$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Theater Goers
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Great Place in the Theater District!

The room was small but the most comfortable bed ever -- conveniently located in the heart of the Theater District, we could walk about everywhere we needed to get to including the Oriental Theater to see Motown the Musical -- the Encore Bar at the hotel was a lot of fun-- the hotel staff was very friendly and courteous -- a really good value -- we will go out of our way to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless and grumpy
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Thin walls & noisy neighbors

There were a couple rooms on my floor that were very loud all night both nights of our stay. Despite complaining to the front desk both nights we got very little sleep. The walls are very thin and you can hear it all from your neighbors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cannonball runner
Business
chicago
Apr 28, 2014

OLD HOTEL - Read Room Descriptions

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend downtown. This a very old hotel, build in the 1920s. If you're used to staying in a more modern hotel you will be surprised how small the rooms are. Rooms and bathrooms are small. The beds are spring beds are not very comfortable. Odd number rooms are bigger than even number rooms. When you are checking in specifically ask for odd number room. Even number rooms by the elevators on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor will hear a metal grinding sound on windy days. The flags they fly outside the front of the hotel will literally be outside your window. They moved us because we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to River North. There was nothing good nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very tired Jo
Business
Michigan
Apr 28, 2014

Sleepless

The room was VERY small, but clean. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean. As for the noise level, well lets just say I went there with my husband and friends for a fun relaxing weekend and I got NO sleep at all. I had to call the front desk at least 4 times, because the people in the hallway and in the room next to us were up partying until 5am, yes I said 5am. When I went down Sunday morning to check out all the MANAGER said was that he was sorry, but he could do NOTHING for me because it was paid by third party, unless I wanted some food, oh and next time I stay there he will up grade my room. Well I was so tired I couldn't think of eating and I was there on vacation which I don't get very offend so chances of me staying there again and him working there at the same time are ZERO. So I guess they made out just fine and I had a sleepless expensive "vacation". I book a lot of room for staff and clients where I work and Allergo will definitely be taken OFF the list of possible hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ksustreit
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Apr 16, 2014

Weekend Stay

This is a great place to stay. Very convenient to the theater district and many other attractions. Rooms are very clean as well as the hotel itself. Had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
battle creek miichigan
Apr 15, 2014

my stay

I came to the hotel to relax...that part was ok. Sleeping was vertually not possible. Right above the Chicago tram, counting trains come by was painful. Problem is that the hotel is rather dated. The windows ability to insulate from sound was a joke. I paid serious cash, I thought, for the room. This was not what I expected or deserved. H.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant was absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAB8
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Apr 14, 2014

Great Experience at Allegro

Decided to stay at the Allegro based on central location and value. It is in the heart of the theater district and within walking distance to all of the major attractions. The room was clean, the staff was courteous and they did the little things that made it a special trip. The complementary wine hour was fantastic as well. A special thank you to the concierge Caitlin, who recommended several great restaurants and shows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superpup
Business
Ithaca, NY
Apr 12, 2014

Clean, friendly; good location

Staff helpful, friendly. Got upgraded to suite for our 3 day stay for "being patient" for the 3 mins it took to wait for computers to come back on line. Free wine in lobby each eve, as well as free coffee in am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheripie817
Business
Chicago
Apr 10, 2014

weekender in chi

Hotel was great! Clean, friendly, and modern. Perfect for a weekend get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CincinnatiKid
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 8, 2014

Nice, but not THAT nice

Perhaps my expectations were too high, but I was a bit disappointed. Just to be clear, I didn't have a BAD experience, it just fell short of what I expected. The room was much smaller than I expected it to be. It wasn't much bigger than a college dorm. Closet space was almost non-existent. The website listed the room as having a "luxury" bathtub, but it was just a regular tub/shower combo that I've seen in 100's of hotel rooms. My biggest issue was the parking. Their website lists "Valet Parking" and "Parking" as amenities. However, the ONLY option provided by the hotel is a $60/day valet services. If you don't use that, you are forced to use public parking garages that are 2 or 3 blocks away. With all that said, the hotel was clean and the staff was very nice. The location of the hotel is great, as you can walk almost everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do-Rite Donuts. It's about 2 blocks away on the opposite side of the street. Best donuts I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top