$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

2 stars
929 3rd Street, Des Moines, IA 50309
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
8 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was the perfect location, price, and atmosphere. My room was on the top floor... See full review

  • FriedaLee
  • May 27, 2014
Decent room, tough location

Quality Inn was a good value for the money; the rooms were a nice size, friendly staff, smooth... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 19, 2007
The Quality Inn & SuitesTM Event Center is centrally located near many popular attractions, including the Iowa Events Center, Des Moines Botanical Center, Hoyt Sherman Place, Drake University and the Science Center of Iowa. The Des Moines International Airport is located just minutes away. Iowa Events Center consists of major venues including Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Memorial Auditorium, Wells Fargo Arena and Polk County Convention Complex. The Civic Center of Greater Des Moines is also located near this Des Moines hotel. Free hot breakfast. Free on property parking and complimentary airport service upon request from hotel. Pet Accommodation: 10.00/night. Limit 1 pet per room 100lbs or less. Pool closed for renovations until January 15, 2010.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn & Suites Event Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.5946 -93.6207
Nearby airports
Des Moines Airport, (DSM), 7.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-235 @ 3rd St.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FriedaLee
El Paso, TX
May 27, 2014

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was the perfect location, price, and atmosphere. My room was on the top floor overlooking the river and the capitol. What a view! Breakfast was delicious and the staff were uber friendly. I had an issue with my rental car auxiliary chargers and one of the front desk gals not only helped me figure it out, but charged my GPS in her personal vehicle overnight so I could use it. I'd stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SDAH
Elgin, IL
Jun 2, 2013

Eh

About what I expected. They do have a bar on-site, which is a plus. Walking distance to downtown. The view exceeded my expectations. Ask to stay on the east side and you'll get a view of the river, the Zen garden and the glowing golden capitol at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Apr 1, 2011

Never again

This is one of the dirtiest hotels I have seen in a long time. We stayed on the top floor (7th) and there was an odor that is best described as stale food and disinfectant. Our room was dirty with dried food on the bed skirt. The chair and ottoman were very worn and stained. The toilet seat had a cigarette burn on the lid (in a non-smoking room) and brown stains on the seat. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Apr 1, 2011

Never again

This is one of the dirtiest hotels I have seen in a long time. We stayed on the top floor (7th) and there was an odor that is best described as stale food and disinfectant. Our room was dirty with dried food on the bed skirt. The chair and ottoman were very worn and stained. The toilet seat had a cigarette burn on the lid (in a non-smoking room) and brown stains on the seat. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nikonichi
Business
Los Abgeles, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Decent Inn

The only negative was the hotel's location combined with Des Moines marginal public transportation system. A six-block street closure shortened one bus route by over 70%. In other cities the bus would have been rerouted around the closed streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget public transportation and drive.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nikonichi
Business
Los Abgeles, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Decent Inn

The only negative was the hotel's location combined with Des Moines marginal public transportation system. A six-block street closure shortened one bus route by over 70%. In other cities the bus would have been rerouted around the closed streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget public transportation and drive.

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2007

Decent room, tough location

Quality Inn was a good value for the money; the rooms were a nice size, friendly staff, smooth check in. I know it's a little thing, but they had decent vending options for a late-night check in like me. It wasn't spotless, but not overly dirty. The hardest part was getting to the entrance with all the one-ways in the area, but all of Des Moines downtown is like that and I've spent ten minutes getting to other places there, too. Still, a larger, clearer entrance sign, and maybe some signage on the surrounding streets, might help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn & Suites Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2007

Decent room, tough location

Quality Inn was a good value for the money; the rooms were a nice size, friendly staff, smooth check in. I know it's a little thing, but they had decent vending options for a late-night check in like me. It wasn't spotless, but not overly dirty. The hardest part was getting to the entrance with all the one-ways in the area, but all of Des Moines downtown is like that and I've spent ten minutes getting to other places there, too. Still, a larger, clearer entrance sign, and maybe some signage on the surrounding streets, might help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top