$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zengas
Newark, Delaware
May 28, 2012

It was a fantastic experience

The staff were nice to you. The room was clean. The most important was that the location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weary Traveler Family
Business
Albany, GA
Jul 21, 2014

Convenient Stay

The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING! This hotel is very clean. This hotel seems committed to pleasing the guests. Beds were comfortable. Room temperate. Location convenient. We had a regular room and it is a little tight on space. If you are a large person or have more than 2 people in your party, you may find the regular room rather small. However, it is an efficient room and the rest of the services makes up for the tight quarters. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Garrett's FRESH made popcorn is only 4 doors down by turning left out of hotel. Walgreens, Dunkin Donut and a Corner Café is literally around the corner. Theater is NEXT door! We did not need a cab or transportation venue for 5 days of active visiting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WTraveler2
Business
Fargo ND
Jul 19, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Great staff. Decor of the hotel is extremely unique. Great free wine hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Welltraveled teacher
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2014

No closet? No dresser? Lost personal items=no thanks!

Beautiful lobby area and great location.Upon check-in, a bellman lost a personal item. No one seemed to know if I was to fill out a form, talk to a manager, or what. Also, room key didn't work and had to go down to front desk and wait in line to get it redone. Finally towards end of stay, a manager came to our room with a form I had to fill out. Upon check out, there was no note of the incident on my bill, and a 54$ dining charge which I didn't incur. I wasn't even in the hotel the date of the charge! They took the dining charge off, but really? Good and bad-, my King sized bed was in a tiny room, so small it didn't even have a dresser or a closet to store my clothes. (I had booked the room for a week- lots of clothes.) I asked if I could have a room with one, and luckily, one was found for me at no additional charge. No offer was made to move my bags to the new room, although I'm not sure I would have trusted them with anyone at that point. While this is all well and good, Why give me such an embarrassment of a room to begin with? I've stayed at everything from the red roof to the ritz, and for the price/experience/location, the room size was ridiculous. The second room still didn't have a dresser, but was doable. Hotels in older buildings typically have rooms on the small side, and Kimpton makes up for this often with other amenities, such as happy hour, and high end soaps, but my first room should be called an efficiency at best. Still waiting for the check on the personal item. I'll update my review at that time. But regardless, I won't be staying at a Kimpton hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenbmc
Business
La, ca
Jul 11, 2014

Great stay in Chicago!

I have stayed here twice and I have really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladylux
Business
Chicago suburbs, IL
Jul 9, 2014

Lovely happy hour

Happy hour was a happening place with wine, sangria and craft beer. The lobby quickly converted to a full-blown cocktail party. Hotel was conveniently located to theater events. Room was pleasant and comfortable at reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jusstacia
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Some basic issues, but not terrible

- No coffee maker in rooms, but there is free coffee in the lobby from 6am to 10am. Heck, even Hampton Inn has free coffee 24 hours a day. - Elevators during "rush hours" are incredibly slow. We once waited 8 minutes in the morning. Going down is worse than going up. - We could hear every word from our neighbors from our bathroom. The train was noticeable, but not too loud. Our room was near the elevator but couldn't hear it. That's one good thing. - Our room keys stopped working while we were out on our second day. So, after a long day out and a long elevator wait, we couldn't get in our room. Very frustrating. - Mini fridge is unlocked but full of stuff with no prices listed. I'm assuming none of it was free. - Free wine hour is nice, but not like other semi-luxury hotel wine hours. It's Woodbridge. - The hotel bar and a few others nearby were closed at 11pm on a Thursday. Had to walk to Monk's Pub. 7-11 on the same block has beer and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Pub is the only bar open (on a weeknight) within about 5 blocks for late night drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
111222333
Business
New York, NY
Jun 30, 2014

Good Overnight Stay

The hotel is close to our office and provides good value. The rooms are small but if you only sleep in them they are fine. If you need to work in them the set up is not ideal but can be managed. Bathroom was small but functional. Wine happy hour and morning coffee were very nice and managed extremely well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
latica
Business
missouri
Jun 30, 2014

sailer

the room pillows were not confortable, room is real small, bathroom is too small, the only good thing is the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnatis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosey D
Business
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Jun 23, 2014

Chicago trip

The Allegro was a nice hotel, decor was different, but nice. Our only two complaints - the bathroom was very tiny - never saw a hotel bathroom that tiny. The cost was high considering the amenities, however the location of the hotel was very good. Just down from the shows we were in town to see. Overall - we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walks to a lot of shopping, restaurants and shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekender520
Business
nwi
Jun 19, 2014

bluesfest weekend trip

Small room. Staff was perfect. Amenities great. Short distance from millennium station. Couldn't ask for anything better for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Cadillac palace theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top