$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
315 reviews
A very attractive small hotel

Nicely located, exceptionally good service and friendly, welcoming staff. Our new favorite hotel in... See full review

  • Union Jack
  • Oct 7, 2014
Convenient Stay

The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING! This hotel is very clean. This hotel seems committed to... See full review

  • Weary Traveler Family
  • Jul 21, 2014
The belle of Chicago's theater district
When Broadway shows comes to town, the Hotel Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first place that comes to mind for lodging. The Cadillac Palace Theater sparkles as brilliantly as its marquee with tasteful rooms in the heart of the Loop. Theatrical drama comes to life in every corner, including the lobby’s three-story staircase where a baby grand piano sits against a bright palette of reds, oranges and greens. Business travelers find its location equally attractive -- it’s just a few blocks from the Board of Trade and Mercantile Exchange.
Highlights
  • In the heart of the Loop near State Street, financial district and Magnificent Mile
  • Broadway shows on site at the Cadillac Palace Theater
  • Evening wine hours hosted in hotel’s living room
  • In-room spa services and Aveda bath products
  • Pet-friendly hotel
Rooms
Rooms at the Hotel Allegro Chicago are both glamorous and futuristic. Royal blue headboards pop against stark white linens and complement bursts of yellow color in the forms of lamp shades and bolsters. Rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and Aveda bath products.
Features
The Hotel Allegro Chicago may have been built in 1932, but its policies have evolved with modern times. Today, its green practices mean no plastic or Styrofoam cups are used, all meeting documents are printed on recycled paper and cleaning products are all eco-friendly.

Pet lovers, rejoice: This pet-friendly hotel has dedicated premier king guest rooms just for you and your four-legged friends. Pets are also welcomed with a treat plus food and water bowls to use during their stay.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.4 mi/24.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (Washington/Wells) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cadillac Palace Theater (next door)
  • Chicago Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wacker Drive (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • State Street (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms covering 14,000 square feet
  • On site 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Comprehensive multimedia and audio/visual support

Hotel Map

41.8845 -87.6332
Area served
CHI-Chicago
Nearby airports
ORD-O`Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, NW, Mile; MDW-Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, S, Mile
Area description
City, Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite
King Suite
King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.
Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Elizabethan
Houston
Mar 2, 2013

Perfect for Opera

This is the third time I have stayed at the Allegro for a visit to the Opera. It is perfect. Just five blocks away from the Lyric Opera.The staff are great, directions, things to do, and a safety pin for a button on my coat. The 312 restaurant has reasonably good food, and an excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Blue Line, don't take a taxi!!! Walk everywhere!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cannonball runner
Business
chicago
Apr 28, 2014

OLD HOTEL - Read Room Descriptions

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend downtown. This a very old hotel, build in the 1920s. If you're used to staying in a more modern hotel you will be surprised how small the rooms are. Rooms and bathrooms are small. The beds are spring beds are not very comfortable. Odd number rooms are bigger than even number rooms. When you are checking in specifically ask for odd number room. Even number rooms by the elevators on the 4th, 5th and 6th floor will hear a metal grinding sound on windy days. The flags they fly outside the front of the hotel will literally be outside your window. They moved us because we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to River North. There was nothing good nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very tired Jo
Business
Michigan
Apr 28, 2014

Sleepless

The room was VERY small, but clean. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean. As for the noise level, well lets just say I went there with my husband and friends for a fun relaxing weekend and I got NO sleep at all. I had to call the front desk at least 4 times, because the people in the hallway and in the room next to us were up partying until 5am, yes I said 5am. When I went down Sunday morning to check out all the MANAGER said was that he was sorry, but he could do NOTHING for me because it was paid by third party, unless I wanted some food, oh and next time I stay there he will up grade my room. Well I was so tired I couldn't think of eating and I was there on vacation which I don't get very offend so chances of me staying there again and him working there at the same time are ZERO. So I guess they made out just fine and I had a sleepless expensive "vacation". I book a lot of room for staff and clients where I work and Allergo will definitely be taken OFF the list of possible hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ksustreit
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Apr 16, 2014

Weekend Stay

This is a great place to stay. Very convenient to the theater district and many other attractions. Rooms are very clean as well as the hotel itself. Had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
battle creek miichigan
Apr 15, 2014

my stay

I came to the hotel to relax...that part was ok. Sleeping was vertually not possible. Right above the Chicago tram, counting trains come by was painful. Problem is that the hotel is rather dated. The windows ability to insulate from sound was a joke. I paid serious cash, I thought, for the room. This was not what I expected or deserved. H.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant was absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAB8
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Apr 14, 2014

Great Experience at Allegro

Decided to stay at the Allegro based on central location and value. It is in the heart of the theater district and within walking distance to all of the major attractions. The room was clean, the staff was courteous and they did the little things that made it a special trip. The complementary wine hour was fantastic as well. A special thank you to the concierge Caitlin, who recommended several great restaurants and shows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superpup
Business
Ithaca, NY
Apr 12, 2014

Clean, friendly; good location

Staff helpful, friendly. Got upgraded to suite for our 3 day stay for "being patient" for the 3 mins it took to wait for computers to come back on line. Free wine in lobby each eve, as well as free coffee in am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheripie817
Business
Chicago
Apr 10, 2014

weekender in chi

Hotel was great! Clean, friendly, and modern. Perfect for a weekend get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CincinnatiKid
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 8, 2014

Nice, but not THAT nice

Perhaps my expectations were too high, but I was a bit disappointed. Just to be clear, I didn't have a BAD experience, it just fell short of what I expected. The room was much smaller than I expected it to be. It wasn't much bigger than a college dorm. Closet space was almost non-existent. The website listed the room as having a "luxury" bathtub, but it was just a regular tub/shower combo that I've seen in 100's of hotel rooms. My biggest issue was the parking. Their website lists "Valet Parking" and "Parking" as amenities. However, the ONLY option provided by the hotel is a $60/day valet services. If you don't use that, you are forced to use public parking garages that are 2 or 3 blocks away. With all that said, the hotel was clean and the staff was very nice. The location of the hotel is great, as you can walk almost everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do-Rite Donuts. It's about 2 blocks away on the opposite side of the street. Best donuts I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billagio
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 8, 2014

Great location & great hotel!

A weekend trip for 2, Allegro was awesome. Clean, comfortable and there was a Starbucks attached to the lobby! Surrounded by the great Chicago theaters. 1.5 blocks to the Blue Line from O'Hare. We walked out of our room on Monday at 8am. Stopped for a Starbucks. Walked to the Blue Line. We got thru airport security at 915am. It. Doesnt. Get. Better. Than. That!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie song
Business
chicago
Apr 3, 2014

small bathroom

bathroom is a little bit small, its clean, but a little hard to turn around in it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top