$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newyork2010
Business
Memphis, TN
Oct 13, 2009

Good hotel, very happy

Hi went to Chicago to run the marathon. This hotel was close to the start. The room was clean and with great furniture and electronics (flat screen TV, radio, etc.), maybe just a bit small. I really enjoyed my stay here. I asked for the recommendation of a restaurant where to get a steak and I get an awesome advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeLikeToTravel
Business
New York, NY
Oct 13, 2009

Great Stay/Location in Downtown Chicago

- Was in Chicago for the marathon, good location downtown with easy access to 'El' trains and eateries - I was originally located next to a house cleaning closet that was very noisy at night but the front desk moved me right away with no hassles - Room amenities are great - they even have flat irons, curling irons and toothepaste & toothbrushes if you forget! - Super comfy beds - especially those with the down featherbeds and blankets - A little pricey for the Internet service - Staff was very helpful, pleasant and always available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good sandwich spots, sushi spots, bars and pizza shops all within 10-15 mins walking from the hotel and downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Oct 13, 2009

OK hotel w/ Small Rooms

The hotel was nice enough and the location is right in the heart of Chicago, but the room was small and the bed was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eidemilm
Business
Pinecliffe, CO
Oct 12, 2009

Hotel Allegro - A Nice Experience

Our stay at Hotel Allegro was very nice. The location was great and we walked all over the downtown area. Grant Park was close by as were many great restaurants. It was quiet and peaceful and we slept in a bit each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Encore restaurant in the hotel for lunch. The chili was some of the best I've ever had with chunky, soft meat in it. Also, Catch35 was located about 5 blocks away and provided very good seafood. The brunch at 312 restaurant in the hotel was not as enjoyable as lunch in Encore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oklahoma city, ok
Oct 12, 2009

great hotel!

Great hotel for young couples. We stayed there for the Chicago Marathon. Perfect location in the loop, close to public transportation. We were former Chicago natives so we knew our way around, but the staff wasnt very helpful with Marathon specific information... We never found the free coffee in the morning in the lobby, but then again, there is no shortage of quick places to grab coffee in the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you can get to the red line, brown line, blue line, and orange line from the hotel, so easy access to airports and the other great neighborhoods in chicago, it may be worth getting the 3 day pass from the cta for $14

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Good Location small rooms

The location of the hotel is pretty good, a fair amount of restaurants in walking distant. The blue line was just a few blocks from the hotel so it was easy to get back and forth from O'Hare. Just a few blocks from Grant Park and Michigan Ave to go other places. However the room I stayed in was small, really very little room to do anything. Easily could hear the people next to us shower and play their music. No sort of contential breakfast but you could order food for 18% gratuity and a $3.50 delivery fee, is that a deal?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FuneralConsult
Business
Minnesota
Oct 7, 2009

Hotel Allegro

Excellent location, easy access from both airports on the train. Plenty of dining & shopping in the area. We have stayed here before and would definately recommend the stay for anyone. The staff was very personable, friendly and willing to help you out with anything ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 6, 2009

Very Nice

Nice Decorations, Very Modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grist
Business
new orleans, la
Oct 6, 2009

modern yet historical

we would stay at the hotel again. we enjoyed the location, and the staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the L train to get around versus cabs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scooterpam
Business
Denver Colorado
Oct 5, 2009

Best Location, free wine, hip decor

We saw every museum and landmark building. Architecture tour and the Billy Goat Tavern and Hot Dougs a must! The hotel was quiet and friendly. We were up every night til 2am and up in the morning by 9:00am. Free Coffee would have been nice (like the sister Hotel Monaco has)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top