$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
protraveler
Business
Jupiter, FL
Oct 28, 2013

Allegro

Exactly what I needed for a quick business trip. Rooms are small, without coffee, but coffee and tea are served in the lobby. Evening wine in lobby as well. Nice touch. Staff and facilities nice and accommodating. Room service efficient and food prepared correctly and served still hot. Bonus points. Good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amazing Puerto Rican food at Coco's, a short drive away.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FergieBing
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 26, 2013

great weekend getaway!

The staff at the Allegro is friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, but clean and very comfortable. Great value for the $. Arrived very early and they were very accommodating . . . just a short time until I had a room. PS Loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJW2
Business
kenosha, wisconsin
Sep 23, 2013

perfect location for theatre, popcorn, and cupcakes

Everything was outstanding. Lovely wallpaper and piano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimmer Bill
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Aug 19, 2013

Good solid value

Really liked location especially after taking Blue Line train in from O'Hare. Also close to Brown Line for my annual pilgrimage to Wrigley Field. Staff, from check in to bell hops, were always there to assist. Bell hop suggestion first morning for breakfast at Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe was great suggestion. Will return to property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shell41786
Business
Hartland, Michigan
Jul 29, 2013

Great hotel for our race weekend!

Very nice hotel! Modern, clean and comfortable rooms, we really liked staying here :) Convenient location, close to public transit, lots of shops nearby, awesome Thai restaurant right around the corner. Took only seconds to get a taxi the morning of our race. The hotel room was a little small & cramped, but not bad for Chicago!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Jul 23, 2013

Nice central location, reasonable price

Typical of Kimpton's boutique properties: class and character but not an exorbitant price. The location can't be beat, especially if you're planning on using the L to get around, as you're at most a block or two from every line. Rooms are spacious (though bathrooms are a bit tiny) and well maintained. Though right near the L tracks it's really quiet--didn't hear a thing! Make sure you sign up for their free Kimpton InTouch rewards program--gets you free wifi and a $10 "Raid the Minibar" credit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Every line of the CTA "L" system has a stop within about a block or two away, so it's super easy to explore beyond the core downtown area, and North Michigan Ave is a short walk away too. Several stations in the area sell CTA visitor passes that offer the best value if you're taking more than one or two rides.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thrifty weekend traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2013

Girls weekend

My mom, sister and I stayed at Hotel Allegro for a girls weekend and were very happy with our choice. It was a convenient location (but off from the main drag) and the hotel staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the "wine hour", free bike rental, and coffee/tea in the morning. We even took advantage of the complimentary toiletries that the Allegro offers in the event that you forget something - a makeup mirror was brought right up to us when needed :). The only thing I would have loved to have had in the room was a full length mirror. With 3 girls getting ready, that was needed. We have and definitely will recommend this hotel to others traveling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DebMel
Business
Rockford IL
Jul 2, 2013

Great location especially for public transportation

The room was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Bathroom was very small. Staff was pleasant. Had a room with a connecting door and heard our neighbor's TV at all hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlite
Business
iowa
Jun 25, 2013

Fantastic

Very nice hotel, great room and location. Staff was very helpful and courteous! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fookie
Business
Naperville, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Great for Theater Crowd

Hotel was in a good location for theater goers. It was also about $100 cheaper than most of the hotels in the same area. Nice clean comfortable rooms at a good price. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top