$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pecos Bill
NJ
Jul 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in !!!

Location: Close to great restaurants. Cleanliness: Our room was cleaned whiile we had an early breakfast. Comfort: very comfortable and quiet. Staff: Extremely helpful making dinner plans and sightseeing. Value: Got more for less $ especially FREE happy hour from 5-6pm. />/> If staying in Chicago, you must stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jusstacia
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Some basic issues, but not terrible

- No coffee maker in rooms, but there is free coffee in the lobby from 6am to 10am. Heck, even Hampton Inn has free coffee 24 hours a day. - Elevators during "rush hours" are incredibly slow. We once waited 8 minutes in the morning. Going down is worse than going up. - We could hear every word from our neighbors from our bathroom. The train was noticeable, but not too loud. Our room was near the elevator but couldn't hear it. That's one good thing. - Our room keys stopped working while we were out on our second day. So, after a long day out and a long elevator wait, we couldn't get in our room. Very frustrating. - Mini fridge is unlocked but full of stuff with no prices listed. I'm assuming none of it was free. - Free wine hour is nice, but not like other semi-luxury hotel wine hours. It's Woodbridge. - The hotel bar and a few others nearby were closed at 11pm on a Thursday. Had to walk to Monk's Pub. 7-11 on the same block has beer and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Pub is the only bar open (on a weeknight) within about 5 blocks for late night drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
111222333
Business
New York, NY
Jun 30, 2014

Good Overnight Stay

The hotel is close to our office and provides good value. The rooms are small but if you only sleep in them they are fine. If you need to work in them the set up is not ideal but can be managed. Bathroom was small but functional. Wine happy hour and morning coffee were very nice and managed extremely well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
latica
Business
missouri
Jun 30, 2014

sailer

the room pillows were not confortable, room is real small, bathroom is too small, the only good thing is the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnatis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosey D
Business
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Jun 23, 2014

Chicago trip

The Allegro was a nice hotel, decor was different, but nice. Our only two complaints - the bathroom was very tiny - never saw a hotel bathroom that tiny. The cost was high considering the amenities, however the location of the hotel was very good. Just down from the shows we were in town to see. Overall - we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walks to a lot of shopping, restaurants and shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekender520
Business
nwi
Jun 19, 2014

bluesfest weekend trip

Small room. Staff was perfect. Amenities great. Short distance from millennium station. Couldn't ask for anything better for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Cadillac palace theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSPTJM
Business
Lansing, Michigan
May 18, 2014

Noisy neighbors

Both the nights we stayed, the rooms next to ours were very noisy. Complaints were made and the way it was handled was not right. After speaking with hotel management off and on the following week, we were provided 2 nights free in our choice of a deluxe room. The manager was very apologetic and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
professional guy.
Business
houston, texas
May 13, 2014

Great experience with this hotel

Everything seem prefect except the mattress is a little soft for me, because I like firm mattress. The room I lived in at 727 is space, super clean, nice setup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay On Business
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 10, 2014

Good not Great

The location was great. Close to a lot of what Chicago has to offer. Free wi-fi (without having to join a rewards club), included continental breakfast, and having room service that did not require me to go downstairs would have made my stay GREAT. Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel for people traveling for either business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on the dark of the bay
Business
The world
Apr 29, 2014

Allegro

Nice restaurant, great location. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Service was helpful and courteous. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Theater Goers
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Great Place in the Theater District!

The room was small but the most comfortable bed ever -- conveniently located in the heart of the Theater District, we could walk about everywhere we needed to get to including the Oriental Theater to see Motown the Musical -- the Encore Bar at the hotel was a lot of fun-- the hotel staff was very friendly and courteous -- a really good value -- we will go out of our way to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top