$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
311 reviews
Convenient Stay

The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING! This hotel is very clean. This hotel seems committed to... See full review

  • Weary Traveler Family
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel

Great location. Great staff. Decor of the hotel is extremely unique. Great free wine hour! See full review

  • WTraveler2
  • Jul 19, 2014
The belle of Chicago's theater district
When Broadway shows comes to town, the Hotel Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first place that comes to mind for lodging. The Cadillac Palace Theater sparkles as brilliantly as its marquee with tasteful rooms in the heart of the Loop. Theatrical drama comes to life in every corner, including the lobby’s three-story staircase where a baby grand piano sits against a bright palette of reds, oranges and greens. Business travelers find its location equally attractive -- it’s just a few blocks from the Board of Trade and Mercantile Exchange.
Highlights
  • In the heart of the Loop near State Street, financial district and Magnificent Mile
  • Broadway shows on site at the Cadillac Palace Theater
  • Evening wine hours hosted in hotel’s living room
  • In-room spa services and Aveda bath products
  • Pet-friendly hotel
Rooms
Rooms at the Hotel Allegro Chicago are both glamorous and futuristic. Royal blue headboards pop against stark white linens and complement bursts of yellow color in the forms of lamp shades and bolsters. Rooms come standard with a 37-inch flat-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and Aveda bath products.
Features
The Hotel Allegro Chicago may have been built in 1932, but its policies have evolved with modern times. Today, its green practices mean no plastic or Styrofoam cups are used, all meeting documents are printed on recycled paper and cleaning products are all eco-friendly.

Pet lovers, rejoice: This pet-friendly hotel has dedicated premier king guest rooms just for you and your four-legged friends. Pets are also welcomed with a treat plus food and water bowls to use during their stay.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.4 mi/24.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (Washington/Wells) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Cadillac Palace Theater (next door)
  • Chicago Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Wacker Drive (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Willis Tower (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • State Street (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms covering 14,000 square feet
  • On site 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Comprehensive multimedia and audio/visual support

Hotel Map

41.8845 -87.6332
Area served
CHI-Chicago
Nearby airports
ORD-O`Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, NW, Mile; MDW-Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, S, Mile
Area description
City, Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Suite
King Suite
King Suite 2 Person Tub
King Suite 2 Person Tub
Double Double Room
Double Double Room
King Premier Room
King Premier Room
King Room
King Room
Queen Room
Queen Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

312 Chicago
Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit 312 Chicago stands out as one of the citys favorite restaurants. Our ideal Chicago Loop location inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the city.
Encore
Encore a lunch bistro and liquid lounge. By day a stylish space serving a casual lunch to the local celebs including fresh carver sandwiches think beef tenderloin or roasted turkey. By dusk it turns into a hip liquid lounge with two bars setting the mood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylvia O
Champaign, IL, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Weekend Anniversary Vacation

The hotel itself is absolutely amazing visually, the decorations are fantastic and the overall aesthetics are phenomenal. The location was also great and had very convenient access to both CTA bus and train lines, as well as bars/lounges. The only disappointing aspect was the size of the room itself- we were in a king-size room and the pictures on the website made it appear that it would be quite a bit larger. Although it did look nice, it almost looked like a miniature version of what it should have been, including the bathroom. One thing I must absolutely HIGHLY recommend is the concierge, Gianna. She was incredibly friendly, made us feel very welcome even though my boyfriend and I are a younger couple experiencing our first time in a VERY nice hotel, and was chatty and relatable when we told her we were in town for a concert, and she even referenced the show we were seeing personally. Additionally, we briefly mentioned that it was our 1-year anniversary and when we came home from the show, there was a bottle of champagne and a tray of delicious chocolates with a note saying 'Happy Anniversary'. This personal touch absolutely made us love the hotel and is probably the biggest reason why we would go back. This woman deserves a huge raise and a lot of credit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel N.
Boston
Oct 9, 2011

Great Location, Price, and Quality

This hotel was perfect for our spontaneous trip to Chicago. The location of this hotel was right in the heart of Chicago. Short walk from the CTA trains, malls, restaurants, Willis Tower, and Millennium Park! I am all about modern decorating, and this hotel was definitely modern. The look of all the rooms and furniture was sleek and colorful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a flat screen TV and strong shower water pressure. My only problem was that the mattress was too stiff for me. Otherwise, the hotel added to a great Chicago experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Cultural Center is right next to Millennium Park. Be sure to stop by there if you want more info or help on finding things to do in Chicago.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLAT
Charlotte
Oct 4, 2011

We got lucky

We procrastinated and booked this hotel on a weekend for a much more reasonable price than the other hotels. We were pleasantly surprised by the location, decor and friendly staff. The room was very roomy and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here if you love the theater. There were theaters everywhere.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fionag1
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Fantastic as always!

Yet another fantastic Kimpton Hotel! Great location, very friendly staff and perfectly presented! Would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blulu
South Bend, IN, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great stay

I enjoyed the Allegro very much Its cleanliness And its comfortability. I felt at home. I guess what I enjoyed most was the wine and entertainment in the lobby. Something I never expected and totally enjoyed. I loved the way the rooms were wallpapered, very trendy and up to date.The staff was very friendly and very helpful I guess another thing that caught my ear was the blues music playing outside the hotel, Truely Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Research befoe hand, on the distances to travel.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota
Minnesota, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Nice

This was an OK hotel. Would stay at it again. Fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhunt
Oak Park, IL, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Nice pet friendly hotel

We brought along our pooch and it worked out well. It was her first time staying downtown. Room was nice. Bathroom was a little small. Nice bartender in the hotel lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta,GA
Jul 10, 2011

great hotel

Great location and beautiful decor,but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. They were very friendly and went out of their way to provide excellent service from top to bottom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie-Therese
Fort Lauderdale
Jun 29, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Hotel Allegro was great. Location was a plus. Right in the theater district, close to two metro stops. I took the train from O'Hare and didn't have to walk too far from the stop with my luggage. Not too far from Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile) and close to Millenium and Grant parks. Had no problem walking to these places. They had a literal "happy hour" where they served drinks (wine, beer, sangria) from 5-6pm, which was a nice touch. Decor was nice and modern. I had a problem with the tub draining the first time I tried to use it but that was taken care of right away. Apparently the problem was just the stopper had been screwed on too tight by someone, perfect after that. Staff was very nice. I never made used of their services, but one guest did comment to me that the concierge there was very helpful. Overall great stay! Definitely would stay again when I'm in Chicago next!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jun 29, 2011

Swanky :)

Overall the hotel gets an A+. However, some things to think about...we arrived at the hotel around 9pm, and because the hotel is in a business district there was practically no place to eat that was still open. We walked forever before we found something to eat! However, during the day time there is plenty of restaurants to choose from :) The hotel was also in an excellent location for public transportation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search