$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 22, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines IA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 27
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3
Value:
2.4

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shadowdsm
Business
Midwest and Florida.
Oct 8, 2012

A basic room at a modest price.

When I arrived to check in the clerk informed me the room would be $10 more than price shown, when I objected she told me it was the weekend rate and the booking service used the weekday rate for booking, when I turned to leave the clerk told me I could get the lower rate by letting her re-book on another service and offered me the room at the predetermined price. When we got to the room my companion told me it smelled of pest spray ( I had a cold so I would not have noticed) and lo & behold there was a cockroach crossing the floor at my feet, this was the only critter we saw. The website photos of the rooms shows that the rooms have wide screen lcds but on entry I was disappointed to note it was an early analog tv with no connectors ( a big minus because I travel with a game system to unwind) obviously the pictures are stock photos and do not represent actual rooms. Hotel location is next to the interstate and a major highway into downtown, coffee in the morning is all that is offered to get you going for the day and the rooms are clean if a bit spartan. My impression of this motel is that it is a DEEP discount site trying to be a higher class choice. overall I have paid less and gotten more but if the price was lowered $10 dollars it would be a good deal on a nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
berta
Business
Davenport, Ia
Aug 16, 2011

Just a place to stay

There were dogs barking in the middle of the night and people smoking and talking right outside our window while we were trying to sleep. Had to take a smoking room and it reeked of smoke. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean but too expensive for this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steph and travis
Business
cedar rapids, iowa
Aug 26, 2010

not so bad

when i booked at this hotel i read a bunch of bad reviews and was told by my family that this place was going to be a dump. upon arrival, i found the staff to be VERY helpful, getting us extra towels, pillows and blankets...as we are a very demanding traveling couple. i also found that they were painting the outside of the building as we were unloading the car. they were respectful not to get in our way, or get any on the car. the room looked freshly painted and very clean. there was no alarm clock or coffee pot, or even a bathtub, but the pool was nice and mostly populated by adults. my husband and i had a great experiance at this hotel and i am glad to say that they are " cleaning things up". if you need a cheap hotel for just the night and dont mind the bare minimum....this is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

burger king across the road, several gas stations close....hotel sits BEHIND the red roof inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeanniered
Business
Quincy, Illinois
Aug 8, 2009

our nationwide nascar getaway

Went to Nascar Nationwide race which was about 28 miles away. Hotels right near the racetrack were charging $175.00 per night and I did much better just by traveling a little way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel near Prairie Meadows casino where we spent some time and had a great dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merrill, Wisconsin
Aug 5, 2009

a place to sleep

very reasonable price, nice and clean, non-smoking room that smelled like it has always been smoked in,felt every spring in the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville
Aug 4, 2009

Beware! Caution! Think Twice!!

How should I start? Was asked what time for wake-up as they did not have clock radios in the room. The bed was horrible. The window curtain had holes in it. The bed spread had burn holes in it. We both were bitten by bugs in the room. The shower curtain fell down when attempting to shower. When asked about the internet the offer on web site, they said they didn't have it but, "the room I am giving you should be able to pick up the signal from the hotel next door". (It didn't) My rate went up $15.00 just to check in. They didn't care what my guarnteed rate was, this is what they charge. I have stayed at better homeless shelters in my lifetime. It was horrible. We got no sleep. ended up checking in after midnight and checked out at 4am. STAY AWAY!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterloo,IA
Jun 16, 2009

Dissapointed

The rooms were very small and very dated! Beds were not comfortable at all. Bathroom door did not have a lock on it. Small tv and only about 5 channels. Just overall dissapointed. Asked to have some extra pillows because they were very small and got a very rude "were out" and then was hung up on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Bring your ear plugs

All was good except for noisy people in the parking lot off and on through the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top