$48 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 22, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Hotel Map

41.651 -93.6005
Nearby airports
Des Moines Intl Airport, (DSM), 9.90, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines IA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 27
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NAZDAR
Business
DURANGO CO
May 14, 2013

VERY BAD BAD...NOT THE ONE

Had to leave for emergency ..after 1 day but will not stay again...No carpetr on the floor...ya no carpet..NO shampoo.HEATER and A/C FALLEN APART.CHARGED FOR MW AND FRIGS.POOL NOT FULL..WORKER SAID YOU MIGHT GET SHAMPOO ONCE AND AWHILE....CHECK IN WAS LIKE WHO ARE YOU..NICE SON UNSTOOD OR EMERGENCY ..TO LEAVE..FAMILY..SO ONLY 1 DAY..VINAL FLOOR ON CONCRETE IN IOWA IN MAY ARE YOU KIDDING ME..WOULD NEVE DO IT AGANIN AN I HOPEDROPS THIS PLACE...BOB ...NEBRASKA OUT SIDE OF OGALLALA GREAT..STAYED GOING BACK TO COLORADO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BBQ,,FOREST AVE..DES MOINES..GREAT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Little Laverne
Business
Clinton, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Pork Expo

I reserved this for Pork Expo and it was a great price with an average room. After all you are not in it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dennis M.
Business
IA
Jun 7, 2012

One Night Stay

I read other reviews about being renovated. Must have been a different part of the building, not where we stayed. Old. Needed updating. We stayed in a smoking room. Cigarette burns on table tops, counters, etc. You can tell it needed updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

More like VERY long walk or long drive. Nothing really around there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palatine, IL
Aug 24, 2009

Motel 6 switch up

My aunt cancelled my reservations at Motel 6 because she is familiar with the area and didn't trust it. She ended up getting us a hotel room closer to our destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 18, 2009

Very no-frills motel

You get what you pay for. Bare necessities for a cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 24, 2007

Good Value

The Motel 6 room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been remodeled recently and was small but well done. There was no dresser but otherwise the room was very adequate. The room was quiet. It is only 30 miles from Iowa Speedway in Newton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Country Kitchen next door had a very good Breakfast Buffet with good food at a very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top