$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
293 reviews
Great Experience at Allegro

Decided to stay at the Allegro based on central location and value. It is in the heart of the... See full review

  • JAB8
  • Apr 14, 2014
weekender in chi

Hotel was great! Clean, friendly, and modern. Perfect for a weekend get away See full review

  • sheripie817
  • Apr 10, 2014
The belle of Chicago's theater district
When Broadway shows comes to town, the Hotel Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first place that comes to mind for lodging. The Cadillac Palace Theater sparkles as brilliantly as its marquee with tasteful rooms in the heart of the Loop. Theatrical drama comes to life in every corner, including the lobby’s three-story staircase where a baby grand piano sits against a bright palette of reds, oranges and greens. Business travelers find its location equally attractive -- it’s just a few blocks from the Board of Trade and Mercantile Exchange.
Highlights
  • In the heart of the Loop near State Street, financial district and Magnificent Mile
  • Broadway shows on site at the Cadillac Palace Theater
  • Evening wine hours hosted in hotel’s living room
  • In-room spa services and Aveda bath products
  • Pet-friendly hotel
Rooms
Rooms at the Hotel Allegro Chicago are both glamorous and futuristic. Royal blue headboards pop against stark white linens and complement bursts of yellow color in the forms of lamp shades and bolsters. Rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and Aveda bath products.
Features
The Hotel Allegro Chicago may have been built in 1932, but its policies have evolved with modern times. Today, its green practices mean no plastic or Styrofoam cups are used, all meeting documents are printed on recycled paper and cleaning products are all eco-friendly.

Pet lovers, rejoice: This pet-friendly hotel has dedicated premier king guest rooms just for you and your four-legged friends. Pets are also welcomed with a treat plus food and water bowls to use during their stay.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.4 mi/24.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (Washington/Wells) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cadillac Palace Theater (next door)
  • Chicago Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wacker Drive (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • State Street (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms covering 14,000 square feet
  • On site 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Comprehensive multimedia and audio/visual support

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite
King Suite
King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8845 -87.6332
Area served
CHI-Chicago
Nearby airports
ORD-O`Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, NW, Mile; MDW-Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, S, Mile
Area description
City, Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.
Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (293)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
293 out of 293
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Pecos Bill
NJ
Jul 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in !!!

Location: Close to great restaurants. Cleanliness: Our room was cleaned whiile we had an early breakfast. Comfort: very comfortable and quiet. Staff: Extremely helpful making dinner plans and sightseeing. Value: Got more for less $ especially FREE happy hour from 5-6pm. />/> If staying in Chicago, you must stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast in the hotel.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Pecos Bill
NJ
Jul 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in !!!

Location: Close to great restaurants. Cleanliness: Our room was cleaned whiile we had an early breakfast. Comfort: very comfortable and quiet. Staff: Extremely helpful making dinner plans and sightseeing. Value: Got more for less $ especially FREE happy hour from 5-6pm. />/> If staying in Chicago, you must stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast in the hotel.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
TerpGirl
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 19, 2012

The Price is Right

This is in the middle of downtown so it is a great deal for less than $200 a night, especially on a summer weekend. Like many hotels, Allegro doesn't serve free breakfast. I highly urge you to visit Do-Rite Donuts for breakfast instead. I happened to find this place on Saturday morning and they have the BEST donuts I've ever eaten! Back to the hotel: the rooms are clean and comfortable, although might be too cramped if you plan to stay longer than a weekend. Bathrooms are very small. Make sure to stick around for FREE wine every day from 5 to 6pm in the lobby. There are free snacks too. The hotel restaurant is good, nothing special but a nice place to relax after a day of exploring Chicago. Overall the hotel is nicely decorated, the staff are friendly, and the location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Do-Rite Donuts for breakfast! The pistachio donut is the best donut I've ever had!! Open at 8:30am on Saturdays.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
CTking
Milwaukee
May 28, 2012

Just Ok

There is no quilt in my room, and when I ordered one, they let I waited for 30 minutes and told me there is not quilt!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
zengas
Newark, Delaware
May 28, 2012

It was a fantastic experience

The staff were nice to you. The room was clean. The most important was that the location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Leo Vacationing Marine
Jacksonville, North Carolina
May 28, 2012

Fun place for a visit to the city!

The hotel was super convenient. It like read my mind. I bought myself a bottle of wine to enjoy in my room and was worried about getting it open but the room had a fully stocked mini bar with wine glasses and a cork screw for the wine. That was a huge plus. The room itself was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. The only thing that I could say is I left for a whole day and when I got back my room hadn't been cleaned. It's not a big deal but I just like coming back to a freshly made bed! I'm definitely staying there again though. Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the L it will take you anywhere and it's literally right next to the hotel. You can take it to all the wrigleyville bars and everything!

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
detroittraveler
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Friendly staff and very welcoming to our dog!

We were in Chicago looking for a place to live and we brought our 4 year old golden retriever with us. We checked in and she was greeted with a bag of treats and lots of attention, we were given complimentary wine, our room was nice and the location was good -close to most of the train lines and a walkable part of town even at night. The park is about an 8-10min walk away but that wasn't a big deal. It was affordable for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Niche
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great lobby...rooms are very average

Pros: Location - right in the heart of the theater district Lobby - clean, modern, free drinks, very social Friendly Staff - great bellman and front desk staff Cons: Parking - valet is 50+ a night for a $100-150/night hotel Room size - many rooms are tiny with tiny bathrooms Cleanliness - black tile bathroom floors were spotted which makes you wonder the source Noisy - You can hear everything from barking dogs (permitted apparently), to neighbors being "romantic", to old window-based heaters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Backstagemom
Detroit, MI
Feb 6, 2012

A Gem in a Big City

Loved the whole experience in this hotel. The staff went over and above on friendliness and helpfulness. Anthony, the concierge, got us tickets for an awesome show and told us about some little local restaurants to hit. 312 Chicago that is attached to the Hotel had phenomenal food, reasonably price and great staff. The decor in the hotel was so eclectic and original. Workout room was awesome as well. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

312 Chicago attached to the hotel had 5 star food and staff but was reasonably priced for even a family. Definitely a great place to eat any meal.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Theonly1
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Small...but cute!

The Allegro is super easy to find, it a really decent part of downtown. There are plenty of convenience stores around. The hotel has a nice wine/drink hour at night and free coffee/tea/cocoa in the mornings. My dogs loved their stay and they got cute lil beds to lay in (although, they liked the King bed for us much better). This hotel charges you for anything not nailed down, so you'd better make sure you take everything you'll need with you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Kbache
Chicago, IL
Jan 30, 2012

Unique hotel in great location

Great boutique hotel in downtown Chicago, less than 5 minute walk from Michigan Ave and State St. Great interior and the rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Hotel lobby and staff were helpful and always had smiles on their faces. Would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top