Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

3 stars
View map of 1 Lyon Court, Bloomington, IL 61701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great experience

My son & I enjoyed our stay. Overall, great value and the staff was fantastic. See full review

  • T. Hope
  • Aug 25, 2015
Travel for an Interview

I was in town for an interview looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the ISU campus. My room... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 14, 2015
Whether you are traveling to Bloomington for business or pleasure, this Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington, IL lodging makes your stay comfortable and easy. Just off Interstate 55 and Interstate 74, this hotel is convenient to area universities and major corporations. The hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and complimentary daily newspaper. Early birds or night owls can take advantage of the workout center, open 24 hours a day. Splash in the indoor pool or take care of laundry needs with the laundry and dry-cleaning services. Smoking is not allowed at this all-suite hotel. Each suite features a kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave, perfect for extended stays. Host your next event in the extensive event facilities including ballroom, banquet hall and meeting rooms. To make your work easier, the hotel offers a variety of presentation supplies, printing and fax services, and complimentary wireless Internet in public areas.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - American
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

40.4823 -89.0275
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • U.S. Cellular Coliseum: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama of minis
Family
St. Louis
Oct 12, 2014

Am staying here again!

We stayed here my mom, dad, and myself. It was very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theshines
Couples
Bloomington
Oct 1, 2014

Good stay

Bed was comfortable but room was on the side of the freeway so it was noisy. Nice to have bar in lobby for a quick one before turning in for the night. Breakfast was standard. Clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for room that isn't facing freeway

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Redbird Visiting Mom
Family
Normal, IL
Sep 21, 2014

A bit icky

I didn't die from the experience, so I suppose it wasn't THAT bad... but everything just felt a bit shabby to me. The room was dirty around the edges; so was the bathroom. The indoor pool (which was the main reason we chose this particular hotel instead of any of the dozen others in the vicinity) had a really funky, mildewy smell to it. I wouldn't have gone in, but my toddler was SO looking forward to it. I went ahead and let him get in there for about 10 minutes, then we both went upstairs for a really soapy bath. It wasn't horrible, by any stretch; I've definitely stayed in worse. But I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a local hole-in-the-wall place called "Super JJ's Chicken and Fish" that is just up the road from the hotel. They have amazing catfish and fried chicken. If you're a southerner or just like southern food, you'll love this place.

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bookworm grandpa
Couples
Minnesota
Sep 17, 2014

nice room for the price.

Breakfast not so good. Sausage tasted like it had freezer burn, could not eat it. very small selection of items. rest of hotel was very nice, pool was great. A lot of outside road noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midway Stop
Family
Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2014

Trip's Mid Way Stop

Pluses: Recently remodeled and right off the highway. Breakfast was great. Negatives: Airconditioning blows up the curtains and doesn't reach in room. Internet did not work in the room or lobby and when we asked the clerk for help he just said it wasn't working while messing with his cell phone and talking with friend. Also when I asked about near by pizza information/phone numbers he said he couldn't help. Not a good answer anytime but especially when internet is done and we cannot search that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling wife in Texas
Family
Texas
Aug 12, 2014

Overnight break

We needed a place to stop as we headed to Chicago for a family fun day. This hotel was a perfect location for us. Room was nice and big for the family. Nice breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fair fan
Friends
Quincy, IL
Aug 1, 2014

2 night stay

Large well equiped room, couch,chairs, etc. Great food right next door in walking distance, nice pool and game room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 2012
Family
Wisconsin, USA
Jul 18, 2014

Terrible!

Cold pool, non working lights in fitness center and noisy noisy rooms, this place has it all! My recommendation, stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anonymous please
Couples
st. louis
Jul 7, 2014

This Hotel Needs Serious Work

We did not expect a 5-star experience but were very disappointed in this hotel. When you enter you have to ring a bell to get the front desk person to come out and help you. One slow elevator is the only way to reach the floors of the hotel. The freezer had so much ice you could not fit much in, and it was set to the warmest setting which doesn't help to keep food cold. The air conditioner was incredibly noisy. The drapes have a gap between the wall and the rod so when the sun rose the sun streamed in and woke us up very early. The bathroom walls were not painted where they met the ceiling. The shower head had different setting but would not turn. The breakfast had a few hot dishes, cold cereals in bins that were almost empty and lukewarm coffee. There was no fruit out and we had to ask for some, which we eventually got. There is a counter in the breakfast area which looked like it was hacked with an axe and just sat there. The rooms need updating as they are dark and dreary. There was no menu on the TV and the listings that they had in a book did not correspond to the channels on the TV. There must be better choices in Bloomington. Luckily we just stopped there on our way to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you need gas or forgot anything for your trip there is a 24 hour walmart just down the road

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenekey31
Family
Geneva, Illinois
Jun 28, 2014

Friendly and clean

We stayed here for Illinois state university preview. It was perfect for what we needed. Close to campus, a clean room and friendly staff. We stayed the night and enjoyed breakfast before heading back to campus. We will stay here again for family events and football games over the next four years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top