$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Rodeway Inn Des Moines

1 star
View map of 5020 N.E. 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
11 reviews
Budget

Good experience for the cost. We came in, went to bed, ate breakfest and left. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 12, 2008
AS GOOD AS IT GETS

this is the BEST hotel i've ever stayed at in my life. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND See full review

  • Smokeynbanditt
  • Feb 16, 2013
Hotel is conveniently located off I-80 and within minutes of all major attractions and businesses in the Des Moines area. The Rodeway Inn is conveniently located within minutes of Praire Meadows Track and Casino as well as Veterans Auditorium, Wells Fargo Arena and the Hyvee Convention Center, Des Moines Sports and entertainment venue. Adventureland Family Amusement Park is also just minutes from the hotel and features over 100 rides. Hotel serves a hot breakfast, including eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy. Pet accommodation is 10.00 per pet per night. Pet limit is five pets per room. Our hotel is celebrating the holiday season. Any guest who is staying at our hotel on 12/25/14 will enjoy a home cooked Christmas dinner turkey, macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, cheesy green bean casserole, and lots of other delicious choices, including several dessert items as well. The dinner is from 6pm to 9pm in our breakfast room on Christmas day. Come enjoy!!!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Des Moines also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.4

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Biking
Sterling, IL, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Hotel needs work

This hotel needs a lot of updates. We arrived and the smell of smoke in the lobby was over powering. We do not smoke and I have breathing problems, so found it hard to stand there to check in. The room had two doors (one to hallway and one to the outside) The frame on the door to the hallway was cracked all the way down and didn't seem to be very secure. The deadbolt to the door going to the outside did not lock. The overall room was clean but I didn't feel it was a value for what we had to spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HUSSAM A.
Business
des moines
Mar 19, 2015

Rude Staff

check in staff extremely friendly, overnight staff tried to sell me girl scout cookies after midnight (shady), checkout staff extremely rude, would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jacqueline
Business
Saint Louis
Jan 16, 2015

Family Trip

The hotel was not terrible - the room was clean and the water was hot, but the location and upkeep outside left much to be desired. Would not stay there again, but if you are looking for a bargain, there are worse places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steph husker fan
Business
Farragut, IA
Sep 2, 2014

Needs some work

There was an unpleasant odor when I walked in the lobby, hard to describe. Thankfully my room smelled clean. Lots of stains on hallway carpets. I had to walk by smoking rooms to get to my non-smoking room. Breakfast was very basic. Staff was friendly. Furniture was clean and adequate, but could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NanaG.
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
May 12, 2014

Yuck!!

we didn't check in until almost 5:30 pm & the first room they gave us hadn't been cleaned; the 2nd room was just a glorified closet & had no towels. The whole place looked, smelled & felt dirty - we'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

don't stay here, it's not worth the few $$ you save.

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach bums 2014
Business
norwalk iowa
Apr 27, 2014

Maids are rude

Breakfast was bad,food was old..The maid kept hounding me in the morning if i was going to leave and when i was going to leave..Room was nice for full smoking room wasent dirty.fire alarm in room kept going off for one smoke..unhooked it and was happy..Stay in your room and use the back door and you will be fine pop machine sucked and staff was rude except guy behind desk,but he didnt say much.Only disapointed when i left the room to go to lobby area.thank god for back door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just get the caseys pizza next door,Montana mikes next door sucks

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhian13
Business
Lincoln, nE
Mar 18, 2013

Noisy and smelly

When we went to check in the entire lobby area reeked of cigarette smoke and something else, maybe fuel. The hotel is right off the interstate which made it easy to find but was very loud from the highway noise. The rooms are not great. Hallway reeked of the same smell the lobby did so we were glad we had an exterior door to use. It didn't help that we were woken up about 2AM by a neighboring room having a party. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smokeynbanditt
Business
San Jose, California
Feb 16, 2013

AS GOOD AS IT GETS

this is the BEST hotel i've ever stayed at in my life. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lost travler
Business
davenport
Sep 21, 2009

hole in the wall

it felt like a shanty motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Des Moines

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yea Yea Tan
Business
Algona, IA
Jun 28, 2009

price was good the rest sucked

The location was great, super easy to get too. The price was good. The room was smelly and dirty, the dresser was falling apart. There was a film on the table. The bathroom was the worst some kind of film on counter and toliet seat, lowest shower head i have ever seen. I have stayed at a Rodeway Inn before and wasnt happy, thought I would give a different one a try but was disapointed again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top