$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zengas
Newark, Delaware
May 28, 2012

It was a fantastic experience

The staff were nice to you. The room was clean. The most important was that the location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mascalzone
Business
Florida
Oct 7, 2014

excellent for business stay

It is very comfortable with all the necessary features for a business stay. Excellent restaurant attached. Very close to the courthouse, the reason for my visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherianno
Business
Lansdale
Oct 3, 2014

Boutique Hotel

I've stayed at Kimpton Hotels before and this one didn't disappoint. It was a great boutique - not a chain - hotel. Great location - quiet but great atmosphere. Great restaurant attached also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
20th anniversay
Business
Chicago, Il
Aug 9, 2014

Less than average

I actually was very disappointed with the room. It was nothing like the room shown on the travel site. It looked outdated and primitive. The bathroom was the size of a closet. The bed took up 50% of the room so you can imagine how small the room was. I've had better looking rooms at Holiday Inn for a lot less. The only saving grace was the fact the hotel was in walking distance to the Oriental theater and State St. stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
City goer222
Business
Chicago
Aug 3, 2014

Small rooms

Small rooms and bathrooms. Elevators slow. Coffee bar in morning which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weary Traveler Family
Business
Albany, GA
Jul 21, 2014

Convenient Stay

The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING! This hotel is very clean. This hotel seems committed to pleasing the guests. Beds were comfortable. Room temperate. Location convenient. We had a regular room and it is a little tight on space. If you are a large person or have more than 2 people in your party, you may find the regular room rather small. However, it is an efficient room and the rest of the services makes up for the tight quarters. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Garrett's FRESH made popcorn is only 4 doors down by turning left out of hotel. Walgreens, Dunkin Donut and a Corner Café is literally around the corner. Theater is NEXT door! We did not need a cab or transportation venue for 5 days of active visiting!

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WTraveler2
Business
Fargo ND
Jul 19, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Great staff. Decor of the hotel is extremely unique. Great free wine hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Welltraveled teacher
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2014

No closet? No dresser? Lost personal items=no thanks!

Beautiful lobby area and great location.Upon check-in, a bellman lost a personal item. No one seemed to know if I was to fill out a form, talk to a manager, or what. Also, room key didn't work and had to go down to front desk and wait in line to get it redone. Finally towards end of stay, a manager came to our room with a form I had to fill out. Upon check out, there was no note of the incident on my bill, and a 54$ dining charge which I didn't incur. I wasn't even in the hotel the date of the charge! They took the dining charge off, but really? Good and bad-, my King sized bed was in a tiny room, so small it didn't even have a dresser or a closet to store my clothes. (I had booked the room for a week- lots of clothes.) I asked if I could have a room with one, and luckily, one was found for me at no additional charge. No offer was made to move my bags to the new room, although I'm not sure I would have trusted them with anyone at that point. While this is all well and good, Why give me such an embarrassment of a room to begin with? I've stayed at everything from the red roof to the ritz, and for the price/experience/location, the room size was ridiculous. The second room still didn't have a dresser, but was doable. Hotels in older buildings typically have rooms on the small side, and Kimpton makes up for this often with other amenities, such as happy hour, and high end soaps, but my first room should be called an efficiency at best. Still waiting for the check on the personal item. I'll update my review at that time. But regardless, I won't be staying at a Kimpton hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenbmc
Business
La, ca
Jul 11, 2014

Great stay in Chicago!

I have stayed here twice and I have really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladylux
Business
Chicago suburbs, IL
Jul 9, 2014

Lovely happy hour

Happy hour was a happening place with wine, sangria and craft beer. The lobby quickly converted to a full-blown cocktail party. Hotel was conveniently located to theater events. Room was pleasant and comfortable at reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jusstacia
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Some basic issues, but not terrible

- No coffee maker in rooms, but there is free coffee in the lobby from 6am to 10am. Heck, even Hampton Inn has free coffee 24 hours a day. - Elevators during "rush hours" are incredibly slow. We once waited 8 minutes in the morning. Going down is worse than going up. - We could hear every word from our neighbors from our bathroom. The train was noticeable, but not too loud. Our room was near the elevator but couldn't hear it. That's one good thing. - Our room keys stopped working while we were out on our second day. So, after a long day out and a long elevator wait, we couldn't get in our room. Very frustrating. - Mini fridge is unlocked but full of stuff with no prices listed. I'm assuming none of it was free. - Free wine hour is nice, but not like other semi-luxury hotel wine hours. It's Woodbridge. - The hotel bar and a few others nearby were closed at 11pm on a Thursday. Had to walk to Monk's Pub. 7-11 on the same block has beer and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Pub is the only bar open (on a weeknight) within about 5 blocks for late night drinks.

Back to menu Return to top