.

Pet lovers, rejoice: This pet-friendly hotel has dedicated premier king guest rooms just for you and your four-legged friends. Pets are also welcomed with a treat plus food and water bowls to use during their stay.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.4 mi/24.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (Washington/Wells) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cadillac Palace Theater (next door)
  • Chicago Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wacker Drive (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • State Street (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms covering 14,000 square feet
  • Comprehensive multimedia and audio/visual support

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room
King Suite
King Suite

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood
312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2007

Excellent Location in Theater District

The Hotel Allegro was very nice and the staff was very responsive to our requests. The location was excellent. The purpose of our trip was to see a couple of plays. Both that we saw were just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The Hotel had good restaurants and there were many nice restaurants very near the hotel. Everything was so convenient that we were able to park our car on arrival and not drive it again until we left for our return home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KatieSeattle
Business
Seattle
May 27, 2009

Lovely Boutique Hotel

My friend and I had a red eye flight and were able to call and say we would be checking late. They checked us in over the phone and we were able to get up to our rooms at 6am. The hotel is modern and fun decorating wise. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! The rooms were very clean. The best part is the location. It is right in the heart of the loop and one block from the blue line that runs to and from the airport. Very convienient! Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jun 7, 2009

Great trendy place- downtown

Perfect place to go see a show in Chicago; it is in the theatre district. I went to see a show at the Chicago Theatre wich is 2 blocks from there... They served wine in the beautiful and "stylish" lobby every night (I was ther friday and saterday) and it was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many theatres within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ralph b
Business
Birmingham, MI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Allegro Chicago Marathon Weekend

the staff at this hotel was great! right from our arrival, we were treated well, local amenities were explained and the front desk staff helped with some tricky dinner reservations. it's location was perfect for watching the marathon as it is between the 2-3mile and 20K locations for observing your runners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPool
Business
Monmouth, IL
Oct 11, 2011

Ultra modern treat

The hotel is extremely stylish, from the ultra modern decor and art noveau accented wall paper in the lobby to the brightly modern decoration of our room, complete with blue-tinted ceiling and antiqued mirror in front of the bed. While decor only goes so far, it does make a hotel stay more vibrantly pleasant and enjoyable. The relaxed and convivial wine/beer tasting in the evening was delightful. It's right downtown, so you have to walk a little to get away from office buildings, but very convenient. The one place it falls down is not having a pool, but that's the price you pay for such a great building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wepea5
Business
Columbia, MO
Oct 14, 2011

Perfect. Will stay there again!!

My wife and I thought this was a great spot for the value. The staff was super-friendly. The rooms were clean, updated, modern and comfortable. We intend to check here first the next time we stay in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kla2482
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 25, 2011

Great spot for a fun vacation!

Hotel was great! Rooms were a little small but if you're in the city to do tourist things you aren't in the room much anyway. It was a fun place to stay for a girls trip and we loved the modern feel of the place. The location was great too, within walking distance of lots of sights and shopping and right near the "L" stops as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Vist to Chicago
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago Vacation

Hotel was located in the business district but is walking distance from most popular tourist areas. Front desk was friendly and accommodating. One thing I want to mention is the room/closet space is a bit small (but we had no issues with it) and since the hotel was located in the business district most resturants close early. However there is a 24hr 7eleven near by and the hotel resturant/bar is open till 11pm. Would definetly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Hop-on Hop-off tours and save taxi fees! The Mob Tour is also a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crrohlf
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

The Hotel Allegro- Great hotel in Chicago Theatre District

This hotel was an amazing deal. The customer service was great, the room was spotless and the location was ideal. Minutes away from some of the city's top destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan in Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great hotel, great staff

I arrived really early in the morning from an international flight and was hoping to just change and store my bags until later, but they were able to check me into my room so I was able to change and shower after nearly 24 hours of flying! The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top