$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

1 star
4817 Fleur Dr, I-235 at Martin Luther King Parkway, Des Moines, IA 50321
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
43 reviews
location location location

First off the front desk clerk Rob was more than wonderful, he made checking in enjoyable. Rooms... See full review

  • funTG
  • Jul 8, 2014
Seven State Visit

Being in my twilight years, this seven state odyssey was intended to be my last visit of family and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2011
The closest Motel 6 in Des Moines to the airport, just 3 minutes away. Plenty of green space for pets. Restaurant with in walking distance. Deluxe guest rooms with microfridge for a nominal fee, limited supply. WIFI in all guest rooms $2.99 per 24 hours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport Rooms

Standard
Standard 2 Full Beds Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Perkins
Adjacent
McDonalds
0.3Miles
Subway
.3 mile
Francies
.4 mile
Old West
.4 mile
Skips
.5 mile
Bennigans
1 mile
KFC
1 mile
Johnnys Italian Steakhouse
1.2 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deb O Rah
Business
SE Kansas
Nov 24, 2014

Place is a dump

I stayed three nights and required the front desk to program my phone to wake me up at 5AM. I DID call them and ask them to set my phone up for 5AM. It is a good thing I wake up early anyway because the phone never rang as an alarm. I could never get warm enough water to flow in the shower so depended upon a standing sponge body wash. The only thing good is that it was easy to make the room nice and warm. Won't be staying there anymore for any visits to Des Moines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Hi-Vee close by so you don't have to bring too much food with you on a multi-night stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funTG
Business
Kansas City
Jul 8, 2014

location location location

First off the front desk clerk Rob was more than wonderful, he made checking in enjoyable. Rooms are barebones. Carpets was scary and need to be replace. TV needs to be updated. AC had a smell when compared to other places I've stayed. Bed was lumpy, you can feel the wires underneath your back. Overall it was an uneventful stay. If every traveling thru Iowa again, I might pay an extra 20 bucks to stay somewhere else. I was on a budget this time around, so I made the choice to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store with deli and sit down dinning area right next door. Gas station right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nesto The Great
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 1, 2014

OK Needs Work

Over-all the experience was okay. there was no heater which was important because it was raining. The case for my glasses came up missing after a cleaning, I stayed for 5 days but did not ask for cleaning again. there was no refrigerator, microwave which made eating more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins! The best! Prices, food, and service was gooood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Horse Show Exhibitor 2
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 12, 2013

Clean and safe, but bare bones

Location was a little shady, and they didn't give us enough towels, but it was clean and safe. Fairly close to Maffitt Lake Equestrian Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marleebeebee
Business
Mississippi
Aug 3, 2013

Bad yet cheap

This hotel was in an awesome location in proximity to downtown! The price was good too. Well that's the end of the positive! Nothing came complimentary (not even 2 room keys). Internet,microwave,refrigerator and everything all had to be paid for seperately. There was only housekeeping 1 day out of my 4 day stay. The room smelled like a smoking room even though it had a no smoking sign on it! Overall I got way less than what I paid for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to coffee house, right across from airport, close to fast food too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hopmeg
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 24, 2013

Better than expected

Definitely bare-bones in terms of comfort, but very clean and quiet. My biggest complaint was that the room smelled like it had become a non-smoking room VERY recently. Thankfully an air freshener took care of it. Otherwise, it was better than I'd feared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The HyVee next door is open 24 hours. Very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pipersteve
Business
Omaha, NE
May 28, 2013

Avoid

Booked this room for a Memorial Day get-a-way. Arrived at 3:30 pm and was told we couldn't check in yet as, "we don't have a room ready. We are out of linen. The manager is out right now at the store buying linen. Come back in about an hour and a half." 3 hours later, and 50 degrees outside, we checked in. No amenities, and, no heat. The call to the front desk was met with the reply that they only have a "seasonal" system, which at the end of May was set for air conditioning and not heat. The thermostat in the room showed 62 degrees. The desk did offer to bring more blanket!!! The staff was very pleasant whilst giving the refund, however I couldn't help notice that the office had the standard heating/ac unit seen in other motels, but not the rooms here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carbob
Business
Soutghern California
Mar 3, 2013

Inexpensive Stay Near Des Moines Airport

I stayed at Motel 6 after a late arrival at the Des Moines Airport. It is only a 2 minute drive from the airport and located near a good restaurant. The facilities are dated and the rooms are small. I had trouble finding the thermostat (there isn't any) and froze that night. The next morning I realized that a small unmarked dial controlled the fan that forces the warm air into the room. There are no markings on the dial, so you have to estimate the volume of airflow. If I had known that, the room would have been ok, since I was simply using the room to get 8 hours of sleep before departing to my destination. Des Moines hotels tend to be very expensive, so if you just need a place to sleep, it's a great bargain at $40.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Perkins restaurant across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheap Traveler 123
Business
Waterloo, IA
Aug 30, 2012

Good value!

Nothing special, but a very cheap place to stay. Loud airplanes overhead in the mornings, but that's ok. $15 cab ride downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Top Dog 1
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Aug 30, 2012

Getaway

Its was average. It could have been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top