$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Elizabethan
Houston
Mar 2, 2013

Perfect for Opera

This is the third time I have stayed at the Allegro for a visit to the Opera. It is perfect. Just five blocks away from the Lyric Opera.The staff are great, directions, things to do, and a safety pin for a button on my coat. The 312 restaurant has reasonably good food, and an excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Blue Line, don't take a taxi!!! Walk everywhere!!

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pupster's Mom
Business
Elgin, Illinois
Apr 8, 2013

A good value--and really wired!

The hotel was updated since we last stayed there and was attractive and comfortable except for a couple of factors: 1) there were no robes as in other Kimpton hotels we've stayed in; 2) it was difficult to cool down the room temperature to a comfortable level; 3) there were no additional light blankets for the bed and the comforter was too warm for the room. The bathroom was small but nicely updated with an excellent shower. This hotel is in a good location for those attending theater functions. No coffee pots in the room was a negative from our perspective but a quality coffee shop was easily accessible from the ground floor without going outside. We would stay here again but would definitely request several things ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandma Florence
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 8, 2013

very nice

Nice hotel and nice decor. I would have liked a chair other than the desk chair; one that I could sit in comfortably to read. I would have also liked an in room coffee maker. The shower temperature regulator worked the wrong way--you turned to cold to get hot water. Access to the theater and opera were good and that was the reason for the visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indyjohn61
Business
Indianapolis,IN
Mar 13, 2013

Good but not great

Booked this hotel due to price, location, and mostly for its reputation as a pet friendly hotel. The hotel is very nice but the room was very small and the bathroom was almost impossibly small. Besides allowing pets to stay there, we didn't feel they offered any above and beyond let amenities. Overall good but not great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunny and Cher
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2013

Romantic Valentine's Getaway

The location of this hotel is excellent near great restaurants. From the valet experience to check-out the staff were welcoming and of great assistance. The decor is modern and fun. The beds super comfortable. The complementary wine hour was great. Overall, it was an excellent experience and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George A is for Adventure
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 26, 2013

Great place, very reasonably priced

I love Chicago, and this was for the money the best place I have stayed. The staff was great, I went to Restaurant 312 and it was reasonably priced. Walking distance from most things and cab by others. Highly recommend it. Geo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

312 is great and the downstairs bar is very reasonably priced as well. G

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Concert Goer 3
Business
Angola, IN
Feb 24, 2013

Ordinary for a four star

The room was very small, and the "luxury" bathroom was absolutely tiny! I expected more for the price. On the positive side: great location, nice lobby with free wine and beer from 5-6pm, helpful staff, and pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Work Travels
Business
San Mateo, California
Feb 22, 2013

Time for an upgrade

At the cost they charge per room, the beds should be higher quality. One side was extremely worn out while the other had hardly been used, making for a very lopsided bed and uncomfortable sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilary Lu
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Feb 19, 2013

Great place, service, clean room

Free coffee provided in the morning and wine provided at 5pm. The fitness center is great even if its small but includes everything I want. Nice hotel! Strongly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blue is quite near.

Review of Allegro Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 something gal
Business
Aurora, IL
Feb 18, 2013

Great Staff

The hotel staff was very helpful. Location and amenities were great and at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

312 restaurant attached to hotel was great.

Back to menu Return to top