$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

3 stars
1 Lyon Court, Bloomington, IL 61701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
142 reviews
Am staying here again!

We stayed here my mom, dad, and myself. It was very clean and quiet. See full review

  • Mama of minis
  • Oct 12, 2014
Overnight break

We needed a place to stop as we headed to Chicago for a family fun day. This hotel was a perfect... See full review

  • Traveling wife in Texas
  • Aug 12, 2014
Whether you are traveling to Bloomington for business or pleasure, this Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington, IL lodging makes your stay comfortable and easy. Just off Interstate 55 and Interstate 74, this hotel is convenient to area universities and major corporations. The hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and complimentary daily newspaper. Early birds or night owls can take advantage of the workout center, open 24 hours a day. Splash in the indoor pool or take care of laundry needs with the laundry and dry-cleaning services. Smoking is not allowed at this all-suite hotel. Each suite features a kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave, perfect for extended stays. Host your next event in the extensive event facilities including ballroom, banquet hall and meeting rooms. To make your work easier, the hotel offers a variety of presentation supplies, printing and fax services, and complimentary wireless Internet in public areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Coliseum: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, Texas
Jun 10, 2010

Bloomington

Worst hotel stay during my 3 city busines trip. I arrived late in the evening (11:00 PM) from working 12-14 hrs. Room temperature was very hot when I entered the room and it took 3-4 hrours before the room cooled down. I slept very uncomfortable and I had a short amount of sleep for the next day. I had wake up call for 5:00AM the next day. It was a short and uncomfortable sleep at the hotel. Unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 7575
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 10, 2013

I wouldn't stay again.

From dreadful Febreze scent in room to old TV with dark picture, stained carpets, barely rinsed glasses, and no bed stand lights. There was an overstuffed chair sitting at the end of entry hall into room, nearly blocking the flow. When checking out the clerk asked how my room was, I replied "not very good". His reply good, good, good..not even listening to me. I repeated my displeasure. Sorry. No asking for specifics, would you care to speak with my manager..nothing. And not because he was busy or did not understand English..I booked through this website and relied on the high rating it was given. The reviewers before me must have stayed in a different hotel compared to what I encountered. Very disappointed. Only good thing is there is a Cracker Barrel in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never Again Four
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

One Stop on a Road Trip

The room was not clean. As I entered the bathroom I noticed blood smeared on the door frame. How gross? The carpet was filthy, walls banged up, and the beds were not good. Breakfast was not any better than our overall experience. Overall, I'm not sure how this place was rated three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoanGF
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Lousy hotel

This hotel is really lousy. Way too expensive for the quality of the rooms they provide. They give you a small tv that sometimes the reception isn't very good. The rooms next were very loud. Breakfest is mediocre. Not really enough parking, later at night you have to park farther away. Bed and pillows are uncomfortable. Wireless sometimes doesn't work and the ethernet cable provided was broke where it clips in so I was still able to use. Location is also really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overheated
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 25, 2011

Hot Room - No A/C - Not Cool!

We hoped to have a small suite to do stay in while we attended meetings in Normal, and to do some study in downtime. We set the air conditioner to cool the room and went out for a late dinner. When we got back, someone had reset the air conditioner to a heat setting. We turned back to a cool setting and went to bed, only to be awakened at 2:00 am in a hot room with an air conditioner that would not work...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 2012
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Jul 18, 2014

Terrible!

Cold pool, non working lights in fitness center and noisy noisy rooms, this place has it all! My recommendation, stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MNGIRL2
Business
IL
Dec 19, 2011

Never Again

We needed directions and no one at the desk knew how to get there from the ISU campus. The room looked clean at first glance but it was not. The sheets were DIRTY. They had some sort of crusty stuff on them. The ironing board was so dirty I did not want to iron my shirt and the iron was crusty. The iron was attached to the board with a spring so ironing was practically impossible because the iron kept bouncing back. The bagels and bread were stale in the morning. Yech. We will never stay here again and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dirker
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Ho Hum

Pretty austere. Could use an update. Location was OK. Far from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SingingRuth
Business
Waukesha, WI, USA
Feb 27, 2013

Febreeze nightmare

We checked in late and tired, ready for the comfort of a clean room with a good bed. The bed was great, but the smell that greated us when we entered the room was overwhelming. The placard on the desk said they use Febreeze on the room. I don't know what they are trying to cover up, but I spent the night with a headache. Add to that a heater that sounds like it is in labor every time it cuts on, and one believes they are at a 1 star instead of a 3 star hotel. The next morning, we came to breakfast an hour before the cut off time. All that was left was cold items. I make this trip often, but I won't make this mistake again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel next door is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HPEZ
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 17, 2014

Beware of shuttle service

Upon arrival I asked for a cab company telephone number. I was given a shuttle service number. The shuttle service although prompt, arrived in an unmarked van with thumb tacks pinned into the ceiling. We were charged $5 a person (total $20) for a less than 3 mile ride. A cab ride for the same distance is about $7 total. Use a cab service, not the shuttle provided. The room appeared tidy upon entering. When the fridge was open we found beer from the previous occupant. The ice bucket and TV stand was covered in dust. The clock was not set and was flashing. The lamp was broken. I can only hope the sheets were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top