$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 15, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Hotel on the Falls

3 stars
475 River Parkway, Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
39 reviews
Midwest Traveler 090314

Great location and a pleasant surprise. Although the building is older and could use some paint,... See full review

  • Midwest Travelers 083114
  • Sep 4, 2014
Great staff and close proximity to everything.

The view is amazing, and the falls are right there. See full review

  • LA Philly Mike
  • Aug 7, 2014
Overlooking the Snake River, the Hotel on the Falls is minutes from the Museum of Idaho, Eagle Rock Art Guild, Tautphaus Park Zoo, University Place at Idaho Falls, Idaho Falls Regional Airport, Downtown Idaho Falls, is an hours drive from Craters of the Moon National Monument and 2 hours away from Yellowstone National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers first class amenities including a hot tub, sauna, weight room, fitness facilities, free wireless internet access, meeting space for large groups, refreshments at the Westbank Lounge, and pets are welcome. ADA services are also available. All rooms feature free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and iron and board.

Hotel Map

43.4959 -112.0448
Area served
Overlooking the Snake River, the Hotel on the Falls is minutes from the Museum of Idaho, Eagle Rock Art Guild, Tautphaus Park Zoo, University Place at Idaho Falls, Idaho Falls Regional Airport, Downtown Idaho Falls
Nearby airports
Idaho Fanning Field is 3 miles.
Area description
Centrally located in Idaho Falls, the Hotel on the Falls is convenient to Interstate 15 and US 20, overlooking the Idaho Falls.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel on the Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel on the Falls Rooms

City View Single King
Standard King Bed Room nonsmoking features a city view, free wireless internet access, sofa bed, cable TV with extra stations, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, and iron and board.
Tower Room Single King
Premium King room located in tower overlooking river and falls. This oversized room features free wireless internet access, sofa bed, cable TV with extra stations, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, and iron and board.
Tower Room Double Queen
Premium double queen room located in tower overlooking river and falls. This oversized room features free wireless internet access, sofa bed, cable TV with extra stations, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, coffeemaker, and iron and board.
City View Double Queen
Standard Two Queen Beds nonsmoking features free wireless internet access, city view, cable TV with extra stations, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock radio, coffee maker, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, and iron and board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
5 meeting rooms to accommodate groups up to 800. Over 9900 square feet available for your special occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel on the Falls

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richard2013
San Jose
Jul 10, 2013

Do not be fooled by name

This is a motel, a very old motel. The smell of room is bad. However, the location is just next to the Snake River and the Fall,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bloomingg
CT
Sep 22, 2011

Not sure how this is rated highly...

Outdoor entrance, OLD, OLD rooms with a TV the size of a microwave and located in a corner of the room you can't see from the bed. I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise ID
Oct 13, 2010

They knocked on the door to many times

The Check in was easy and friendly. The walls are paper thin I woke up at 2 am to the people next door screaming at each other. The bathtub tile had mold. The Bed was comfortable. The next morning Maintenance knocked on the door 3 times before checkout. One guy even let himself right into my room while I was changing. Not a good hotel for a single woman traveling alone. I did not feel safe at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David1951
Shelbyville, Ky.
Jun 25, 2014

Never Again

Ok, it it's not very likely that I'll be in Idaho Falls again but if it should occur it will not involve this hotel again. Just one example, with the bath tub and the swing both running hot water full out it took more than 5 minutes for it to get hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smitty's restaurant, great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bountiful, Utah
Jul 11, 2011

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Called hotel and told them my mother has a hard time walking and would like to be close to an enterance. They stuck us on the 2nd floor halfway distance. When I went to complain to [...] the manager they said they were booked and no other rooms were available. Did not care about elderly people at all. My mother took 15 minutes to get up the stairs and another 10 min to walk to the room. No ice machine close. Staff unworkable. They would not open both gates to the swimming pool. Room was alright. Will never stay at the Red Lion ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street was a really cool Kitchen Supply store. LOVED IT!! They had gadgets that you can't find anymore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Patron 2
Business
Michigan
Aug 14, 2014

It could not have gotten worse!

Upon checking in to the hotel, the clerk could not understand his computer system and kept saying that my card was getting declined. Even though I had pre-paid for the room with the same card. They issued me my room key and told me to come back in a couple minutes after I got settled in. I took my stuff to my room, which was on the other side of the parking lot in a seperate building resembling a bi-level motel from the 60s. The rooms although clean and somewhat updated, offered me a nice 25" tube tv and a refrigerator that had the previous guest's leftovers still in it. For the price this still wasn't a huge issue. I went back to the office and another clerk was able to see the error the previous clerk was making and corrected the problem. Later on as I was getting ready to go to dinner. I noticed a police car in the parking lot. Apparently there was a dispute and the police were called. A bit freaky but not a deal breaker. After dinner I returned to my room so I could get some rest to be up at 5am and head to Yellowstone. At about midnight I was awoken by a bunch of people yelling and slamming doors outside my room. I look out the window to my surprise it was housekeeping. I called to the front desk and was informed that they had a tour group arrive and needed to clean some rooms to accommodate them. No solutions were given by management not even an apology. So I stuck my head out my door and told them to quiet down. I received and apology and it quieted down for about 15 min. Just as I was starting to relax, I heard stomping and banging outside and I immediately called back to the front desk. I told the clerk to have his housekeeping move their stuff away from my room and to quiet down. They finally complied and the rest of the night was quiet. In the morning I went to the front desk to check out. No one was there. The doors to the lobby were wide open, bugs flying everywhere. I stood there for 10 min knocking on office doors. No answer. I called the main number multiple times. No answer. After 20 minutes of waiting the clerk shows up from outside with a co worker. No apology just some sarcastic remarks when I asked if anyone was working here. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels over the past couple years as I travel frequently for my work. This was by far the worst experience I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nokicks
Reno
Jul 7, 2014

Bad experience

Our room was situated within a 100 yards of a meeting room that played very loud music starting around 5 pm. and carried on until after 10pm. We also lost hot water that evening. We asked the clerk when they were going to stop and were told they would ask. Nothing was done. Then!! at 12:15 the group started again. I called the clerk and requested they stop or tune it down. The very loud music did not stop until 1:38 am. This is a shameful disregard for the hotel's guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snow Eagle Brewing & Grill. Fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 18, 2007

THIS IS A RED LION?

WE CHOSE THE RED LION BECAUSE WE KNEW IT'S GOOD NAME AS WE HAVE ONE IN OUR AREA AND IT IS SWANKY. THE ROOM CHARGE WAS THE MOST EXPENSIVE OF ALL, BUT WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE WORTH IT. WHEN WE GOT THERE (3 HOURS AFTER CHECK IN) OUR ROOM WASN'T READY. WE HAD TO WAIT IN THE LOBBY. THEN WHEN WE FINALLY GOT IN, THERE WERE ALL KINDS OF DIRTY SHEETS AND TOWELS ALL ALONG THE HALLWAY - NICE. THE MAID WENT BY AND SEEMED NOT HAPPY AND SAID IT WAS ONE HECK OF A DAY. I TRIED TO CALL MY SISTER (WHO WAS WATCHING OUR HOUSE) TO LET HER KNOW WE WERE THERE, BUT THE PHONES WERENT WORKING. WE WENT TO THE LOBBY TO TELL THEM TO TURN THEM ON, THEY SAID THE HOLE SYSTEM CRASHED. THE CARPETS WERE DIRTY - I DIDN'T EVEN WANT TO TAKE MY SHOES OFF. THE OVER-ALL LOOK OF THE HOTEL WAS DIRTY, AND VERY RUN DOWN. THE BEST THING ABOUT IT WAS THE FABULOUS VIEW WE HAD. WE ACTUALLY WANTED TO CHECK OUT AND GET A CLEAN HOTEL, BUT THE VIEW WAS THE BEST BY FAR. IT EVEN HAD A BALCONY, WHICH WAS DIRTY (OF COURSE) AND FLAKY PAINTED SCARILY SHAKY RAILING. BUT NO CHAIRS FOR WHICH TO ENJOY THE GREAT VIEW. WE WERE SO DISSAPOINTED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
WA
Aug 11, 2011

The building behind the one pictured

We needed a place to stay while passing through

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sandpiper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chef Tse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Business trip

I doubt I'll be coming back to this hotel the next time I stay in Idaho Falls. The staff at the front desk lacked customer service skills and it wasn't a welcoming experience. Rooms are very dated, the shower leaked, and I questioned the cleanliness of the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out The Cellar for dinner. They serve great dishes made from local foods and the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search