$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theonly1
Couples
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Small...but cute!

The Allegro is super easy to find, it a really decent part of downtown. There are plenty of convenience stores around. The hotel has a nice wine/drink hour at night and free coffee/tea/cocoa in the mornings. My dogs loved their stay and they got cute lil beds to lay in (although, they liked the King bed for us much better). This hotel charges you for anything not nailed down, so you'd better make sure you take everything you'll need with you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hartflor
Couples
Florida
Jan 24, 2012

Convenient hotel

Really un eventful no problems at all, well located for my purposes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobM
Family
Chicago
Jan 23, 2012

Very good very modern.

Like it a lot. Modern rooms, excellent bed. European bathrooms (small) but really for 1 or 2 nights who cares. All that was lacking was a turndown service. Best hotel if you gotta walk from Ogilvie Transportation Center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Da Coach
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

My wife left somethings at home, but the Staff was johnny on the spot with everything we needed ! The Staff wre freindly and charming. This was a wonderful getting away !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttheo
Couples
Columbus, OH, USA
Jan 11, 2012

New years eve getaway

Everything was fun and the hotel was located fairly close to many attractions. My wife and I had a wonderful time. However, the walls are very thin so you can hear everything your neighbors are doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The bongo room was fantastic for breakfast but it is a 30 min walk from the hotel. But well worth it!!

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

A fantastic stay!

Everyone was incredibly friendly, hotel decor was modern and fun. Loved the wallpaper in the rooms! Also, very easy and welcoming dog policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sundi
Couples
Davenport, IA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

not what I expected

Other than the decent rate and very helpful staff, there were few redeeming things about this hotel. Parking was $45 a day(in and out), the room was the size of a large closet, and the room decor was migraine inducing. Great example of good in theory, but terrible in reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katbe1
Couples
Howell, MI, USA
Dec 28, 2011

another kimpton gem

the extremely friendly staff moved us to a huge room- wine and toddy hour was great-front desk was friendly and helpful- very upbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

in nice weather an easy mile walk Jazz Showcase now at Dearborn Station-a must for jazz lovers since 1947

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moving along
Family
Illinois
Dec 19, 2011

Weekend in the windy city

My adult daughter and I had never been to Chicago so we scheduled a get away. The hotel was convenient to everything we were interested in doing this weekend. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunset Girl
Family
Jacksonville, IL
Dec 14, 2011

December Getaway

This hotel is perfectly located for attending the Lyric Opera, the Chicago Symphony, shopping, dining, and (in December) walking through the Christkindlemarkt in Daley Plaza. The hotel is clean, quiet, and adjacent to a fine restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

A short walk through the lobby takes you to a restaurant--no need to bundle up to go outside!

Back to menu Return to top