$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

3 stars
View map of 101 Trade Center Drive, Champaign, IL 61820

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Grove, IL
May 14, 2011

Best in town

Visiting kids at the University, you can't do any better for a weekend stay. Very clean...friendly staff. Rooms are big, beds very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkville Wrestling Coach
Business
Yorkville, IL
May 3, 2011

Convenient, clean and HUGE Breakfast

We were attending a State wrestling tournament on the U of I campus. The hotel is very well located on the west side of campus. A nice break from the hectic area north of the campus up by the highway. The room was nice and clean with a functional studio suite design. The complete breakfast buffet was amazing. This was no Hampton Inn of Fairfield Inn cheesy breakfast. They served fresh eggs, fresh biscuits and gravy, ham steak, french toast. Even the coffee was good. PERFECT for a bunch of hungry wrestlers! My only negative comment is the parking. Parking in this area next to the campus pretty well sucks anyway but for a hotel of this size, you would think they would have more available. Don't park in the TGIF lot overnight - your car may be gone in the morning...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinning is really convenient to this hotel with TGIFridays, Hxxters and a MacDonalds one block away. However, if you want some nicer fare, just a few blocks north on Neil Street you will find OUTSTANDING Italian and Mexican food and a great little micro-brewery.

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123abcd
Business
DC
May 9, 2014

too crowded

This was a top quality place, especially for the price. But business was booming, and the breakfast room was simply too small. Extend the hours, to spread out the crowd?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieR924
Business
Peoria, IL
Jun 16, 2014

Good sleep

We got to this hotel late in the evening. The front desk person was very kind and helpful. We ordered pizza from Monicals at his suggestion. When we got it, we ordered salad but didn't have forks. The gentleman gave us a couple forks to use. The bed was very comfortable and my husband and I loved the pillows. My husband even commented that he wondered if they sold those somewhere. We skipped the breakfast that was included but it looked good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheTraveller
Business
Bloomington, IL
Jun 23, 2014

Good for enjoying the downtown night life

My wife and I were out this weekend with another couple enjoying downtown Champaign. The downtown Hyatt wasn't quite open yet, so we stayed here instead. Its an easy drive from downtown, just a short trip down Neil st. The room was very nice. The beds were comfy. They had a great-sounding free hot breakfast in the morning, but it was super crowded so we didn't partake. No major complaints really. And the price was cheaper than a couple other "close to downtown" options. Would stay again. . . except the Hyatt will probabably be open next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get some sushi at Ko-Fusion. It's amazing! Be sure to order the Flaming Phoenix roll.

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno Z.
Business
Charlotte
Mar 23, 2015

School Visit

Very nice hotel for what we were looking for. Location looked much better on the maps then actually being there. But still close to campus, which is what we wanted. Overall nice experience. Nice touch on the fresh made to order omelettes for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kurtb15
Business
Loves Park, IL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice night

Check in was smooth and fast. Room was ready , neat and clean. Parking was across the street but well lit. Breakfast had good choices available. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fatherofmany
Business
River Falls, WI 54022, USA
Aug 21, 2012

Trip to U of I

The purpose of our trip was to tour the University of Illinois as my son is thinking about attending school there. The campus is very close, within walking distance, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ragman and Lady
Business
Champaign, IL
Jun 7, 2013

Perfect overnight accommodations!

Located 5 minutes from conference site. Wonderful complementary breakfast. Needs were well anticipated as far as incidental necessary items. Everything worked! We've added Hawthorn Suites to our "Favorites". We'll tell our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Dec 6, 2010

Great place to stay

Nice room, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top